We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
cleveleys
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

read the reviews ,and was a bit doubtful, so went anyway .and wasnt dissapointed ended up staying an extra night and booking my brother in . people saying it was dated ,okay the wallpaper had been around a bit and some furniture had dints in it ,but so does antiqes but it was clean.it was free breakfast on offers beetween dates{ keep it up}. asked for kippers first morning ,didnt have any ,so what these things happen .but 2nd morning ,Tony, the restaurant manager, rememberd ,and got me some.kids loved the swimming pool me the steam room. the only thing i was a bit dissapointed at is that the kids was discriminated against has they had to be out for 5pm .but you can picture the members who pay forty odd pound a month,thinks they own the club{get a life}.the children should be able to use the facilities as long as open .its there break as well .right outside you can get the bus into manchester 25 min and are frequent.go out the hotel turn right 5min drive you have a tesco.if you want snacks.[well done britannia].and keep family friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartcleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    631
    487
    346
    676
See reviews for
505
945
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
INVERNESS
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

The hotel was ok. But on return from holiday after 2 weeks found our car had been broken into and all kids games and consoles stolen and a TomTom. Another 2 cars had been done too. Glass in various places of carpark suggested a regular occurrence. We returned from holiday 12th April, 2009 and a recent car break-in had only occurred 4 weeks ago. Please think about it if your planning using this Hotel for Carparking for any length of time. Not recommendable!!!!!! A big fat 0 rating.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessHighlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

My daughter got married at the Country House and we had a fabulous day. The wedding organiser couldn't have been more helpful and the staff who served the wedding party were very friendly and efficient. The meal was lovely and the function room was splendidly decorated. The majority of our guests were in rooms over and above what they ordered and from what I gather there were no complaints other than a discrepancy with the price of the double room which did go in favour of the guests.
Big thank you to Sam, Sandra and June.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSMNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

I wrote back in January that I'd been contacted by the hotel concerning my worries about ll the negative stuff that had been written about it and said I'd report back after my stay.

I've just returned from my two night visit and I'm glad to say that everything was fine. The service at reception was prompt and friendly and my room was as expected for this price range.

It was a reaonable size and both it and the bathroom were clean and in good condition. I can't comment on the food as I don't eat first thing and ate out in the evening

There was some noise before 8.00 but I've had that in lots of hotels - some much more expensive than this!

In short this was as expected - a reasonable stay at a budget price - and if I'm down this way again I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaitherFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2009
Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

we stop here before flying out firstly wen the kids got into the room they were so exited to see it had a spa bath so we ran the bath with plenty of bubbles ( never seen them undress as quick ) only to discover it didnt work tried to phone down to someone but no one answered so not very happy kids :-( then in the morning the lifts didnt work . But the biggest problem was comin back after a brill holiday only to find we just missed the transfer bus by seconds half the people on the flight caught it but our luggage was slow thats why we missed it then we found out the next transfer wasnt till anohter hour an half in frezzing cold manchester with 2 very tired kids phoned up the hotel ony to be told that the driver had just gone on his break so we had to get a taxi that cost 12 50 went to complain to the manager an he wasnt bothared an no refund so i will not be stoping here ever ever again ill be telling others too .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

I felt I needed to write a review on here, as we got married and had our reception here yesterday (4th April 2009). We read these reviews a couple of weeks ago and it really stressed me out. However, I have to say they are MASSIVELY over the top from my experience. We had a fantastic wedding day, the staff were amazingly helpful, efficient and friendly. The food and silver service was outstanding. The organisational skills of the staff at the hotel were second to none and they ensured our day was stress free and enjoyable. Our guests had no problems with parking and no grumbles about the rooms (although a couple were expecting a slightly larger room). Our bridal suite was fine, a little in need of redecoration but the bathroom was excellent and the room was very clean. If I had to choose my wedding venue again, I would definitely make the same choice. The only minor issue we had was some discrepancies over room pricing, as some people were being charged £20 more for a double room than others. On the whole, we had an amazing day, made even better by the brilliant staff and surroundings at the Britannia. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
Thank you very much for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were given a one night stay here and 14 days parking for free with holiday from Thomas Cook.

It was OK for free, but I wouldn't like to have paid for it. The lift wasn't working, which is 'always the case' apparently. The hotel is dated and shabby and obviously just aimed at one nighters like us, so the staff don't really care if you like it or not.
We ate in the hotel it was OK, I would stay again if offered same deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyCarilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments; although, we are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations. We do understand that the hotel has been experiencing technical problems regarding the customer lifts but we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment, which will ensure all rooms are of the same high standard. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing