We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Been here a couple of time and will use again great service from staff and food was god value. The room was ok and the bathroom was very good and clean the car parking is excellent the stay was hassle free.

Room Tip: Great value and the rooms are well maintained double room are all ok. Enjoyed the stay no matter whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you have stayed with us many times and do enjoy your stays with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    654
    515
    387
    720
See reviews for
543
1,003
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute as a stop over before an early morning flight we arrived in the afternoon because my husband wanted to watch the football. On arrival car park was really full but we learned that this is an airport parking facility which we would use next time but we still managed to find a space. The entrance is very grand but not modern which I liked but might not suit some. The bar area is just off reception and there is a big screen that we could watch the football on. My daughter who is 10 wanted to use the swimming pool which was a nice area but we had to pay to go in which I thought was unusual for a hotel guest - I think it was about £2.70
We booked a family which consisted of a double bed and a single bed and a lovely modern bathroom with a great shower. The room wasn't modern but it was classical/traditional and the beds were comfortable. I cant comment on food etc but I believe they do a buffet for £14.95 in the evening. As a stopover I would definitely stay again . It was about 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We have over 600 spaces on our car park and at times our car park can be very busy. There is a charge for hotel guests to use our leisure facilities £4.00 per adult, and £2.00 per child.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your bedroom to be comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

On arrival, we opened into a scenic drive down into the car park which seemed lovely at first. On walking through the front doors I commented on a "grand" appearance although it soon became apparent that did not continue throughout the venue.
I can only compare the experience to falling through a tardis back into the 1980s. The hotels beyond dated looks are in dire need of modernisation; not to mention the jurassic television set I swore was going to greet me with episodes of Knight Rider & Magnum P.I.

I accept that my party may have afforded to grab a cheap deal on our stay, yet I pity any individual having to pay any higher rate.
I wasn't entirely impressed with attitudes from Staff, yet I can somewhat understand their lack of enthusiasm and cheer.

Put simply, if you're looking for a bed and breakfast it will meet your needs but I advise against visiting this hotel for anything more.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you feel that the hotel is in need of modernisation, and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my good lady were accommodated here during the weekend of the 40 Commando Association reunion, were very pleased to receive a complimentary upgraded to a double suite as part of the good ladies birthday package.
Everyone that attended the Commando reunion were treat with respect and accorded sufficient space to gather during the day(s) as we reminisced.
We took use of the spa area which come free with our weekend package, it is rather dated but was sanitised to a satisfactory standard.
The Cheshire suite was perfectly adorned for our gala dinner and dance.
I am sure that I can speak on behalf of all Royal Marines in attendance by Thanking all of the staff who contributed towards the smooth running of a fabulous weekend.
See you in 2015

Room Tip: This hotel is predominantly used by people who are travelling through Manchester airport, it maybe w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

I look forward to welcoming you back in 2015.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My partner and i recently stayed at this hotel before a flight early the next morning, and we did not get any sleep. It is obvious that wedding guests of this hotel are held in higher regard to those who are staying the night. I was kept awake all night with kids and adults running riot in the hotel. Bad language all night both outside my room and around the hotel, loud music until very late, both in the rooms and downstairs. if they have a wedding why put our room above this disco? Put the wedding guests above it! The clocks went forward that night so i requested a wake up call.......did not recive that either. Luckly the guests were still kicking off enough that i wasnt even asleep. Went to reception in the morning (early hours) to reception staff who didnt care a less! Scruffy and looked un-interested . Didnt expect a lot to be honest, but i at least wanted to sleep. Definitely worth paying a few quid more to stay somewhere better.

Room Tip: DONT GO HERE. If there is a wedding, ask to be as far away as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 949unknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from a private function and other guests during your recent stay with us.

The Britannia Country House Hotel is a large hotel with 255 bedrooms and extensive Conference & Banqueting facilities and at times can be extremely busy, we do ask guest to be quiet so they do not disturb other guests however some guests can be inconsiderate.

We do want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion and for this I apologise.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel might have been a 4 star hotel 10-15 years ago. It seems to be a bit worn out to be nice. :-)
The rooms have seen better days.
It was not very easy to get a smile from the staff members and the restaurant was very dark.
The breakfast was average.

Room Tip: If you need a good room, pick number 48. There are 2 containers outside the window and you wont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay your comments will be taken on board.


Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The night before I flew home to Canada I stayed at the Britannia Country House Hotel. 12 of my family and friends drove from the North East to stay the night and we had a reunion party. The hotel were fantastic in hosting us and providing sitting areas in the lounge and in the restaurant where we could all spend time together. The hotel was very reasonably priced and I found it very clean and comfortable and the staff were efficient and friendly. A great hotel in a busy location and we were even able to spend time in the beer garden so the children could run around and play. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel as an airport stopover, only 15 minutes by taxi to the airport, and I will most likely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#48 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#54 of 118 in Manchester
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#66 of 118 in Manchester
1,297 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing