We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Just Go Holidays coach trip and were not disappointed. We were given a spacious 5 bed executive room (room 167) which although a bit dated, was comfortable and clean with constant hot water for the jacuzzi bath and shower. We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly and the quality of food in the restaurant brilliant with several choices each day. I cannot think of a negative thing to say about this hotel apart from it is a little remote and nowhere to walk to that is nearby. I hope people are not put off by some of the reviews, we would definately visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    647
    503
    369
    709
See reviews for
528
982
108
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I decided for this hotel because it in not very far from the Christie hospital for Carcer Reaserch.
The location is really nice, in a green area, and the hotel is huge. Good facilities and they also have pool and table football for entertainment and a bar open till late. The room was an individual one (with individual bed), very small. Honestly the bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was fine and with shower.
There is no free Wi-Fi in the room, it is only in the lounge/bar.
The breakfast was quite poor for what concern the warm plates. Not a lot of vegetable choice and also didn't taste of anything. Very poor also for the fruits options. Terrible coffee. For the breakfast they change around 10 pounds.
It is recommendable for only short staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsHeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel nice with good facilities. I am sorry that you found your room to be small and your bed uncomfortable, some of our standard rooms are small however it is possible to upgrade to a larger room at reception.

We do offer free Wifi in all areas of the hotel, unfortunately we have been experiencing some difficulties with this service. I can confirm the wifi is fully working in all areas and I am sorry for any inconvenience that may have been caused.

I have passed your comments regarding the food served in our restaurant to our Head Chef, I was surprised to read these comments as we do receive lots of compliments from guests.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've read some of the previous reviews & I do not agree with them. We came on a coach holiday & the room was lovely& clean, a bit jaded but what the heck it was only to sleep in after a fun filled day out ! As for the restaurant well no complaints whatsoever ! They must have got a new chef since the previous reports ! The food was plentiful & delicious. (Some people are too fussy )

Room Tip: Our room was no.160 on the first floor, it was over the entrance but that wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baynesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here as part of a groupon offer that included parking for airport. The deal price was allegedly 70% off the true price! It was cheap for a reason!
The whole hotel had a bad smell which I think was musty and damp. Room was supposed to have been an executive room so was disappointing and old fashioned. Two of the jets were broken in the bath and only one towel, the bed looked ok until it was turned back and had huge ink stains all over it! The hotel bar was too small for the size of the hotel but when we did get a table the chairs were filthy and what appeared to be striped was where the chair was totally threadbare. The free bottle if wine included in the offer was unpalatable and perhaps better used to clean the ink from the bedding. The restaurant was even worse the food was Luke warm and tasteless. Probably the worst hotel food we have ever jhad. I could go on and on. Luckily the stay was only for one night as went to the airport the next day. Couldn't get a cup of coffee while we waited. The transfer was the beat bit! Get me out of here!! The young guy behind the bar and a male member of the check in team were helpful and friendly and wasted in this hotel! Would strongly recommend t I avoid this hotel and will remember what my mum says, you don't get nothing for free and things are cheap for a reason .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on several occasions before with no complaints but this time the room and service was appalling. The room we were given (478) had a bad smell in it evident later on what from, it had cobwebs from ceiling and a chocolate sweet in middle of floor so clearly had not been cleaned properly. The bed (if that's what you can call it) was a mattress laid on top of some sheets of plywood on top of a divan base then surrounded with a 4 poster frame as per my photos. The least I expect in an hotel is a proper bed. There were no sockets in the room to plug in a phone charger, laptop or hair straighteners which was most annoying and worst of all, laying in bed and looking up we noticed the smoke detector on ceiling had been covered over with a bag or something (photo)hence giving the impression that the smell in room was from cigarettes. We were appalled as this is a health and safety issue. We also had an issue with being overcharged for breakfast when we had clearly booked it online with our room. We would seriously think twice about staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I was disturbed to read your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I have passed your comments on to our Head Housekeeper and maintenance team to ensure these issues are resolved immediately.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards,

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I will try and keep this brief, checking in took an age, receptionist seemed more interested in talking to her colleague than dealing with us.
Bedroom had a big bath with a Jacuzzi.....lovely, unfortunately also above a function room with disco and no soundproofing.
Reception does not answer the phone, complaint met with disdain, I could go on but hopefully you get the idea.
Quite probably the worst hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay and were disturbed by noise from a function at the hotel.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A great disappointment, the picture looks good, the prices were brilliant and the staff were helpful. But the hotel has seen better days, rooms are in need of a face lift, the lift closest to our room did not have an inner door and was, in my opinion unsafe. The public areas were clean and had ample seating for guests. The dining room was pleasant but the food left a lot to be desired. I didn't think it was possible to ruin vegetables to this extent. In the two days we were there we had to ask for the key cards to be re-configured three times and we were not the only ones. On the plus side the hotel is handy for both the Trafford Centre and the city centre. I could say you get what you pay for. If you want a cheap weekend visiting a really interesting city and dont mind eating out , this is a great place to sleep.

Room Tip: do not get a room next to a lift, they are very noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our prices brilliant and staff helpful.

I can confirm that all of our lifts do meet all necessary Health and safety standards and are safe to use.

Please be assured your comments will be taken on board.


Kind Regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
796 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#50 of 116 in Manchester
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing