We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* staff in a 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“5* staff in a 3* hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

stayed at country house while on a National break. Read some of the previous reviews and was a little unsure of what we'd get but our room was a good sized executive twin, ensuite and clean. Heating wasn't on when we arrived but came on later and was good. Yes it is a little tired in places and if I was paying full price I may have felt a bit disappointed but the deal with National was outstanding. The meals are hot and served buffet style. there's not a great variety but everything is replenished often and well cooked. The 99p bar Mon-Thurs is a bit grotty and lacks any warmth but the hotel bar is comfortable and well decorated. I used the pool several times while i was there (£10 the week) and yes it too needs a bit of TLC but the sauna is great.
Lastly I would like to mention the staff. They all work so hard and everyone we met was helpful, pleasant and polite. Id especially like to name Robyn (aka Boris) in the hotel bar who was charming and Mandy in the health club for a great back massage!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
5* staff in a 3* hotel




Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your room spacious clean and comfortable. I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    654
    515
    387
    721
See reviews for
543
1,004
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 at the beginning and end if a holiday.

I found the first room freezing with draughty windows and the decor was in need or a makeover.

the second room looked a bit more modern but the radiator were off when we arrived late at night (in february brrr)

I used the swimming pool which was pleasant enough but again the decor is in dire need of attention. The jacuzzi spa was ace it was roasty toasty and was my highlight.

Room Tip: Cant really offer advice onthis
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionafaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Sitting on the fence


Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that there was an issue with the heating in your room.

Im pleased to hear you enjoyed are spa facilities.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Sat 21st Dec as a treat for our son who is 11, we arrived to the reception having no booking in our name, the receptionist said he would sort it asap and would we like to wait in the bar. This pleased my hubby as the Liverpool fame was on. After 15 mins the receptionist came over with our keys. Me and our son went up to our room and were more than happy with it. We later went into Manchester and came back around 9ish. We were all tired so soon fell asleep, we were then woken at 3am and the fun started then! The hotel had had a party night and someone had decided to give the room adjoining ours to 3 young men, who decided to invite 4 more to their room for a party. The noise was awful, I rang down to reception and they promised to sort it. After 30 mins I realised no one was coming so I went down myself. I was told security would be up ASAP. By 4am I had seen no one so down I went again, this time security came back with me and sorted it. I'm not boring but cudnt understand why they would put young party animals in an adjoining room to a family. I have since spoke to the hotel and a lovely lady has sorted for us to stay this Saturday night at a reduced cost, so looking forward to that. We have stayed before at this hotel a few times and never had trouble before, in fact we sometimes have had a complimentary upgrade.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ninnieLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that your booking was not in our system on your arrival at the Hotel which caused a delay.

Unfortunately some of our guests can be noisy, we do ask them to quieten down however some guests can be inconsiderate.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

I am delighted that you are coming to visit us again and I do hope you enjoy your stay.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had an overnight stay prior to our flights, booked car parking, very large car park, unfortunately some parts were flooded, but plenty of spaces available. Rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. All staff helpful a and friendly, dinner and breakfast was of good quality with reasonable choices. Easy transport available to the airport. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean comfortable and the staff efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thanks to the Britannia Country House Hotel we always look to book our flights out of Manchester these days. For little over £50 we had a comfortable, clean and warm room. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and very pleasant. The Restaurant made us sandwiches and we were able to eat them in the bar so we could use the WiFi. Unbelievably, this price also includes free parking in our case for 9/10 days. And on top of this they were selling lager at £1 a pint on the night we stayed there. Transfers to the airport were fine, both ways.
We always used to travel from London, but the unfriendly impersonal overnight stays there are incomparable to the friendliness of the Manchester staff.
For the price it can't be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean comfortable and the staff polite and very pleasant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had an early flight to Rome and needed car parking as well .
We got a Groupon deal and can't complain about the cost or the transfer which was very good .
The hotel is what it is , I would nt pay for the buffet meal and we didn't have breakfast but for parking and ease of transfer to the airport ,it was fine .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money.

I look for ward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed overnight before a flight the next day. Staff friendly and helpful, room large, comfortable spotless and modern, bathroom excellent with all the little extras! Food reasonable value for money and good service, bar prices well below average to what we have encountered in other similar hotels.
Yes, areas of the huge car park are flooded, but what can one expect with the atrocious weather we have had ? No problems finding a clear area, transfers to and from the airport are easy to arrange at six pound return per person and were prompt and helpful (all done at reception). I would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratzakli28082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car park and the hotel excellent value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#52 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#55 of 118 in Manchester
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#7 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing