We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Value.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thanks to the Britannia Country House Hotel we always look to book our flights out of Manchester these days. For little over £50 we had a comfortable, clean and warm room. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and very pleasant. The Restaurant made us sandwiches and we were able to eat them in the bar so we could use the WiFi. Unbelievably, this price also includes free parking in our case for 9/10 days. And on top of this they were selling lager at £1 a pint on the night we stayed there. Transfers to the airport were fine, both ways.
We always used to travel from London, but the unfriendly impersonal overnight stays there are incomparable to the friendliness of the Manchester staff.
For the price it can't be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean comfortable and the staff polite and very pleasant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    647
    503
    368
    708
See reviews for
528
981
107
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had an early flight to Rome and needed car parking as well .
We got a Groupon deal and can't complain about the cost or the transfer which was very good .
The hotel is what it is , I would nt pay for the buffet meal and we didn't have breakfast but for parking and ease of transfer to the airport ,it was fine .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money.

I look for ward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed overnight before a flight the next day. Staff friendly and helpful, room large, comfortable spotless and modern, bathroom excellent with all the little extras! Food reasonable value for money and good service, bar prices well below average to what we have encountered in other similar hotels.
Yes, areas of the huge car park are flooded, but what can one expect with the atrocious weather we have had ? No problems finding a clear area, transfers to and from the airport are easy to arrange at six pound return per person and were prompt and helpful (all done at reception). I would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratzakli28082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car park and the hotel excellent value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here on NYE 2013/14. As we were checking in, another guest was complaining to staff that there was no wifi. The staff's response to this was that there was wifi but only in the bar area - bare this in mind if you need it in your room!

The room was adequate. We paid for an 'executive' room due to other reviews on here advising people pay the extra. I noted there were very few plug sockets in our room. The bathroom was adequate with a bath with shower over it. The bed was comfy but the pillows were a bit flat and duvet a little thin.

My partner wanted to iron his shirt and so went down to reception to see if there was an iron and ironing board available. He was told they aren't given out to guests but there is an ironing room... He was given directions to said room which was small and consisted of one iron attached to the wall and one ironing board. For a large hotel this is not really adequate.

On our way out into Didsbury for the evening there was an elderly couple waiting for the lift down, one of whom was in a wheelchair. It was clear they were going to the NYE event being held at the hotel. The lift was broken and the lady in the wheelchair was getting very agitated and upset as she thought she wouldn't be able to get down to get to the event. On our way out we told a member of staff there was a lady upset on the 4th floor who needed assistance to get downstairs. The lad almost shrugged and went back behind the desk! When we arrived back at the hotel there was a sign on the lift saying 'Max 2 persons'. For a busy hotel this was not ideal. From speaking to other guests this was apparently not the first time this had happened.

My advice is: if you HAVE to stay here then book an executive room. Pay the extra.

It was ok for one night. If you are having breakfast then go into Didsbury as it has lots of little cafes and bars that do lovely breakfasts and brunch. I don't think I'd trust the hotel!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fontwell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately we do not have an iron and ironing board in each room, we do have an ironing room on the 2nd floor for guests to use.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My stay at this hotel was a joke.

On arrival, I had to search for a space in the dark unlit car park as half of it was flooded.

Check-in was a joke. Two receptionists but only one was dealing with clients check-in whilst the other faffed around complaining she was losing the will to live. When I finally got to see someone at reception, he could not find my booking through lastminute.com. I was told to take a seat and he would call them for me. 30 mins later I went back to the desk where he admitted that he had forgotten all about me and became busy checking in other guests!!!

After that great piece of customer service I went to my room.

It was the smallest room I have ever seen in a commercial hotel. Which is saying something given the amount of travel I do in my professional life.

The room decor was dated and old. I came in to find it freezing cold and had to turn on a radiator which then started rattling.

There was a small single bed with holes in the sheets, mysterious brown marks and one pillow which may as well not have been there.

From the bathroom a trickling water noise was coming from the toilet which would not stop.

The lock on the door would not work. Which is a big no-no for me as I was a single woman on my own in an isolated part of the hotel.

At first I thought it's only one night and it was the cheapest room in the area. But noise from the corridor and nearby stairs had me walk out of the hotel after only 2 hrs.

I would definitely not recommend staying here no matter how cheap the room. For the same price I could've stayed in a Premier Inn with higher cleanliness standards and bigger rooms.

Highly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug180611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our car park is fully lit in all areas and has over 600 spaces, unfortunately due to adverse weather conditions one small area of the car park has become flooded however there are plenty of spaces available for guests to park away from this area.

I am sorry for the issues you experienced on check in and I have passed your comments on to my Reception Manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Some of our standard rooms are small, however it is possible to upgrade to an executive room at our reception.

Each of our bedroom door locks are checked on a daily basis by our housekeeping staff, and I can confirm that a guest would never be allocated a room with a broken door lock.

I do wish that you had spoken to our reception staff or duty manager as you could have been moved to another room to ensure you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your constructive criticism; rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I were attending a function at the Golf Club over the road as we were last year. This hotel is ideally placed.

Just like last year Reception is poor. Not efficient. Check in is between 2pm and 3pm Why are there only 2 staff on at this busy time. The queue to check in was out of the door!!

Last time the room was great and made up for the reception. I think the hotel has reassigned some of the storage space as rooms. We had one. The room was 7ft x 10ft.!!! This was called a double room. A 3/4 bed was in this room. No space to put your bag on the floor!!

We returned after the function and went to bed. After a sleepless night decided to go home to Rochdale, 30 miles away, which is why we stayed over in the first place. We left at 6:30 am.
Total waste of money.

The room although small was fairly clean and the bathroom OK. No plug in the bath though. So a shower only. I mentioned to reception that there was no plug. The response was some rooms don't have one!!!

Stay here if you are used to camping or youth hostelling, but not if you expect 4*.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our check in time is from 2.00pm, unfortunately we have no way on knowing what time our guests will check in and if lots of guests arrive at the same time there can be a queue and for this I apologise.

You were allocated a standard double room which would have been the room type that was booked and I am sorry that you felt that the room was small, it is possible to upgrade to an executive room which is a larger room, I do think that when you stayed with us last you your must have been given a complimentary upgrade to an executive room.

Should you wish to stay with us again please contact me at the hotel directly to enable me to arrange your booking for you to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very congested, room decor is very poor..Poor Cleanliness..Cleaned room was full of dirt on the carpet. No Double glazing in the bathroom creating very cold environment. ... Similar price you can get a lot better in the area...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the room décor and cleanliness were poor. We do not have any rooms in the hotel that have single glazing, all of our bedrooms and bathrooms are double glazed.

I do wish that you had contacted our reception to enable us to sort out any issues you experienced immediately as an alternative room could have been arranged for you.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards,

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
794 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#51 of 116 in Manchester
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing