We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Good!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The fact that we got a room at a really good price was the only saving grace! Hotel very tired looking, needs some tlc. Room was clean but it you want to get any sleep, stay somewhere else. Horrendous night, having to listen to unruly neighbours in next room, loud music, swearing, banging on walls, etc. Complained to staff who smiled politely and said there was a lot of young people staying that weekend!!!!!! Would not stay here again if you paid me insurmountable sums of money.

Room Tip: Don't bother - choose different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from other guests we do ask guests to be quiet however some guests can be inconsiderate.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    638
    492
    355
    681
See reviews for
513
956
101
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Was hoping to find suitable accommodation as visiting family in the area, and was looking for somewhere to use on a regular basis.

Parking was an absolute nightmare! No where to park your car as it is used for airport parking.

Hotel I would describe as 'tired', very basic. need of a re-decoration - watermarks on walls from water leaks in past.
Bath was a laugh - need to have steps to as very high plus the bath taps in were in the way to step into the bath. Would not be suitable if any limitations in movements.

Bed uncomfortable and very noisy from the Airport bus /taxi and banging of luggage !

Not suitable for my needs in meeting up with my family.

Room Tip: Find alternative hotel - unless going to airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us.

We have over 600 spaces on our car park and at times our car park can be very busy.

Unfortunately some of our guests can be noisy when they are entering and leaving the hotel and I am sorry that you were disturbed by this.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel early November,and read some reviews before we went,so I just had to add mine, we had a great time here for 5 days,food was very good room was good and the staff were really good,and at night in the bar it was only £1 a drink, so thanks Brittania see you next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkPortonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff, I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel is large and reception area very nice. Rooms are slightly dated but its a cheap room do what more is expected. Clean bathrooms with great power shower. Would stay again for the price. :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemna105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor.
Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Believe me, I would never willingly stay a night in this hotel after reading the myriad of appealing reviews and especially after reading the manager's inadequate and often condescending replies...
However, I attended a conference here which was rather quite pleasant. The room was warm, pens and paper were waiting, as were coffee and pastries.
The toilets were very old fashioned but extremely clean.
I got dropped off but noted that the car park is pretty rough and full of pot holes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J3KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that prior to your visit you felt that you would not stay with us due to reviews online. I do wish that more guests that stay with us and enjoy their stay would post their comments as we have many repeat visitors and guests that do enjoy their stay with us and it is a shame that most of the time it is only guests that do not enjoy their stay that leave feedback.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and found the conference facilities pleasant.

I do hope that following your visit that you would visit us again.

Our car park repairs have now been carried out.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stopped here on several occasions and have found it to offer good value for money every time. This is particularly so if you have the early bird evening meal.
My only gripe is that parking can be a pain. The car park is huge but they allow people to leave their cars here when they fly out of Manchester airport. As a consequence you might end-up parking a long way away from the Hotel and have to trudge across muddy grounds with your baggage in the rain in order to reach the reception

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments.

On your next visit to the hotel please drive up to reception first too drop off your luggage and then go and park your car to make it a little easier as our car park large.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel was the lobby / Entrance looked very festive.
It was all done hill from there , not what you expect from a big hotel chain?
The kindest thing to say is "read the reviews first" and make up your own mind , all I going to say is :
The phrase "buyers beware":(



  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Unfortunately as you have not stated the reason for your unhappy stay I am unable to look into this further.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#77 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing