We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mini trip”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our first coach tour and as we wanted to visit Manchester this was the hotel we were based in. Had read some poor reports but I didn,t find it too bad for a 3 star, feel the rooms could be updated but clean and comfortable. In reception area no local information leaflets or maps, residents bar offered Happy Hour but was charged £6.50 for pint of Tetleys and Vodka and draught coke, wasn,t very happy at that, then discovered there was another bar which opened at eight where all drinks were £1. Also felt male members of staff in restaurant were quite abrupt, on our first night we lifted 2 cups to go through for coffee and were told put these back your cups are in the other room! Meals were good, had to change our cutlery twice as we had a dirty soup spoon, then a dirty knife another night. Overall if we were to do another trip and were based at this hotel dont think I would mind.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor room 374 looking onto the front of the hotel, thought it would have been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roryboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable; we do have an ongoing decorating programme at hotel. We have local information leaflets displayed in our reception area and I am sorry that you did not see these.

I have passed your comments regarding abrupt staff and unclean cutlery to our restaurant supervisor to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    655
    515
    387
    721
See reviews for
543
1,005
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Turned up to find that the hotel was overbooked and only 1 double room available - despite booking 1 month in advance. Ended up staying 4 in 1 room as the single rooms we were offered were disgusting. Went to the Italian Restaurant - food and waiter were excellent. Went back to room at 11pm to find water all over the bathroom floor. Reported it to reception as the lights were near the leak, only to be told that there was no maintanance until 8am the next day. The staff were very rude and did not care, they even sent someone to the room with some towels to wipe up the mess (he laughed and thought it funny). Asked what the crisis plan was and no one seemed to know??? Told staff we were not moving from reception until someone had been out as it was unsafe to sleep there. Whilst at reception another couple tried to check in, only to be told that there was no room and they were sent in a taxi to another hotel. Then, another couple came down to report a bird flying around the room!!! Knowing we were not going away, they then contacted someone from maintenance. When he arrived it got even better - the leak was from the toilet above!!! I then noticed a dirty towel wrapped around some other pipes. The maintenance man told me not to worry as this was from the air conditioning. A dirty towel probably full of bacteria - a welcome home for legionnaires disease? We eventually got to bed at 2am!!! The electrical items did not have a date of when they were tested. The fire procedure posters were blank. I have pictures to evidence all of this and I will be reporting this to Health & Safety.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am sorry that your rooms were not available for you on your arrival at the hotel. Your group were offered 4 single rooms, this offer was declined, your group was then offered a room with 2 double beds in and this offer was accepted, you were also given the option to transfer to another hotel where you could have been give your specific room types, this offer was declined.

Unfortunately there was a leak from the room above. We do no thave maintenance on site 24 hours per day and once this was brought to our attention our maintenance manager was called out. I am sorry that you felt the staff were rude and uncaring, it is our procedure, should there be a leak in a room to send a member of staff to clear the water up. I am unsure as to what you mean by “crisis plan” as we do not have “crisis plans”

We have had no record of a bird flying around a guest bedroom, however I am sure that if a guest has left their bedroom window open and a bird has flown in this is purely an accident and not the fault of the hotel staff.

We do have our pat testing carried out at the hotel each year and we do have fire evacuation procedures on the back of each bedroom door for our guests safety should there be a fire.

Thank you for your constructive criticism this enables us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

my husband and i were visiting our son who lives in Didsbury and booked the nearest hotel to his flat.What a dump!! It was just a big ugly building in the middle of a public car park. After checking in with a member of staff who could not even give us eye contact or even welcome us,we made our way to our room along a passage that stank of stale sick....it was disgusting!! The whole place was grubby and tired. Our room was horrible. the net curtains looked as if they had never been washed and the windows were filthy and a big birds poo was right in the middle. The tracks and surrounding areas of the shower doors were absolutely manky and the ceiling was covered in dead bugs. The bed was hard and lumpy and the pillow was non existent which was bad enough but to add to everything else the music from a hotel function along from us continued until 1am. This was followed by shouting and slamming of doors for another hour.All in all a complete disaster. We would of had a better sleep in our car. Our advice to the duty manager is to look at the reviews and act upon them as the buck stops at the top!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I was disturbed to read your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you felt that both the hotel and your room did not meet your expectations. I do wish that once you had arrived at your room and if you were not completely happy with it then you could have returned to reception to enable our staff to rectify this and give you an alternative room.

We do have extensive conference facilities at the hotel and at time the hotel can be extremely busy and I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards,

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

got a deal 50 pounds for Bed breakfast & dinner, lovely surroundings but hotel probably needs renovation to bring it up to date. Staff at reception are slow to look after you. The dinner is average but breakfast is good.
The hotel is nicely situated near airport & Dewsbury is a lovely place nearby.....15 minutes walk
I would recommend stay for overnight to catch flight

Room Tip: A/C in all rooms are very noisy, upgraded rooms are below average
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Din138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After needing to find a hotel near to family for a quick overnight stop, I came across the Britannia Country House Hotel and as found a deal on one of the hotel comparison websites, decided to go with it.

On arrival, the long sweeping driveway conjurers up an idea of pulling up to an idyllic hotel, however, when coming round the final bend, was surprised to see what looked like a hotel from the Austrian Alps.

Parking is a bit of an issue here, although there is a HUGE amount of space to park, there are hardly any designated parking bays and turns out to be a bit of a free for all and park wherever you can.

After eventually squeezing into a space, we walked into a very open reception area, and was greeted by a member of staff. The service was ok, I wouldnt say outstanding, he got the basics done, got me to sign for the room and told me where to go. Efficient yes, but not very welcoming.

Having to wait an age of the lift to arrive to take us to the 4th floor of the hotel, we stepped into the lift to find alot of the mirrored panels in the lift had been cracked or smashed and not replaced. (Not an ideal start)

Eventually found our room and, well, to be honest wasn't impressed at all. The decor was dated, the sliding doors on the wardrobe were broken, dead flies on the floor, what looked like a bugs remains squashed on the wall and a retro olive coloured bathroom suite. (However, to be fair, we were surprised by the jacuzzi bath that wasn't advertised!).

On returning to the hotel later than night, we discovered the TV remote in the room was either broken (the back was also missing) or wasn't the right remote for the TV. After manually changing the channel (choice of about 8) my gf decided to test out the jacuzzi bath. Instant hot water and the bath was full functional and enjoyable. However, the bathroom gets hot rather quickly and develops into a sauna as the extractor fan isnt really up to the job and you cant open the door whilst using the bathroom in case its sets the hotels fire alarm off and the whole place gets evacuated.

The bed to be fair was comfy and had a decent night sleep, however, I wouldn't return to this hotel and will probably spend a little more money to stay at a Premier Inn or something similar.

Hotel would be relatively nice if it was fully redecorated and brought up to date (inc. bathroom).

If your not fussed about the hotel or the room, but just want a bed, then this will do, otherwise I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polish1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do have a very large car park which holds over 600 cars and at peak times can be extremely busy and I am sorry that you felt it was like a free for all.

Our Reception manager is carrying out re training with all reception staff at the moment.

Unfortunately there is a small crack in the lift mirror and we are waiting for replacement glass to be fitted.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Been stopping here since April ,good rooms, good facilities ,staff very friendly and helpful especially julie,I would recommend this hotel to anyone working in Manchester it's situated in a good position not far off a main route into Manchester from the south , I will proberbly be stopping here for a good few months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you find our staff and facilities good and would recommend this hotel to others.

Kind regards
Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Checked in early as room was ready. Only needed an airport stop over so it was fine for my needs. Room was clean, everything I needed. Only grumbles are there was only one bath towel (there was 2 of us) and there was a door that must have went directly into the next room, could hear every word they said! Which was a little strange.

Ate in the italian got a pizza it was lovely. Good service. Had a drink in the bar again good service.

All in all a good hotel don't know if I'd stay there for a mini break though, was quite noisy with the weddings on and stuff and nothing to do round about would have to travel into the center.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochellexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our check in time is from 2pm however we do our best to allow guests to check in early if the rooms are ready to keep the wait to a minimum.

There are 2 bath towels in a double room, one is put in the bathroom and the other can be located in the wardrobe along with extra pillows.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#52 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#55 of 118 in Manchester
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#7 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing