We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #90 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend away”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

On arrival to the hotel it looked very pleasant from the outside, clean and no rubbish. The reception area was welcoming and clean. The staff at reception were a little vague and not much info given at time of booking in on dining times etc. the room was on the small side and basic, but was ok for our one night stop over.
The restaurant was lovely for breakfast and there was plenty of choice and everything looked nice, and staff were very quick to seat us and produce coffee. A little shocking was that there was no bus route back into the city centre so had to rely on getting a taxi, this booked from the hotel cost £15 a time and from town back to hotel between £16-£18 !!!!
The hotel overall was clean,tidy however I don't see myself booking here again due to the travel to and from cost's

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and efficient.

There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and there is a bus service that runs to and from Manchester city centre 24 hours per day.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    654
    515
    387
    721
See reviews for
543
1,004
109
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed one night prior to flight next day. Breakfast didn't start till 7 am , no good when on an early flight. Dinner finished at 20.30 but was awful! Salad was cucumber and celery and nothing else, fruit salad was apple! Food quality very poor. Room very basic, small, no hot water in the morning so cold shower. Lift broken in morn so had to carry 5 cases down 3 flights stairs. Reported issues to front desk but apologies . Do not stay here, you will be disappointed! It was not expensive but def worth paying a little bit more for a better standard of everything ! Even the loo roll was a grade slightly higher than izal.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Our breakfast service starts at 6.30am Monday to Friday and 7.00am Saturday and Sunday, we do offer a take away breakfast for guests that are leaving before our restaurant opens.

Our restaurant is open until 9.00pm each evening and serves a variety of different dishes which includes a salad bar. Our salad bar offers a wide range of salad items and not just cucumber and celery and our fruit salad is made from different fruits and not just apples.

Unfortunately our lift was out of order during your stay and our engineers were working as quickly as they could to repair it, we do not have hotel porters however if you had asked for assistance then this would have been provided.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

lowestoft
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have just spent 5 days 3rd june -7th june,with just/go holidays, it was a very pleasant 5 days , the food was brill breakfast, dinner spottless every where, the cabaret every night was wonderful the mc was a barrel of laughs. I will certainly tell all my friends and I will write to trip advisor telling them the same , you made my stay a very pleasant one

Room Tip: we were on the first floor , no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here last week with my son's football team. We were very well looked after. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms could do with updating, but were clean & tidy. Food was average, but exactly what a group of hungry 9 year olds needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel was everything we expected only stayed 1 night but enjoyed dinner and breakfast. Taxi to airport on time and driver very friendly. If we fly from Manchester will stay here again. Room was lovely didn't get chance to use the Jacuzzi bath tho' ,never mind next time!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive such positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place sufficed for 3 buddies and I who rented 2 rooms last month while we were in town to see Man U v Swansea city and say farewell for Sir Alex. Anyway for the price we paid for two nights (we were really only in the rooms to sleep, shower and sh**) it was good. When we first arrived I didnt feel that the up front staff (some angry black lady) was exhibiting good customer service. But at night the staff there (after 12 am) were very accommodating. For both nights there were weddings in the the hotel and the first night we made friends with some members of the wedding party. Regarding the beds: well they weren't too soft and a little more firm than I like. But like I said we got what we paid for. Also it wouldnt hurt if the hotel updated its decor like carpets. Felt like a step back into the 80s. TC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-de-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just took my wife and little girl to the dirtiest hotel I have ever seen. The first room we were greeted with toe nail clippings and hairs all over the carpets stained beds and chairs I could go on.The next room which the staff were reluctant to let us have was not much better. The hotel is generally dirty and grubby looking. The breakfast plates and cutlery were dirty and stained not a pleasant environment for eating in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was “The dirtiest hotel you have ever stayed in” I do feel that this is simply not the case, the hotel bedrooms and public areas are cleaned and checked on a daily basis.

In order for me to investigate your complaint further I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#52 of 118 in Manchester
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#55 of 118 in Manchester
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 118 in Manchester
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#7 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing