We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks good from the outside but AVOID!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Looks good from the outside but AVOID!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I don't know if I can put into words just how poor this hotel was. The walls were paper thin. I could overhear the conversation coming from the next room and they folks weren't even talking that loudly. I was woken one morning to the sound of the guy in the room upstairs in the toilet....more » Not pleasant! You can hear every word, doors opening and closing so if you're looking for a quiet hotel this is more definitely not the place to book. Also you do not get an iron in your room. You have to take your clothes to an ironing room along with everybody else. Is it really too much to ask to be able to iron in your own room??????? The reception staff barely crack a smile and are not v helpful at all. Now for the food.......I wouldn't even call it a restaurant cause its seriously below par. It was a carvery dinner with no labels as to what each dish was supposed to be. The meat was disgusting, the chicken was dry and overcooked and even the sauce could do nothing to hide that fact. If you want a decent dinner then go elsewhere!

Room Tip: My top tip would be to avoid this hotel. Even a hostel would be better than this so called hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Unfortunately we do not provide irons in our bedrooms and I am sorry that you were upset by this.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the food in our Restaurant . Our staff are on hand for guests to speak to should they require any information in relation to what food is being served.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    631
    487
    346
    676
See reviews for
505
945
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This a great, decently-priced hotel for a budget stay and I can honestly say I was very happy with what I got for the price I paid. The double room we had was very small but functional, well-equipped. Breakfast was cheaper when pre-booked and there was plenty of choice: continental, cooked and very friendly staff serving.

I really enjoyed my stay and I do feel that a lot of the reviewers here have been a bit uncharitable with their comments. Having said this, there was one thing that really let the hotel down - and it could be easily fixed. The room and bathroom were cleaned only superficially e.g. coffee stained saucers in the bedroom; and the bathroom floor, though generally clean, was littered in corners with discarded cotton buds, hair and bits of toilet paper.The sink was not properly cleaned either. While I could overlook this, the main problem was the limescale on the showerhead which can be a health and safety hazard and really should be inspected as a matter of priority.

Other than that, we were very impressed with the staff who could not have been more friendly and accommodating - they helped us out on a couple of occasions with requests.

The hotel itself is in a nice setting and is quite attractive with a nicely designed restaurant, bar area and health suite which you can pay to use. If you are part of a group I imagine its an especially good fun place to stay.

All in all think it was fair enough for the price and we really enjoyed our stay. We would like to see this hotel succeed as it has been a good and reliable venue over the years.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor at the back on a corridor of 4 rooms which, I think, was quieter so we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be good value for money.

Our shower heads are cleaned regularly and I have passed your comments on to our head housekeeper to ensure that each and every showerhead is cleaned to the correct high standard.

Unfortunately it is so easy for people to tell us when things go however it is great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely as you drive in, reception looked pretty impressive. Room tiny and freezing cold. Complained and was moved to another freezing cold room. Complained and was told that if I wanted to pay for another room on another occasion I would get an upgrade 'subject to availability' - no acknowledgment that it was unacceptable that room was so cold - even room service said "it's freezing in here, I would complain" when they brought my food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Frome
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was one of those budget hotels that you get near to airports all over the world and remember why people only stay one night in them.

The taxis were all blocking the entrance to the car park trying to pick up passengers outside the main door, which meant the traffic just blocked the road. There was only one person at the reception despite being large queues and staff drinking coffee in the room behind the front desk. I did ask if someone could cone out and help and the polite young man dud go and ask but no one came out. There were a lot of staff around doing nothing. They couldn't find my booking despite having ore booked. The rooms were small very basic and not that clown.

The food was poor. The breakfast was prepared at 6.00 and put out under the hot lights that cooked everything so much that even the serving spoons were too hot to touch. Everything was dried out. The staff were friendly but when i asked a cleaner where breakfast was served she sent me to reception.

It was a large tired building that was very basic.

Thank god you only experience one night in these hotels, seems a cheek to have to pay for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BraddyNrFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
283 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed as part of a large group on business. Friend had stayed the night before but was put into single room, thank god they had upgraded us to executive rooms. Very basic rooms but were clean. The whole hotel, though, could do with updating and refreshing. Gym was disappointing as a charge of £4 even though staying at hotel per day. But had a good selection of equipment. Coffee lounge is a bit of a comedy as it is a machine with a couple of pre wrapped pastries rather than the Starbuck/Costa like area you expect.

Room Tip: Get an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that the hotel needs updating and refreshing. There is a charge to use our Spindles Health Club and I am sorry that you were unhappy with this.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I chose this hotel as I was looking for a cheap place to stay for just one night. For £34 I had a large room with en-suite and very comfortable bed. Clearly when you go for the budget option you get one of the more dated rooms, the bathroom looked particularly tired with a very leaky shower head (as much water spurted out of the back of it as the front but it was still powerful enough to have a good shower) and odd bits of trim missing from the fittings (also it looked like silicone sealant had been used extensively to prolong the life of the bathroom as much as possible). Apart from dust clogging the ceiling air vent the bathroom was very clean, admirable given its dated nature.
The bedroom was very clean and spacious but the t.v. was an old portable with only around 9 channels available but as I was only there for a night this was not an issue.
The only thing I was a little annoyed about was the noise from the radiator when the heating kicked in at 5 am which sounded like an elephant urinating on a corrugated tin roof, from a great height, for a good 20 minutes! Fortunately I wanted to get up early so it was not as big a problem as it could have been and could probably be fixed by simply being bled.
The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and they arranged my taxi for the next morning without any hitches.
Overall I would say it was a classic case of 'you get what you pay for'. The room was pretty good value and although dated very clean. I'm sure if I had paid more I would have been placed in a suitably upgraded room so I can't really complain at the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analyst99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money, although you did have some minor issues with your room you did, overall, enjoy your stay with us and you found your room to be clean and comfortable.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, rest assured your comments will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days. The rooms were not clean, you could see the dust on the bedside tables and on the tv screen.
The restaurant was terrible. The food was awful and the service was slow. The restaurant was not even busy yet it took over an hour to get the food. My chicken was very dry and the Parma ham was like a hard crisp..........didn't finish it.
In the morning when I wanted a latte it took the waitress 20mins just to find the milk, and when it was eventually given to me some 30mins layer it was cold !!! Quicker to walk to costa in Manchester City Centre!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteAdkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the room that you were allocated and the food that was served in our restaurant.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Yours sincerely

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing