We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel with National Holidays. Really good value for the price paid. The bedroom was adequate though the decor was a little jaded. However, the food was really good, plenty of choice and self service meant you could have as much or as little as you wished to eat. The room was nice and warm and the beds comfortable. Overall, we had a lovely weekend for what was really the cost of a good night out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased that you felt we gave excellent value to our guests and I would like to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    647
    504
    369
    710
See reviews for
529
982
108
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

after reading some dreadful things about this hotel i was over the moon with our stay! We stayed 1 night on a national hol concert trip,our room was clean and very spacious,my daughter loved the big bath with the jackuzi thing! The self service buffet for tea and brekky was nowt flash but ok,what i'd expect really for the price! I did find a hair on my cake tho,which was a bit off putting! And it would of been helpful if sum1 had told us that there was a kids buffet 2 the right of the restraunt entrance,we only spotted that after we'd sat down and the kids had wasted there time in a q for which they ended up wiv nowt on there plate! i would go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not aware of the children’s buffet in our restaurant.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

we booked the hotel from previous experience just for price and nearby airport travel we had a good night time stay not modern, but clean we were let down with our pick up from the airport ,a delay of nearly an hour in the cold, picked up by a taxi but for the price you cannot complain.

Room Tip: just good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bizzyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused following the length of time you waited for your transfer at Manchester airport. I have passed your comments on to our transfer company to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently back from a National Holiday Break to Manchester and beyond, our base was this fine hotel in Didsbury Manchester.
Large imposing building set in its own grounds with swimming pool and leisurte suite to boot ( though at £4 per person for hotel guests).

Rooms where comfortable and very warm, large double beds with very firm matress plenty of room space for two
.
Bar was very spacious, though with three tour groups in then seating was at a premium, happy hour was 5pm until 7om though only on selected drinks, so check.

Food was served from 5-30 until 9pm and was a buffet style, all food quality was good, with no real complaints, plenty of selection, with choice of sweets and salad bar to boot., this was the same at breakfast, plenty of seating, even with the tour groups, service was effecient and nothing was too much trouble.
I believe there was evening entertainment but missed it most nights, quiz,bingo and a singer so plenty again for every one,

In all honesty I cannot fault the hotel and woulfd recommend to anyone looking for a Manchester park and go hotel, as they do deals for the airport.

There is a canal walk within the grounds though the path was muddy during our stay, if you are bored in the evening then take a stroll, get some fresh air.
Therer is also a frequent bus service on the door step into Manchester and a good shopping centre 10 minute walk.

All in all a good all round hotel that will satisfy all tastes and age groups.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived at the Britannia to be told that we were at the wrong hotel and actually staying at the sister hotel 15 mins away. So we had to put all our bags back in the car and drive a further 15 mins. The sister hotel was old, run down and the rooms stunk of cigarette smoke. We asked for a wake up call as we had to get up an hour earlier than intended to drive back to the first hotel at 5am to park the cars and be picked up by shuttle bus. The wake up call never came, but fortunately I had set my watch and phone as back up. If we had been staying in the main hotel, it would of been a much easier stay. But as it was, it just added to the stress of travelling having to drive around at that time in the morning. The food we had in the sister hotel was good and the young lad behind the bar was lovely. The rooms were dirty and our friends found a mouldy orange under the bed. We definately won't be going for the cheapest option next time, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Read the small print, if you have to stay in the sister hotel it's not worth the bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am sorry that you feel that you were mislead when making your booking.

We have two hotels on Palatine road, the Britannia Airport Hotel and the Britannia Country House Hotel which are approximately 1 mile apart and I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated at the Britannia Airport Hotel.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and wasn't sure what to expect as we it hadn't cost that much. Well we were pleasently surprised the hotel lobby and reception were clean, well lit and the staff were friendly (although he could have smiled a little more). We were given details of where to find the restaurant, bar and facilities such as gym etc. We paid for a Luxury twin room with Spa bath, again were pleasently surprised, the room had 2 double beds and a large bathroom, the room was very clean. We paid extra £4 each for the use of the spa facilities which we found to be ok. The only down fall for this hotel for us was the evening meal in their restaurant we wanted al a carte but they were only serving a buffet meat carvery @ £14 each, the meat was shriveled and dry to the point we could not tell what it was, we chose the to have the beef with salad as the veg was no better, if we had known we would have done research and found a local restaurant. The breakfast was better nice hot and fresh with plenty of choice. So all in all a good clean hotel excellent value for the money, but would not opt for the evening meal again.

Room Tip: Ideal for Manchester airport stopover as you can leave your car there and have airport transfers (re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean well lit and the staff friendly. Unfortunately do not have an a la carte restaurant, and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your carvery meal.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last May before an early morning flight to America.
We arrived here are the staff were helpful and friendly, they told us everything we needed to know.
They were slightly funny about taking a card payment for drinks at the bar and it wasn't the flashest hotel in the world but at £60 for a nights stay and two weeks parking with our transfers to the airport included we certainly were not complaining! Manchester wanted to charge us A LOT more than this.
I would state that if you are non smokers to ask for a non smoking room.
My partner is so it wasn't too much of a problem but the room to me as a non smoker did smell bad when we walked in.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

Unfortunately we do not take card payments at our bars, however guests can open an account at reception which enables them to charge items to their room.

We do have both smoking and non smoking rooms at the hotel and I do wish that you had spoken to our duty manager who could have arrange an alternative room for you.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
797 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#50 of 116 in Manchester
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing