We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #88 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Probably wouldn't stay here again, only real plus point is being close to airport. Our room smelt damp, the previous people's towels were left in the cupboard, the fire alarm went off, lift ridiculously small. Bar was ok, ate at the pizza restaurant which was also ok. Nothing too terrible, but you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms by the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I was sorry to read that you would probably not stay with us again.

I have discussed the concerns you raised regarding your stay with my head housekeeper, to ensure that any issues are rectified immediately.

Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards


Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    647
    504
    369
    710
See reviews for
529
982
108
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our children 8 and 6. The room was a good size with bunk beds for the boys which were ideal as it is what they are used to at home.
On the plus side, the breakfast was very good, with many different choices and even vegetarian sausages on the menu! The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of milk in the compliments tray - always an issue in other hotels!
On the negative side the hotel was rather 1980's in style, and a bit tired.
The location was great - we managed to get a bus in to Manchester with no problem, and the receptionist was very helpful when we were discussing travel options when we first arrived.
A very reasonable price compared to central hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel I was pleased to read that you found your bedroom comfortable and our breakfast very good.

I am sorry that you felt the hotel was a bit tired, we do have a decorating programme in place in order to improve the standards of decoration in some areas of the hotel.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

stayed at the hotel the night before our early morning flight in October. Have stayed before has hotel his very convinent for the airport without charging extortionate prices. Room very clean and comftable bed good nights sleep staff polite did not use restaurant but looked ok .Nice indidan restaurant attached to hotel. Read some of the reveiws all I can say is these people must turn up in a mood would recommend ignore bad reveiws make your own mind up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlloyd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us prior to going on holiday. We do have a new Indian restaurant “Spice” which is proving to be very popular with our guests.

Once again thank you for your positive comments and thank you for putting them on trip advisor for other potential guests to read.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Myself, my Husband and Elderly mother stayed here for one night before a flight to Australia, we thought we would get a full nights sleep before a very long flight. We were greeted by a rather stern faced receptionist that couldn't even crack a smile. After directing us to our room, we struggled with 3 large suitcases and several bags to make our way to the 2nd floor. The lift would only hold 2 people and was not big enough to get a suitcase in also, luckily a member of staff came along and helped us carry our cases up. The room had 3 single beds, the beds and the furniture looked like it had been there since the 50's, and the carpet had a stain for every visitor since then, it was quite filthy!! The toilet seat didn't fit, and again there was marks all over the walls.There was an adjoining door that had a huge keyhole where the residents of the next room could happily look through, and we could hear every word that they said and the TV was quite loud. The minute we walked into this place should of set alarm bells ringing, the doors were all tatty, there was stains on every carpet as we walked through and there was also lots of dirty marks on the walls and again the receptionist was very unfriendly, we were already very tired and it was late and my mother needed to rest before our early flight. Felt very unsafe. Thankfully the bedding was clean, although old. The male receptionist on check-out was very nice and helpful, and a thank-you to the young man who helped us with our luggage. Would advise anybody not to stay here with the illusion that this is a decent Hotel, it is dirty and old. Felt like a dirty Hostel. Beware.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I was sorry to read your comments regarding your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do not offer a porterage service at the hotel and I was pleased to read that a member of staff assisted with your luggage as some of our lifts are for two persons only.

The room you were allocated was an interconnecting room and unfortunately noise can travel through the door, however the keyhole is a normal keyhole and is not huge.

I do not understand why you would say that as soon as you walked into the hotel that alarm bells should have been ringing as the doors were tatty and the carpets stained as this is not true. We are a large hotel with a high turnover of guests and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel, our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis. The bedroom carpets are cleaned and changed when necessary and I am sorry that you felt the cleanliness of your carpet was not up to our usual high standards.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in January and have already written a review, if you scroll down to 11/01/2012. I'm appalled just like everybody else to read the feedback you get from the manager. I've only just checked it and its all excuse after excuse, room 6 is a dive, simple as that, yes I booked a standard double room, not a small shabby room with no air, no tv or phone reception and with no view! And yes I was given another room but it was not Exactly an upgrade, it was another standard room which was a bit bigger! And I'm sure the hotel does get cleaned on a daily basis, but it's not very good sir, stop making excuses, how you can call this a hotel is a joke, I'm appalled at your excuses. If you want to be honest you should just charge people £10 and say its a dive but it's only a tenner!!! Disgraceful place, you should be sacked

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narns2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us in January 2012 so much so that you felt the need to add a further comment on trip advisor.

The room that you were given was an executive room. Our executive rooms are larger than our standard rooms.

The hotel is cleaned on a daily basis your comment that the hotel is a disgraceful place and a dive as this is simply not true.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for one night on a very reasonable offer. First executive room had a skylight but no window which was no good for me as I am claustrophobic however a quick trip to reception and another room was given with no fuss. This is a large busy hotel and really reminded me of hotels I used to stay in with my parents in the 80's! However the staff were friendly, the room was ok and the breakfast was actually very good. I think if you get a good offer as we did and manage your expectations to the price you pay then this hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the jacuzzi rooms no longer have a jacuzzi so don't bring your bubble bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was pleased to read that when you requested a room move our reception staff dealt with this immediately for you. We do try to offer good value for money to our guests and would like to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well wot a bargin, paid £59 for family of 4,we had 3 course carvery bottle of wine and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast, was worth every penny, staff were lovely would definatly do it again!! We stayed in a family executive room, which had a jacuzzi bath....much to my daughters delight!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

We do try to offer good value for money to our guests and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Sandra Cheshire
Hotel Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#56 of 116 in Manchester
87 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 116 in Manchester
797 reviews
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 116 in Manchester
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
Travelodge Manchester Didsbury
#50 of 116 in Manchester
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing