We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY Disapointing, to say the least...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“VERY Disapointing, to say the least...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel was booked through a third party...would recommend that anybody reading this DOESNT DO THIS, AS IF ANYTHING GOES WRONG THEY WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT!
We arrivive late, about 10.15pm, we had 2 rooms, one for my mum& dad and then 1 for myself and sisters. When we booked through the third party, it was stated in bold that we wanted rooms close to eachother and that the parents had a double bed.
It turned out they didnt read that and it wasnt their problem that we had rooms at opposite ends from eachother.... no compensation was ever offered during the course of the 5 night stay.
We went up to our room, was fine. Then went to the parents room, they were given 2 SMALL singles beds in a sqeezed room, with a tiny bathroom, tv not working, smoke smell and a roof that was marked by what looked to be a leak...went down once again to get sorted, as thy clearly werent saying in a room like that, keep in mind that this is quite late at night by the this time, at the reception they were very rude and apparently on that night they had no rooms at all spare, so we all had to stay in one room, which we were told 2 nights after (when the manager was there) that it was against regulations...no one even attempted to stop up. That itself says alot.
Because of this incident, everytime we came down to go past reception, we would get looks and stares. It was horrible but the worst thing is that it wasnt even our bad !!!!!!!!!
Oh, if u want to use the gym and pool, there is a charge, not included in the stay, which we werent aware of ! meals can get quite pricey, not much to visit around the hotel unless u want to pay with taxi's. You cant shower or bathe with the door open as it sets off the fire alarm and will case an evacuation, witnessed twice- fire alarm, but no evacuation, everyone seemed to be used to it. Oh, did i mention that the rooms are allowed smoking? so that means the alarm will go off with shower steam, but not cigarette smoke.
Even though the room we stayed in was fine, there was an ugly view of yucky building. Room service was always an effort, leaving soiled sheets and sometimes not making beds properly, finding PJ's under the doners, jus chucked there. There has been reports of theives in the parking area also.
With all the signs up everywhere, they made it pretty evident that if an acciedent was to occur, they have no responsibility. !!!
Reception people always rude, lift never worked (ordering in new doors apparently...wonder how long that has been the case), old decor, not walking distance from much, seems like you are always forking out money, everyday you have to re-swipe you card for your rooms, they didnt make us aware of that, even though we would go up to the rooms after a long day and the ard would not work the have to go back down and get swiped, then walk up 3 flights of stairs again !!!!!! Computers took my ssters money also. Look, in reality i could keep going on......
Overall bad experience, would not go back !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissy_alisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryhmanager, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sincerely sorry that you were not allocated two rooms close together on the first night of your stay, unfortunately the Hotel was fully booked on this evening and we were unable to change your rooms. Your rooms were re allocated on the second day of your stay and were closer together.

I am sorry that your parents were not happy with the room that was allocated to them.

We do charge guests to use our Health Club facilities, the charges are clearly stated on our website and I am sorry that you were unaware of this.

On occasions when guests take a shower with the bathroom door open this can cause the fire alarm to activate. This would not result in a full evacuation of the Hotel as our Duty Manager immediately checks our fire panel for the room number causing the alarm to activate and then goes straight to the room to investigate.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    637
    492
    355
    681
See reviews for
513
955
101
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed here during the Confuzzled 2010 furry convention. I had one of the "superior" rooms which was spacious with 2 double beds and even a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Was a comfortable stay but there can be noise from smokers outside the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wootz_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed two nights on a Just Go coach holiday. Our bedroom was quite small but at least Ithaca quiet and on the ground floor. Some of the coach party had very big rooms with jacuzzi baths so we were a bit unlucky.
The dinner and breakfast ae seed from a ental buffet area. Sufficient choice and variety.
There was evening entertainment and £1 a pint bar for our group but the bar prices were easonable.
The hotel is used as a park and sat Noel or Mancheter airport with frequent tanfer service. Takes about 20 mins. Also close to the Trafford Shopping Centre.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastaltraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Everything old and dirty, lumpy. Beds, TV with no remote. We were on the fourth floor and the lifts didn't work. The staff seemed to be going through the motions and didn't care, take it or leave it attitude. The food was terrible. the evening meal was inedible mush, loads of gravy with bits of meat floating in it. Breakfast wasn't much better the scrambled eggs were like custard and the fried eggs like bullets. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay in this chain of hotels. Value for money zero.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryberry321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and the food that was served at Breakfast and Dinner in our restaurant. If you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

we stayed here the night before we travelled to cuba from manchester airport thomas cook orgainised it and we had parking for 2 weeks and mini bus transfer to and from the airport.
on first impression the hotel looked nice reception was nice,
we had 2 double rooms 1 was much smaller than the other and very cramped.
we had the cavery dinner which was not hot and was tinned veg...not good but we were hungry !!!.
our stay went downhill after that,we went back to our rooms to sleep as we were up at 5am...the constant door banging and argueing from other guests was a nightmare it carried on till about 4am so we gave up on sleep and just got ready early!!
on departure we had to wait outside the reception to wait for the mini bus....we were greeted with broken glass everywhere and VOMIT ...lovely when your rolling your cases and trying to keep your kids from stepping in it .the staff made NO attempt to clean it up!!!!!!!. we were picked up on return from cuba by a lovely man think he was greek/cypryat ....the mini bus transfers was the best part of the experiance . on return we picked our car up ok but we did notice that the people who had to park on the mud/dirt their cars were stuck so i hope they got them out.
on the whole i would NEVER stay at this hotel again it was a awful beggining to a lovely holiday and i would NEVER want to repeat it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the food that was served in our Restaurant, if you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

We are a busy hotel unfortunately at times some guests can be noisy, our staff do try to quieten noisy guests down so they do not disturb our other guests.

The outside of the Hotel does get cleaned regularly and I do apologise that this was not done before you went outside.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.

Kind Regards

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

We recently stayed here for 1 night in an executive double room. We payed 68 pound for 1 night. Car park very busy but managed to find a space, reception was quiet, no queueing, lift was not working so we had to hoof it up 4 flights of stairs ! This is my only negative comment on our stay. Room was nice and clean, bed large and comfy, spa bath was clean and we used it. We then went for a steak meal which was well cooked and plentiful. So all in all an enjoyable stay and we will be coming back, hopefully when the lift is working lol.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always good to receive positive comments.

Once again thank you from all the team at Britannia Country House Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Me and by boyfriend booked a cheap weekend away, using the Travelzoo website. The Britannia Country House Hotel seemed to much of a bargain to miss out on, so we booked up. Upon arrival staff were not very helpful- we had booked an executive suite GOD KNOWS WHAT THE STANDARD WAS LIKE!. We were situated on the 4th floor- and the lift was out of order- fantastic start. When we opened the room door it was musty and very dusty. This had to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed in, in a long time. There was holes in the chairs, all chairs were stained, the cups for making tea and coffee where chipped and broken, the Spa Bath- well what can I say it was less than a standard size bath- and also not clean. I didn't look at the bedding to closely, but we did sleep on the sheet you are meant to sleep with just incase, the pillows were also really uncomfortable.

The food- what food, its was worse than school meals!!!!! The breakfasts where ok, wide range of choice, much better than the evening slop!!

I would like to add I am 19 years old, and not a typical snob! I have stayed in travelodges and premier inns for less money and the quaility was FAR better. I would advise everyone to save £100 by not staying at the Britannia Country House Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFitzgerald703, General Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. I have looked into your comments regarding the room that you stayed in and can confirm that all of our bedrooms are cleaned and vacuumed on daily basis by our room attendants and are then checked by our Housekeepers to ensure they are correctly prepared to our usual high standards for our guests arrival.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the food and service in our Restaurant, if you had brought these issues to the attention of our Duty Manager any problems could have been immediately rectified.

Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board.



Yours sincerely

Patrick Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#59 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#67 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
5.9 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#80 of 116 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing