We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Mughli Charcoal Pit
Ranked #116 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Mughli Restaurant + Charcoal Pit is a family-run restaurant serving home-style Mughlai cuisine since 1991. Recently voted as 'One of Manchester's Best Restaurants' by the Telegraph, the restaurant was also featured on Nigel Slater's show on the BBC and has had visits from sports personalities as well as the Prime Minister himself. The restaurant features a 'Refreshment Room' waiting area and a fully licensed cocktail bar, with the main restaurant set around an open charcoal pit and tandoori clay oven.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Food is fantastic and the service is just as fantastic! Every detail is taken care off and it's very reasonably priced for how great if is, only down side was that one of our starters was Luke warm in temperature and it was unclear as to whether or not this as intended..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 449Amy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    217
    87
    45
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“standard british asian fare with poor service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice now. Once in a small group, when the service was pretty poor and the food was average to poor. I went the second time on saturday evening with work colleagues, l did not have a choice in the venue and did mention l was not keen to repeat my last experience. We were a group of 10 and again the service and food was very poor. My white friends at the meal thought the food was ok and were happy to take the left over food which was plentiful but we where told the food could not be packed up as this was not part of a takeaway service which is ridiculous considering the company had paid for the food! As for the food l'm punjabi as is my other work colleague and we definitely did not rate the food, l have lived in Delhi for 2 years and the food is no way authentic and not a patch on the food you can get there, To be fair there is a couple of dishes which you don't find in usual 'indian' restaurants
in the UK but its still all standard fare which does suit what most people in the UK are used too. Obviously you can not compare Indian food in India to what is on offer in Manchester but even comparing it to other restaurants in Manchester like akbars or eastzeast etc its just more of the same standard fare unfortunately which in my opinion is poor but everyone has different standards and some people found the food adequate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jaz300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Curry mile's best”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Rusholme was looking tired and dirty inside and outside the restaurants. Let's hope that the standard has now been raised. This is my second visit here. It won't be my last. It would have got 5 stars if the beers we ordered on arrival hadn't arrived after the starters. Make sure you make the most of the charcoal grill. you will need to book when word gets round lets hope some of the other restaurants pull their socks up. If you can't get in get a kebab from the rusholme chippy.

Helpful?
Thank Davidmilesroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big let down.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

As a first time visit to the "curry mile" picked this place out because of the good reviews this place had.service was very good, got a table within 10 mins even tho it was very busy.starters were very nice.but onion bhaji's were bit spicy 4 my partner. No big deal tho. As for the mains it was a different story.chicken tikka had no real taste &my balti was basically a bit of chicken , onion chilli & tomato in a bowl.no real flavour at all.another place next time I think.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dazza63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went to Mughli after tiring of several other restaurants in the area we have visited regularly....we have a new favourite. The food was beautiful, the staff were patient and available without being pushy, and the relaxing ambiance of the room complemented the experience perfectly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkHufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughli Charcoal Pit also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mughli Charcoal Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing