We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of its kind in Manchester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mughli Restaurant+Charcoal Pit

Mughli Restaurant+Charcoal Pit
Ranked #111 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mughli Restaurant + Charcoal Pit is a family-run restaurant serving home-style Mughlai cuisine since 1991. Recently voted as 'One of Manchester's Best Restaurants' by the Telegraph, the restaurant was also featured on Nigel Slater's show on the BBC and has had visits from sports personalities as well as the Prime Minister himself. The restaurant features a 'Refreshment Room' waiting area and a fully licensed cocktail bar, with the main restaurant set around an open charcoal pit and tandoori clay oven.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of its kind in Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

After visiting many Indian restaurants in Rusholme and Manchester, we are very particular about the kind of food that we like and like to think of ourselves as curry connoisseurs. We have been visiting Mughli for the past year and we really think it is head and shoulders above the rest. Have sampled lots of different dishes across the menu and am always thoroughly impressed. The Bombay basket, lamb chops and nihari roll are our favourite starters and for main you can't go wrong with the lamb nihari, butter chicken or any of the biryianis which are all delicious. The staff are always very attentive although service can be a little slow on a Saturday night when it is really busy. We normally book as it is always busy even in the week so would recommend giving them a call or booking online before you go. The decor is modern and stylish, unlike anywhere else on the curry mile. The atmosphere is always buzzing but can be a bit noisy on the weekends although this does't bother us. Definitely give it a go and you won't be disappointed, the food here can't be beaten!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_JPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    211
    83
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have tried them all and this place is the best! I agree with wait times but this place is popular and should be expected. The King Prawn Sizzler or the mixed grill sizzler are our favourites!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food is consistently very good... but its expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to Rusholme and have eaten in all of the restaurants over the years. The food in Mughli is always really good. The surroundings are modern and the fit out of the restaurant done to a high standard. The waiters do vary but are generally attentive and you get a warm welcome from the staff on arrival.

Only real criticism is the price. The sign at the door clearly says no discounts so maybe that's an unfair criticism but £5.50 for a bottle of Cobra also feels like a bit of a rip off. This restaurant is always the most expensive but the food is consistently good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible food but LONG wait.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Quite simply the best curry Ive had, absolutely delicious. It is on the more expensive side but you don't mind that with the quality of food you get. Only down side is we waited 50 minutes without anybody coming to apologise or anything.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahLeigh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz A, General Manager at Mughli Restaurant+Charcoal Pit, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
First and foremost, I hope you accept our sincerest (belated) apologies for waiting as long as you had for your food. We were facing some technical issues with our kitchen this weekend, compounded by the bank holiday rush, and I am sorry that this wasn't communicated to you at all or an apology offered at the time. Our team is looking into the issue which will hopefully be resolved very soon. Kind regards, Haz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would suggest coming to this resturant if you've got alot of time on your hands and your in no hurry to go any where as b it will take a very long time for you to get your food. It wasn't only us who had this problem as I could see and hear tables close to me complaining about the same thing. Food was good however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sana177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughli Restaurant+Charcoal Pit also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mughli Restaurant+Charcoal Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing