We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as ever”
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
Ranked #524 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Northwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As Good as ever”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

always a good night here , had good meals few times and love atmosphere and service and meet many genuine italian people here so its just an exceptional place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank intuitiv990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    85
    53
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible service, don't bother with this one.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Went last weekend with some family and oh my goodness. This is nothing like the Nottingham one. The young gentleman who took our order got most of it wrong, he could not handle what went wrong and at no point said sorry for his mistakes. It took asking six members of staff to get a glass of lemonade, and then we got it near the end of the meal. We had to wait ten minutes to pay, as the young lad sent most of the evening chatting at bar with friends. Staff sent more time cleaning a meat cutting machine than coming to sort out the problems at our table.
My advice if you are eating in Didsbury, forget here its terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Italian”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been here on a few occasions now with family, friends and business. Each time the restaurant has been full with everything from couples to large groups on an evening out, service has always been great and the food always fresh and well presented - portions are what i would expect for this type of restaurant they are just the right size to give you a taste of the dish, feel pleasantly satisfied rather than stuffed and allow conversation to continue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Piccolino - West Didsbury - Quality has dipped, portions smaller”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went on a Saturday evening early 7 o'clock sitting because it gets too noisy and you can't hear yourself talk. We have been 5 times before and this was the second time we have had a disappointing meal, but we always give a place a second chance, especially if the customer service deats with the matter well. This time there were a number of issues, we always order the same starter. Anti pasta misto for two. when it arrived the portions were smaller than usually for example a large mushroom on toasted bread with goats cheese on top with pesto and pine nuts. only one so, we had to cut it in half, its a starter for 2 so it should be two mushrooms. No Olives, only one salami meat, no parma ham, no sun dried tomatoes and the calamari was like rubber bands deep fried and completely tasteless. Four mini meat balls and two slices of mozzella cheese with two slices of tomatoe, with mushroom rice balls on peppers. Priced £15.95. I ordered Troffiette con pollo (Chicken pasta twist) Piccolino have changed the size of the plates Normally this dish has pasta, chargrilled chicken,carrots, sugar snaps brocholli and asparagus with a cheese sauce. The pasta was over cooked and slimy, only two pieces, of brocholli one was brown the other ok, the carrots and sugar snaps where over cooked. The chicken is normally sliced into nice portion and a good ratio to the dish. This time the chicken had a pre cooked taste to it, a soggy re- heated taste to it. Portion was small 5 pieces in total less than a half chicken fillet. No asparagus in the dish - £11.25. My husband ordered large prawn linguini. The pasta tasted very nice but portion very small 5 prawns and not much pasta £13.95. Waiter came to our table around 15 times to remove plates and empty glasses and to ask did we want more drinks. when he did come back to the table he stretched his arm across the table in front of our faces whilst we where in conversation. Found this very rude and when we had our coffee I had just finished when he started back to our table to remove the coffee cup that was empty for a mere second, so put my hand back on the cup to stop him taking it away. We just laughed about it, it was meant to be the two of us sat at our table instead it felt like a waiter was sat there with us. When we paid we were asked did we enjoyed the meal and we told the member of staff that the portions were smaller and the quality not up to standard. This did not go down well with this member of staff and he insisted that the missing items in the anti pasta, you would never get and that he has worked here for many years. So me and husband must be liars. There was no sorry and on this note this will be our last time, we will go to this Piccolino's. The front of house staff are very good and polite, as always.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dino2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
295 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“So much more pleasant than its sister in Hale”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Piccolino in West Didsbury is a pleasant Italian restaurant, clad in light wood and rather disconcerting mirrors. It has a pleasant atmosphere - not nearly as noisy as its sister restaurant in Hale to the South. The food is good, but beware of the fixed price menu - if it says steak and chips that is exactly what you get, with neither garnish nor other vegetables. Mine was crying out for a mushroom or tomato! The desserts are delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing