We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No. 4 Dine & Wine

No. 4 Dine & Wine
Ranked #115 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Didsbury
Description: No.4 Dine and Wine opened in 2005 and has gone from strength to strength with a huge amount of regular customers from Didsbury and surrounding areas.Still owned and managed by Paul & Nina Burton who take part in the day to day running of the restaurant with a small team of friendly loyal staff.Menus are seasonal using as many local suppliers as possible. All dishes are homemade including bread baked every day, desserts and their popular chocolate truffles served with coffee.Ideal for a relaxed meal whether popping in for an early dinner or a special occasion. Small parties can also be catered for.Friendly & efficient service with the chance to watch the chefs in the kitchen! Booking advisable but not always essential.
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy & classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is such a little gem of a restaurant hidden away in Didsbury. I've visited here several times as a large group of friends and a couple. The menu is really varied and does seem to offer something for everyone? On my last visit I chose vegetarian options despite being a meat eater and both the starter and main were very tasty. The staff are great, friendly and helpful and the owner is always welcoming on arrival. They also cater well for various diets are we're able to make gluten free pancakes on request. The atmosphere is cosy and the setting is classy. There is a good selection of wines and it is in a great location to follow the meal by a few local drinks. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMarie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    52
    19
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
358 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal for a while, in a quiet sort of way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Intended as a get-t-know-each-other meal, while enjoying good food and wine. Totally successful, will be back soon. They've asked us to come early because there would be a Xmas party. We agreed, and found it amazing how they attended to our fairly pernickety requirements and multiple questions; served the first two courses just in time to receive the large group upstairs, then we watched from our table (view to a kitchen always a good sign) in amazement how two chefs coped with a high quality meal for the group (after serving our beautiful soup, cheese souffles, rib-eye steak, fish, liver, cheese Wellington - all faultless). Finally they came back for our dessert orders when they had a breather - which was fine for us chatting guests. The total (with a nice Shiraz) came to £130 - considered reasonable for this quality of food and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing local "posh dinner"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

No 4 is excellent. Undoubtedly the best restaurant in Didsbury village. It's essential to book but well worth it. Not the cheapest restaurant but again worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tgarcez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and amazing Chocolate Truffles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a fantastic find, the food is amazing. The restaurant is not great looking, but the food certainly makes up for it. Great cheese board and the chocolate truffles were amazing. We were sat upstairs and found the service slow, and it was very quiet (lots of couples having romantic moments) and as a group of friends found it hard to relax, but once we were served a bottle of wine we were happy! I would like to try a table downstairs next time, the atmosphere was vibrant and buzzy downstairs and the open kitchen added to it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a great meal here, restaurant wasn't very busy although it was quite early and midweek. I imagine they get mostly couples here - it's well laid out and although a very small restaurant it felt intimate. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jshailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 4 Dine & Wine also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to No. 4 Dine & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing