We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jai Kathmandu

Jai Kathmandu
Ranked #480 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I went in their with my husband and daugter, we started with some roasted poppadums for us and the fried onces for our daughter, with the pickles, which was nice way to start, the roasted ones are lot nicer and tastier.Then we ordered lamb chops, aloo chillie, which is a specialist dish in their and very tasty, chips,a lamb curry, and a chapptis and rice, we shared all the food. But i had lamb curry before, but this curry tonite was tasty , but the meat was abit hard and chewy, so this spoilt for me, so didnt enjoy it as much, the rest of the food was fine, so would go in their again, price wise it abit dear!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sejal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
569 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Excellent flavour and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went here in our lunch hour from work, but we still had time for poppadums and a really tasty Jal Frezie. I had mine extra hot but it was still packed full of flavour which you only get from using the best ingredients and years of experience. Excellent service, good price, if I don't get sacked for falling asleep at my desk all afternoon, we'll be back ! Full and happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as use to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This use to be regularly visited for its original sag and nan. A recent visit after many years was disappointing. The food is not as it use to be and left disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neena1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Been going to the Jai now for a lot of years. Beats most other Indian restaurants into a cocked hat. Food is always consistent, service very good. Nothing in Rusholme comes remotely close. Always busy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeydripping2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We returned here after a 10 year absence, nothing much has changed. The decor is very tired but the food makes up for the short comings. The curries were really nice and spicy and the rice delicious with crispy fried onions on top. Not a big fan of Keema naans but this was the best I have ever tasted. The wine selection was not the best but priced reasonably. The waiter was a delight and part of the slightly eccentric experience. All in all a good experience and hope we can return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieM32F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jai Kathmandu also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Jai Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing