We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jai Kathmandu

Jai Kathmandu
Ranked #498 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Never fails to impress, family run always polite, great food been going for many years. Long may it continue.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roburmston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How do they pack so much flavour into every dish?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I really am not sure why I should tell you about this restaurant - after all we still want to get a seat! Firstly we have to drive 10 miles to get here but it is worth it (and it is near the motorway), I have rarely experienced Asian food with so much character and flavour. The special starter for two is a mini feast that will delight your taste buds, the garlic chilli chicken will leave you wanting more and the curries though not large portions leave you full as they are crammed with flavour. One visit is surely not enough. Try the egg pilau rice for a change, you won't regret it! Prices are average so allow about £20 each. The interior is clean and a little dated but service is very good as is the atmosphere. Most times you can park for free opposite the restaurant and there are other restaurants and bars nearby giving the area a bit of a buzz, but don't take my word for it, see you there....!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with really tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visited this restaurant last night and thoroughly enjoyed my meal. When I asked the waiter to explain the content of one of the dishes he went above and beyond to help me. Thankfully I went with his recommendation of 'chilli chicken' for starter which was absolutely delicious. Our main courses were equally lovely, with the meal being very reasonably priced. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone, very good food and excellent welcoming service, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
569 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went for lunch before an afternoon flight, and we'd already scoured the Curry Mile for a restaurant that we coudl sit in which served curries, and given up. We'd eaten at the Jai Kathmandu before, so when it looked open, we knocked on the door, and were welcomed in.

We ate Paneer and Chicken Vindaloo, which was really rich and flavoursome, and assorted papadums, dips, starters and rice, all of which was steaming hot and tasty. The service was excellent, everything was clean adn tidy, the decor just a little dated. We'd definitely go back and try more if we were in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Had a great meal here the other night, good service, lots of tasty dishes. It's clearly well known in the Indian community too, the place was packed on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jai Kathmandu also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Jai Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing