We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Star no way!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“4 Star no way!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

I booked a double room at this hotel, which was on a bed and breakfast basis, all confirmed, and upon arrival, the receptionist confirmed this also.

On the second morning, we were presented with a bill for £30 for breakfast, and told "you are on a room only booking" when I challenged this, a restaurant manager appeared, and told me I was wrong! A system error had occured!

She then reappeared five minutes later, to confirm that, indeed I was right, and my charge was incorrect. The restaurant was full, and we were made to feel like criminals!

On the final morning of our stay, we received an early morning call at 6am, I was told by reception, that no call had been made to the room at that time.

I complained via e-mail to the company, and I received many responses from the General Manager, who in my opinion, needs many lessons in customer service, no idea how to respond to complaints, except to give me a lot of crap that was irrelivant to my situation. Virtually called a liar about the early morning call, but then said that he had investigated further, and a call to the room had in fact been made.

Normally for poor service, you would expect some form of recompense, not from this hotel!

Sad situation to have to post this report on a four star hotel, and I would never stay there again, almost like negotiating, if you complain!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Resident Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thankyou once again for your feedback. My impression was that you were content with the reply that I sent you months ago.

As you know I did make further investigations to find the source of the 'rogue' early call that was made to your room and took the time to update you as my view was that it was absolutely vital that you were made aware of who had made it and why.

Once again please accept my apologies to your Partner and Yourself

Kind Regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland Hotel
Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,662
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

stayed for 2 nights with my 10 year old daughter for a christmas break and a miley cyrus concert. hotel is truly grand to look at. some of the rooms do need updating but our was fine. the staff were fantastic and always on hand to help. they even provided us with cutlery to eat our chinese take away in our room!
the pool was nice and quiet and the jacuzzi was great!
overall we both had a very enjoyable stay.

we had breakfast at the hotel and didnt queue but we did go early. the breakfast was lovely with so much choice! they staff were attentive and quick with coffee etc.

tip for single parents - try superbreak for bookings. we booked and i only paid half price for my daughter. got the 2 nights for £150. it was £200 everywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheadle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

One of Manchester's historic landmarks which makes a change from bland modern 4 star hotels. I travel a lot on business and am pretty intolerant of any shortfall in service cleanliness or efficiency, but the Midland was faultless in all these areas. The restaurant was excellent: I do not eat meat and usually the vegetarian option in most hotels leaves much to be desired - certainly not the the case here. My only criticism would be the window in the bedroom which was firmly screwed shut - infuriating for those of us who like fresh air at night. Otherwise, a highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjr1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, due to health and safety we are unable to open certain windows , but again thank you so much for your review .

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at the Midland Hotel on a Saturday night..Check in was fast and easy. We had a standard rom and I was surprised at how small it was. We asked for a quiet room and we got what we asked for. The room was overlooking the courtyard, facing inwards. The room was perfectly clean however I felt that the blanket and bed cover looked a bit grubby. We needed another chair as I was there to help my son who is at Manchester University prepare for his practical exams, however it took over an hour for the chair to arrive. It wasn't a big problem as my son sat on the luggage rack!
The location is great, near to lots of restaurants, We ate out in the evening and then came back for desert in the foyer of the hotel. There was someone playing a grand piano and the atmosphere was great. It was very relaxing and the highlight of our stay.
We had breakfast (£15.00 per person) and the service was excellent. I would have liked some more choice of ready prepared fresh fruit. The only one available was melon, strawberries, grapes and fruit salad would have been nice.
We enjoyed our stay as the decor is very elegant and one found oneself wondering how grand it must have been when it was first built.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shining-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We visited to take advantage of the Telegraph Alice in Wonderland Afternoon tea, as I had already planned to visit my daughter at university. I phoned in advance to check if I could use my vouchers on the Monday, as it was a bank holiday. I was told that it was but they were fully booked. Then when I was unable to come any other time, magically a slot appeared! Communication about the booking had been difficult because of the language skills of staff at the hotel, but all seemed in order.

We arrived on the day to be bustled off to the side by the same woman who had taken the booking, saying the vouchers were not valid, but she would sort it out. The room was practically empty apart from a large female family party. It was embarassing to be treated like this, and spoiled the atmosphere. The staff member denied that she might have misunderstood on the telephone. She personally brought our tea, which was pleasant, although the uninvited glasses of sweet sherry a surprise.

The final giveaway was when a waiter went to pass our plate of cakes onto the table, and asked us if we had eaten any already, as there should have been more on the plate. Clearly we had not, and 2 each seemed sufficient if not generous. However, again we were left feeling like inferior customers.

It is quite disgusting, and ill advised for hotels to behave in this way with offers. It smacks of meanness. I had considered this as a possible venue for a graduation lunch or dinner next year. However, the Alice in Wonderland tea leads me to believe that this is not an experience we will be seeking to repeat. Perhaps the rest of the hotel is better, but stingy service is not attractive, especially in a city where generosity is the order of the day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me earlier today, I would, once again, like to offer my sincere apologies for your recent experience but I am pleased that we have been able to resolve the matter.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards


Paul bayliss MBE
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed only one night in this hotel, but it was enough to show the excellent value of the stay. Centrally located, and with a great business suite available, it is a higly recommended hotel if you are looking to hold any business function, with top class staff through-out.

Rooms are large and spacious, shower and bathroom area is larger than usual, however the bed was a little old and so the spring had more or less given way. All in all it was a very comfortable stay, with zero noise coming from anywhere.

All in all this is a very nice hotel and I would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We recently spent a Friday night at this hotel. Check-in was quick and efficient. The receptionist gave us details of the hotel's facilities, asked if we would like to make a dinner reservation, gave us the times of breakfast and told us the restaurant in which breakfast would be served. All in all the check-in was exactly what you would hope for in a four star city centre hotel.
We had booked a "standard" room and found this was more than adequate for our purpose. Whilst not overly large, it was well furnished and appointed - with more than sufficient wardrobe space.
We had arranged to meet friends at around 6.45 p.m. and had hoped to have drinks in the lounge/bar area; however, even at this time all seats were taken. As another reviewer has noted there are lots of hotels and bars in the area and so we wnt to the bar of the Radisson Hotel - a good choice for pre-dinner drinks.
The Midland was full the night of our stay and so the breakfast restaurant was crowded and the staff under presure, however, the staff coped well and we found the breakfast selection well presented and of a good quality.
We found the Midland a good place for an overnight stay and ideally located for those wanting to explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inmigrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing