We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service. Shame about the mattress”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed for one night at The Midland as we had tickets for a concert and wanted to make a night of it. The location if perfect - we were a couple of yards from the tram and walking distance to the city centre. Check in was easy and the room we were allocated was a good size. We stayed for a drink in the bar and despite the fact that the hotel was absolutely full with various Christmas functions going on the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was fabulous - a great choice and plenty of it. The only downside was the mattress in our room. It was impossble to sleep comfortably. There were two definite dips on both sides of the mattress which you could not avoid rolling into. As it was only for one night we did not mind so much. If you were staying for longer you could end up with back ache. Apart from that it was great

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italyfanaticCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,779 - 4,785 of 5,109 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

We usually stay in other hotels when visiting Manchester but I booked this hotel to celebrate our 6th Wedding Anniversary and be a surprise for my wife.

I rang and emailed the hotel beforehand in the hope everything would run smoothly and it was perfect.

From the moment you arrive at this impressive hotel, you are treated extremely well. The staff on reception are smartly turned out and nothing is too much trouble.

The reception lobby had 2 huge xmas trees beautifully decorated.

The hotel upgraded us to a fantastic room on the 6th floor which was probably one of the superior rooms as it was our wedding anniversary. The bathroom was very big and impressively decorated.

The Lounge bar had plenty of easy chairs/sofas with waiters on hand to order your drinks from the bar. The drinks are very expensive though with a Baileys or Barcadi setting you back £6.50 each. A pint of guinness will cost you £3.95. There is also a 10% bar surcharge put on your drinks bill.

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and food very hot. The chef was on hand to ensure food was replenished fresh all the time.

Overall this has changed our opinion on where to stay in Manchester in the future and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysTravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Hi

I travel regularly with work and hate hotels to be honest given the fact that I seem to spend most of my working life there so its with some Trepidation that I wander through the doors of any new establishment as I wait the inevitable drury reception and dreadful breakfasts. My first visit to the midland was in september and I have been back there on numerous occasions since. Overall I feel the experience was positive but I do think they could make some improvements:
* On the only occasion that I dined in the hotel I would rate the quality of the food as medicore, I had a burger and chips which wasnt up to scratch and to be honest I had trouble digesting. Two of my colleauges had a caesar salad which only contained chicken, lettuce and dressing. I am not a chef but arent there sapposed to be 7 ingredients on a caesar salad. Complaints about this salad seemed to fall on deaf ears with varying reports from wandering waiters about the correct approach.
* The breakfast wasnt great either and I now tend to avoid it.

* the staff are nice and the atmosphere is always appealing
* The rooms are always of a high standard but the quality of the channel selection leaves much to be desired

This may seem petty but with the quality of other hotels of such a high standard - radisson - they could up their game a bit...

nonetheless I will be back for more...

Silverfox out

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSilverFoxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, Guestservices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

Thank you for raising your concern, I am sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you.


Neil Butler

Guest services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for our wedding night, the hotel is fantastic, the staff are polite and helpful, breakfast was fresh and hot, we had the wedding reception in the hotel and both our families were amazed at how grand the hotel is and the Christmas decorations were WOW!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your experience at The Midland was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My last stay at the Midland was about 30 years ago and my memory of it was that it was a gloomy place with corridors that reminded me of The Shining. But all has changed - when I arrived at tea time two days ago, two enormous Christmas trees filled the hall and there was a lovely atmosphere as people were tucking into afternoon tea. A nice welcome, helpful staff. Good sized and comfortable room - a fitness centre and a little swimming pool in the lower ground level. We were a little disappointed that the French restaurant wasn't open so went out to eat in the evening. A good breakfast the next day and overall an enjoyable stay. My bill was paid for me and I don''t know how much it cost - so my grading for value is an averaging of the overall score.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed here for a friends wedding and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly across the board from reception to room service to bar service.
We don't often get to Manchester but we agreed after this stay it would be worth a special trip just to have another night at this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumblingbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Splendid hotel, I was there on business so also used the conference facilities, the room for the course was too cold though and although we asked staff to sort it out they seemed rather too busy with large groups in the hotel to give it attention. It is a beautiful looking building with a great history. My room was lovely, wonderful soundproofing too. Most comfy bed I have ever slept in to be honest. A nice sized room too and a good bathroom. I ate at the restaurant and the staff were very attentive, food was excellent but the wine was a silly price. I thought the free bus from the station was also good, well done Manchester for this.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilbutler, guest sevices manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2009

Thank you for your feedback we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.
We will pass on your thanks to robert.

Yours faithfully


Neil Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,368 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $122 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing