We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building right next to the train station. Excellent gym, sauna and small pool.

We didn't eat so I can't comment on the food.

Rooms are a little tired and our superior room @ £130 room only felt a little steep. Overall though a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JGoldsbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear JGoldsbrough,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I will pass your kind compliments onto our Leisure Club team who I know will be pleased that their hard work has been noted.

I will also pass your feedback onto the housekeeping and maintenance management so that they can make improvements in their departments where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,755
    1,387
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
661
1,942
166
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, we had the valet parking at an extra £25. As you walk into the reception you are met by the grandeur of the place. The reception staff were very efficient and pleasant, booked at standard room but she told us we had been upgraded (nice surprise)

We were on the second floor, when we opened the door both of us said wow. Our upgrade was to a suite, the room was bigger than my house lol. We had 2 double in it, sofas, chairs etc. everything was immaculately clean.

The only downside was when we went for a drink downstairs, the waitress saw us but in the whole 10 mins we were sat there she never came over to ask us did we want anything. The prices are rather inflated as a 125ml glass of wine was £6.10 ish

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hltlisa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Hltlisa06,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm so pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourselves at the hotel and your upgrade.

I will certainly pass your constructive feedback onto our lounge managers so that they can address your concerns with their team.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had our wedding reception at The Midland on March 23rd last year and decided to go back for a stay to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We weren't disappointed in the slightest! We were given a beautiful room, with a congratulations card inside, which was a lovely touch. Our stay was wonderful, staff helpful and friendly, room service very fast and efficient. We also had one of the best breakfasts ever in Mr Coopers house and garden. I'd recommend it to anyone! Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor, was very quiet, slept really well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigshop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear bigshop S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your return stay and that you decided to join us for such a special occasion.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for many more anniversary visits in the years to come!

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We treated ourselves and our in laws for their 50th wedding anniversary for a weekend stay at The Midland and it was fantastic. We would definitely stay again. One tip though is if you are planning to eat at The French restaurant is to book in advance. We didn't realise and tried to get a table for the Friday night but sadly it was booked up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear LeighPhil,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland for such a special occasion. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the weekend with us so much and would stay with us again.

I hope we can welcome you and your family back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the Midland on the 6th floor having asked for a quiet room. A good room with all the facilities you would expect, clean and tidy. I understand the safety issues but it would be ideal if windows would open, even a little bit so as to let some fresh air into the room.
Breakfast, what can I say. I have stayed at the Midland for many years, as far back to when it was a Crowne Plaza and this is the first time that the breakfast has been a 'bun fight'. It is a continental breakfast with a very limited selection that is advertised as a "Midland Breakfast" as if it is something special, sorry but it is not. The staff as usual are trying their best under very trying and cramped conditions. The line of people wanting to use the one toaster mingled into the one wanting the limited cereals etc caused confusion. To get toast that wasn't just warm bread necessitated it being put through twice which again caused unnecessary delay. Not enough tables although they have been crammed in so eating in the outer room on low tables was the only option for many.
It might be a good economic idea to have a separate restaurant offering a cooked breakfast at an inflated extra cost but not a good idea for guests. How much does it cost to offer a decent breakfast ? To be blatantly honest the free breakfast at a Holiday Inn Express is superior to the continental on offer at the Midland.
It is o.k. for Mr Rogan to come 'Up North' to show the peasants how food should be served and a fortune made in the process but I think the management will regret it in the long term. Upon checking in I was offered a half price breakfast in Mr Coopers so perhaps it isn't doing so well. There was clearly a lot more space for guests than in the general dining area that to overspill into the foyer.
Please don't let this review stop you from staying at the Midland because in general it is a good hotel. Just a few issues spoil what could be the best hotel in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Clive S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Midland. It's great to read that you were pleased with your room and the facilities available however I am concerned to read that you found the continental breakfast so detrimental to your enjoyment of your stay.

I will certainly pass your comments onto our breakfast team and ensure that they make improvements where necessary.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a lovely building which has been well maintained. The reception area is quite magnificent and very grand. It's a great location, right in the city centre and handy for all local attractions.

My room was not the largest I've ever had in a hotel, but was a reasonable size (if an odd, long shape) and well decorated. The bathroom was quite large and perhaps did have a heated mirror, because I didn't need to keep wiping it to shave after a shower. The taps in the bath / shower were a bit strange and I found turning off the shower usually turned on the bath!

There was no view, the windows looked into a small space between rooms, but at least that meant no road noise. Annoyingly the windows wouldn't open for "health and safety reasons" even though there was no drop to the ground. I prefer to sleep with the window open in hotels and don't sleep as well with air con whirring in the background. Another annoyance, which I've noticed in other hotels as well, was that the room door was not a good fit and let in light around the frame. This also affects my ability to get a good nights sleep - why can't hotels at least dim corridor lights overnight?

The wifi in the room was complementary, but pretty poor. It was hard to maintain a reasonable connection for any length of time. In the end I reverted to using my phone as a hotspot because the hotel wifi really wasn't up to the job.

The main reason why I rated this as only average was the breakfast, which was terrible. I was with a group and we had to breakfast outside the main restaurant. The food was lukewarm and not very appetising. The hotel couldn't provide all the food that was available in the restaurant because the kitchen was "too far away". Complaints did eventually lead to boiled eggs and bread rolls being brought to te breakfast room, but this also entailed a long wait.

The staff were generally good and tried to help with the breakfast problems, but this didn't really offset the fact that this is an expensive hotel and breakfast really should have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear DickBurton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you were impressed with the hotel reception and the decor employed in your guest room.

I am disappointed, however, to note that you did not feel some aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations and I will pass your concerns onto the relevant teams so that they can address them where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon so that we can demonstrate the fantastic standards of product and service for which The Midland is famous.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Reception is beautiful and smells divine.

Stayed for two nights, we had room 251.

Room well-appointed and an intriguing ironing board cupboard. However woken at 3am by our neighbours chatting, nothing outrageous but the walls are too thin and maybe the beds were not arranged optimally to offset room-to-room noise. I am not a light sleeper. Did tell Reception so perhaps this will change.

Used the bar - ok, but a bit lacking in atmosphere. The pool and Jacuzzi were ok for a quick relaxing plunge but not appropriate if you wanted exercise - the gym is quite well equipped though.

Concierge helpful but not too successful in getting dinner reservations if you haven't already booked in advance.

Dinner in Mr Cooper's was enjoyable, interesting design, staff were charming and food delicious if not always as per the menu description.

Overall a bit disappointed as didn't live up to expectations (perhaps we were just too tired....).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 251 and 254.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear SJC900,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read that you found your room well appointed but I'm sorry that your experience during your night did not live up to your expectations.

I will pass your constructive feedback onto the relevant teams who I know will improve in the areas you highlighted where possible.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing