We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights as we were attending a wedding, the staff were brilliant and I can't fault it, perhaps a little expensive for drinks etc., but on the whole very good.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear ValH1955,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding the staff here are much appreciated - I know everybody is always pleased when their hard work is noticed.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    1,352
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
634
1,875
161
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend with my mither who has poor mobility. Staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful, which made it a whole lot easier. Very attractive room at a very reasonable rate. Happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori_Willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear lwarren18,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that our attentive staff were able to help to make your trip easier.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in November to do some shopping at the Christmas markets and to see War Horse at The Lowry. Hotel is very central, close to St Peters Square (tram links) and about 5-10 min walk to Deansgate. Upon checking in we asked for quiet rooms away from the lifts and I especially asked to be in a room away from trams as they toot their horns every couple of seconds. I was reassured that there would be no tram noise - NOT THE CASE!! Till gone midnight and then again from about 6am it was almost constant tram noise. I asked if I could mov rooms but was told there was none available.

My room felt very dark and squashed, however my friend on the opposite corridor had a light airy room. I have to admit the room and bathroom was spotless with a good selection of toiletries and tea/coffee/biscuits etc. I do think if 2 people in (it was a double) then it would have been very cramped.

Breakfast was good and plenty of it.

The major drawback of this hotel is they cater for large conference parties, several of which arrived on the Thursday morning, they very, very loud, got preferential treatment in the bar (a group of 8 arrived after us in the bar on Thurs, but drinks orders taken immediately, we had to wait almost 15 mins).

We booked this Hotel in their Winter sale and therefore got a good rate, I don't think it is worth the price they normally charge.

Room Tip: Probably impossible but check if they have conference bookings in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirazMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear ShirazMerlot,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations and ask if you would be able to contact me directly on 0161 932 4127 or at tsmith@qhotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night in November with 5 work colleagues.

This is a good city centre hotel, with nice airy rooms and comfortable beds. The hotel looks impressive from the outside and reception has plenty of desks, check in was OK, but check out took a bit longer than I would have hoped.

We didn't eat here as it was a bit expensive, as were the drinks in the bar, however there are plenty of pubs and eating places nearby and we used a few of these !

Breakfast was buffet style and with a large hotel you just had to time it right to make sure it was not too crowded to let you get a good plateful in one go.

Overall we got a good price, a good location, nice room and we will book this one again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear CRose8,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased that you found the Midland to be a good city centre hotel, and it's great to read that our location suited you and your colleagues during your trip.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our first visit to The Midland, and our appointed room was somewhat of a disappointment. The room stank of damp or mildew. The air-conditioning unit sounded as if someone had left an empty tin can next to the fan. The bathroom tiles were missing grout.
We returned to reception, and got another room, which was better.
Thats if you like beige.
The walls were beige, the carpet was beige, the bed covers were beige.
We left our room, the staff were dressed in beige, again the walls and carpets were beige!!!!
The Midland is in an ideal location, well situated in the centre of town, but situated well away from the car park.
The public rooms were ok and quite spectacular, the bar was expensive and adequate. I had to wait twenty minutes, while all the wedding guests got their drinks. Why is there no waiter service?
Breakfast again was ok, but nothing to write home about.
All in all, The Midland was rather like the colour beige..............very boring!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear YosemitePaul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm sorry that the decor in your room was not to your taste - I will also speak with the managers of all departments to ensure that their teams are wearing the correct clothing as none of our uniforms are beige - in fact most are purple or black in colour.

I'm sorry that you found the car park too far from the hotel; we do have a valet parking service operated by our Concierge team which is available to guests at £25.00 for 24 hours.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon so that we can have the opportunity to improve your opinion of The Midland.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent 2 nights B and B at The Midland. Really nice Hotel with no problems whatsoever! Good location for shops etc. Breakfast was a really nice buffet, with a great selection! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jan H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments will be much appreciated by the team here - I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the position of the hotel suited your visit.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I am a regular stayer at the midland - was there for 2 weeks in November and also last week for 6 days.

The staff at the hotel make the difference for me - always helpful - i had to get an extra night on both recent trips and the reception staff were very good and attentive - thanks to Chloe and Ramona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Joseph K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I am very pleased to read how helpful and attentive you have found our Reception staff during your recent visits - I will congratulate them myself later today.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing