We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Up To Its Reputation”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and is was excellent. Got a quiet, inward facing room on the fifth floor which made a superb base to explore manchester; the room had everything you could need, was quiet and was really comfortable.

The staff are very helpful and friendly - not stuffy at all; breakfast is great and is on till 11. This worked well as we went for walks round town and ate mid morning - no need for lunch! The location is perfect and, although we didn't use it, the valet parking is good value at £25 per night. We stay in manchester loads but have never stayed at The Midland before; if we can get a similar deal next time, we definitely will again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Off their P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed you visit to Manchester and that our weekend breakfast times suited your plans. I'm sure the team here will be pleased by your comments describing them as very helpful and friendly.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,190 - 3,196 of 5,252 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After searching last minute for nice looking hotels in a good location for the Christmas market I decided to book the Midland, great welcome from concierge, we arrive 30 minutes early but they were happy to find a room for us. We booked a standard room, nicely surprised, good size, really comfy bed, bath was a little on the small side but shower was great!The only down side was the noise from the trams, we were situated opposite a main tram stop and you could feel the rumbling and vibrations in the room! We only stayed one night and spent very little time in the room so this was not too much of an issue. We were unable to book into The French for dinner as this was fully booked (Note to self to be a bit more organised!) so ate at Mr Coopers House and Garden, also situated in The Midland, had a thoroughly enjoyable three courses and the cocktails are a must! Would stay again if in Manchester.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Foodie F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding the service you received from our front of house team are much appreciated. I'm sorry that you weren't able to experience the delights of the French - I hope the team there can welcome you on your next visit.

It's great, however, to read how much you enjoyed Mr. Cooper's House & Garden (and their cocktail selection!)

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our return visit to The Midland was as good as we had expereinced on our previous trips. The service is second to none as soon as you get out of the taxi - the doorman is charming, the receptionist are very efficient, the Guest Relations manager [Thomas] was so welcoming and efficient, the waitresses were good, the concierge very knowledgeable, the room was immaculate - not much else to say- I think I've praised the whole staff!! A lovely two night stay .........and Black Sabbath were AWESOME!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I have already passed your kind comments onto the whole team here and I am pleased to have been able to personally help you during your stay.

It's great to read how much you enjoyed your visit and especially the Black Sabbath concert - I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Midland was a very smart and impressive hotel but what really impressed me were the staff.
All of them were helpful and attentive and very friendly. Being heavily pregnant, nothing was too much trouble and each person showed a genuine interest in talking to me about the impending new arrival!
On my return when I realised I had forgotten something in my room, this has been sorted without fuss and easily.
The room was clean, comfy and well decorated.
The food was excellent.
Overall a great place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Claire C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were by your room, food and the service you received. Good luck with the new arrival!

I hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We bought the Xmas shopping special upgrade to a suite ,wine chocolate and a fifty pound voucher for £240 , not too shabby
The first issue is they don't answer the phones externally or internally for a long time they charged us £25 to valet the car so I would recommend you park it yourself
The suite was generally ok two single beds pushed together two big rooms just the bathroom was disappointing very small shower over bath few things missing hand lotion close up mirror ..
The hotel itself is a marvellous building lots going on feels like a conference hotel staff is variable many very good some less so. Dining is good
The French is first class and Mr Cooper is reasonable
The bar lounge area is fine but lacking in any life the night we stayed could have done with live music
Overall average excepting The French

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Dave381381,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit to the French, I'm sorry that you didn't feel some of the rest of the hotel lived up to your expectations - I will pass your observations onto the relevant departments who I'm sure will make improvements where necessary.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay here for one night on 14/12/12. From check in to check out our stay was lovely.
We received a very warm welcome. Our room was spotless and meet all out needs. We ordered breakfast to our room which came on time and was delicious there was not to much food nor too little on your plate it was just right.

We will certainly be staying again in the future.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellyphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Kellyphoebe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding the warm welcome you received, how pleased you were with the room and how tasty your room service breakfast was are much appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#46 of 120 in Manchester
4,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#19 of 120 in Manchester
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $125 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing