We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at The Midland and for the 2nd time we had a wonderful stay. Easy check in, helpful and friendly staff and a very nice room with a comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and plenty of choice. We stayed for the Christmas markets which are very good and very close to the hotel. Overall a very good stay and would go back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear loz626,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed your second stay with us and that the location of the hotel suited your exploration of Manchester's famous Christmas Markets.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,760
    1,388
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
662
1,942
166
1,184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have been staying at the Midland one or two nights most weeks for the past year on business. The experience is always superb. Check-in is efficient (especially if you join the queue-jump which means your card is ready in an envelope which they just hand over), room service is prompt and the rooms are always really well presented and maintained during your stay. To top it all off, this week there was a hand-written Xmas card and a bottle of wine waiting for me in my room (I'm guessing they do this for their regular customers, but gestures like this go a long way). I anticipate contunuing to need to travel to Manchester every week for the next 12-18 months and the Midland will continue to be my first-choice of places to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Chris G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how consistently great you have found the hotel and the service we offer - I hope you will enjoy your bottle of wine over the festive period and think of it as a thank you for your continued patronage of The Midland.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during December to attend the theatre and Christmas Markets, hotel was in perfect location for both! Room was spotless clean and very comfortable! Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice! The hotel had a lovely Christmassy feel with a fabulous Christmas tree and smelt gorgeous as you walked into reception.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear joholidayManchester,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit to Manchester and found the hotel's location convenient for your purposes. I will pass on your compliments regarding the cleanliness to our Head Housekeeper and hope you will come to visit us again (before next Christmas!)

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have an annual sportmans dinner in Manchester each Christmas and for past 3 years my partner and little girl join me but not for the Sportmans dinner. We return to the Midland each year as the rooms are clean, tidy and spacious. My little girl loves the facilities and the pool. It is satisfying to know that as i am having a tough time my girls are having a great time. One of the main reasons we return each year is the staff. They are warm and friendly throughout especially on reception where nothing is too much trouble. Just the little things like staff delivering complimentary warm milk for our little girl at night means it makes it easier all around for us. I never make breakfast but I am told it is pleasant and plentiful.
We will be back next year but have decided to book a additional weekend city break at the Midland so I can actually enjoy the facilities this time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGNGNGNGNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear NGNGNGNGNG,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I'm pleased to note that you have found the service across the hotel consistent throughout your several visits.

It's great to read that you'll be able to enjoy yourself more on your next weekend visit - I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Midland hotel Services amazing Loving the new the cocktail bar Don't even have to go out of the hotel to have a good night Excellent food Especially the breakfast plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noz174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Noz174,

Thank you for taking the time to write another excellent review of your stay at The Midland. It's great that you have found our service so consistent and I will pass your compliments onto the team at Mr. Cooper's House & Garden.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the Christmas Markets & Arndale Centre. The hotel is ideally located - we went by train and from Piccadilly Stn just a very short tram ride on the excellent Metro link took us almost to the foyer entrance ! Everything thereafter was within very easy walking distance for all our needs.
The hotel ? Superb entrance, very pleasant & helpful staff, and our "Superior" room was clean, spacious and well furnished, although to be honest, have stayed in more luxurious surroundings .
The breakfast was not as good as others have said, in our opinion, being lukewarm, and the area around the buffet food warmers was messy from serving spoon deposits spilling onto the table cloths - the food was edible, but not up to the expected standard for such a prestigious hotel.
In summary, a glorious building rich in heritage, superb staff at all levels, in a splendid location, but better quality and presentation of breakfast would enhance the experience further.
JKW

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear JKW11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read some great comments regarding the hotel facilities., staff and location.

I'm sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations and I will pass your observations onto Jose, our Breakfast Manager so that he can make improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Have stayed a couple of times here now, and have been impressed on both occasions. Check-in is always cheerful and efficient, Jennifer being our recent receptionist. On this occasion our room was on the mezzanine level, which was great as it was very accessible for the cocktail lounge!!! The room was very clean with a superbly comfortable bed, great big screen TV and a a nicely appointed bathroom with complimentary toiletries. A slight niggle would be that our window was high set and difficult to see out of, but nothing to really worry about. Breakfast was excellent, a great choice of food served buffet style, and this is the only place I have ever stayed where you only need to put your bread in the toaster for one pass!!! I was particularly pleased that there was a little shelf that had lots of different condiments on it, including my favourite Tabasco sauce, which I liberally sprinkled over my very freshly-scrambled eggs! It is not often that I have seen this attention to detail for breakfast offered, so full marks! We both so enjoyed our breakfast that we thought an extra slice of toast in order, so as we left together to play with the machine (!) our table was cleared when we returned!! The staff were terribly apologetic and the table was immediately relaid and fresh coffee delivered, we saw the funny side and mention it only to highlight the efficient and attentive service! Enjoying cocktails in evening was great fun as the hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. For a very pleasant stay in a hotel that is in the heart of all that Manchester has to offer, the Midland is impressive, and we will definitely stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Mezzanine level is so handy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Babelishuss,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding your most recent stay are much appreciated - I'm pleased that, despite a mistake during breakfast, our team were able to make your stay as smooth as possible, and rectified that particular issue to your satisfaction.

I will also pass your compliments onto Jennifer for her friendly welcome - I hope to welcome you back to the hotel myself soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing