We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“style and substance with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“style and substance with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

my partner and i stayed for a long weekend, amazing foyer on arrival, room to die for ! ate in the french on first night, sensational and sublime if a little expensive but it was a special treat, next night we ate in the new restaurant mr coopers house and garden, it was packed, not surprising as cocktails to die for, (try the absinthe fountain) and food every bit as good as the french but at 1/3 the price. service great, breakfast very busy on both days but staff were great, proper local feel to their team and very chatty if a little rushed off their feet ! all in all a fab hotel with amazing ambiance/history at every turn with a splash of modern touches, we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilysarah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear emilysarah6,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your compliments are very much appriciated and I'm pleased that you enjoyed both of our new restaurants during your visit.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,662
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel several times and it has recently had a restaurant makeover with staff in new uniforms. Very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff. Good breakfast selection and even cope quite well when the hotel is very busy. However had to wait a bit for poached egg on the third morning - order seemed to have got lost - but worth waiting for!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 200Elaine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm very pleased to read your comments describing The Midland as a "Very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff."

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I just wanted to thank the staff at the MIdland Hotel for yet another fantastic stay, this is our third time there and we have just returned from a weekend break visiting the Christmas markets, from the reception staff to the restaurant staff to the room staff they were all lovely and very welcoming, the rooms were spotless and a lovely base for our stay. We also tried the new FRench REstaurant this time which was superb its clear to see why it's award winning!!! Everything was just perfect and we shall most certainly be returning and we always recommend it to our friends. And although all the staff were amazing we would like to say a special thanks to the lady on reception (who's name escapes me) but went out of her way to help us and also the man in restaurant at breakfast who I think may have been a manager but came over and chatted to us and made a special effort with our children, we noticed he went over to many tables to chat to guests, it's a nice little touch that made people feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble, when I'm sure he had lots of other work to be doing! Many thank MIdland HOtel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Teresa W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding your most recent stay are very much appriciated and I know the team here will be pleased that their hard work has been recognised.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my 7th stay at The Midland and again, as always, it was a fantastic experience. Great room, great food, great service. I'll be going back again soon! Love the new restaurant layout and decor!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear LeeStoker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself as always and that you're taken with the re-design of The Colony to Mr. Cooper's House & Garden.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Brilliant location, we were able to take in the Christmas markets and the theatre at a stroll. The hotel was spotless and spacious and lacked nothing for our needs. The staff were excellent. A good hearty breakfast was served to set up the day :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear toby1891,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments are much appriciated - I'm pleased to read that you thought our staff were excellent and the hotel was spotless.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Midland for a night with my husband as we were in Manchester to watch the AJ Bell World Squash Championships at Manchester Central.

The Midland has the perfect location for events at Manchester Central as you walk out of the back entrance of the hotel to see Manchester Central right in front of you! The hotel is also very centrally located, so you can walk to bars, restaurants and shops.

The hotel is a beautiful historical building - the kind you photograph as you walk around the city. On the inside, it is nicely decorated with a spacious reception. Rooms are very comfortable and well furnished (I particularly liked the desk cum dressing table). Bathrooms are well finished and very clean, and have nice toiletries.

All the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet which was included in our stay is very good. We even got to see a couple of the squash players at breakfast, so The Midland is a good place to spot sports personalities if you're going for a sports event at Manchester Central as it's a convenient hotel for the competitors to stay.

Overall, The Midland was a great hotel for our event at Manchester Central. But rather than resting it's laurels on location alone, it delivered more by way of service and comfort. And all at a very reasonable price. I'd definitely stay here if I go back to Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Pokkstar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I'm pleased that our location was well suited to your trip. I must say our desk/dressing tables are my favourite bedroom furniture too!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for xmas shopping . Lovely grand entrance . Check in was fast and efficient .rooms are spacious and clean .Loved the room décor (very interesting ). Had an evening meal in the restaurant .It was lovely and the service was good . It is excellently located for Manchester city centre. Breakfast was good plenty to eat and a good choice . No problems at all . Would definitely stay again .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44an0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 44an0n,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your fantastic comments regarding the check-in and restaurant service you received and I will pass your compliments regarding your room onto our Housekeeping team.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing