We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at The Midland in a Midland Suite!”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at The Midland in a Midland Suite!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Built before the age of the car, the Midland Hotel is still the number one in Manchester, if not G.B. Historic, iconic, friendly and very good value when you include a show with your stay on Superbreak or similar. Staff are all first class and helpful, and have already began to save up for our next trip. Next time you are in Manchester , bob in for a tea or something stronger and have a look around, you will be impressed!

Room Tip: Ask for a Midland suite facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gedoflittlelever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Gedoflittlelever,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your description of the hotel as "Historic, iconic, friendly and very good value" and your description of the staff here as "first class and helpful"

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,851
    1,419
    504
    157
    84
See reviews for
694
1,999
170
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
837 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Check in was fine, nice and friendly. I was asked if I wanted an early morning call, which I did, but it never arrived. I had room 631, a good size and plenty of space. It became clear late in the evening that the aircon didn't work, in fact when I looked at the display on the system it said "fault". It was noisy anyway, so turning it off helped me get a good nights sleep.
Although my room rate included breakfast, at the breakfast restaurant they tried to tell me my rate was room only. I went to reception to complain and they confirmed that breakfast was included and got me into the restaurant. A waste of 5-10 minutes though which I could well do without. Breakfast was uninspiring and all of the "hot" items were lukewarm, so not a lot to be thankful for in reality.
The attitude is a bit complacent, clearly they get a lot of business and are well located, but I would probably not go out of my way to stay there again when there are good alternatives in the area unless I was forced to do so or there was a great offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Donald M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I will pass your comments describing your check-in as "nice and friendly" onto our Front Office Team and I'm pleased you thought room 631 was a good size. However, I'm sorry that your experience with maintenance and breakfast did not live up to your expectations and will pass your observations onto the relevant teams so that they can make improvements where possible.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and friends stayed over at this hotel last weekend for the boxing fight at the Phones4U Arena mainly because of the hotel's location and how nearby it was. Some of my friends made this recommendation to me. We checked in abit later than 3pm and the room was clean and spacious. A/C installed which is good because I couldnt open my window due to health and safety!!! Receptionist was v friendly. Close links to tram station and train stations which was an advantage as was meeting up with friends. I flew over from London and the airport was about 10 miles away which was convenient. The lounge bar area was quite busy later at night however £10 for a gin and tonic is slightly extortionate. A waitress by the name of Sanaa from the bar area had served us, v attentive and helpful. A credit to the hotel as she did promote the fact that I should share my experience at the hotel on Trip Advisor - breakfast was good, fast service but only dissappoint was that it is just a little too pricey for my liking. Money well spent though. Check out was 11am which was good too as it wasn't too early. Didn't get to use the spa facilities which was a shame but I will be sure to bring my wife here too!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lee V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your compliments regarding your room and I will personally pass your commendation onto Sanaa later today.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed one night at the Midland and really enjoyed it. It's conveniently situated for all local attractions. The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially at reception and the restaurant staff when we had our breakfast, I'm coeliac and when I asked for gluten free bread it was no trouble.
The only downside to the hotel is the amount of cigarette butts where the staff have their breaks and smoke, also outside the restaurant at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Join the breakaway club and get great discounts £50 b&b on a Sunday night good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricci1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ricci1104,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding the team here are much appreciated, and I will pass your observations onto our Public Areas department to make improvements where necessary.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just spent 1 night stay here , wish we had booked 2 nights now , didn't want to leave ! Rooms were lovely and staff couldn't do enough for you especially the older guy on the concierges desk , so friendly and helpful . We will be booking again soon for definite , we have stayed in a few hotels in Manchester but this is the best :-) .

Room Tip: Hotel rooms so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Alison S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the staff and the concierge team in particular.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a really nice, big, grand old style hotel. Stayed on a Sunday night, so quite quiet.

Check in was quick and efficient, but not terribly friendly.

The bedroom was quiet, as requested, so spot on. The bed was really comfortable, with nice furnishing, and a great night's sleep was had. Decent bathroom, with a good shower and nice toiletries (though only just enough shower gel for 2 people).

Some of the bedroom furniture was a bit dated, which was a pity: wardrobe, cabinet around the fridge (which, by the way, was too close to the door so on entry, the door hit it). Perhaps this was to give an "olde worlde" impression. If so, it doesn't really fit the more modern style bed / bathroom.

The room safe was already locked, so I had to ask for it to be opened.

Breakfast was very nice: had freshly cooked poached eggs. The waitress was really efficient and helpful. Nice to have a normal size glass for the fresh juice (so often the glasses supplied are so small, you need several glasses!).

Location is good: very near the tram at Peters Square. short walk from Deansgate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear yugs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read some great comments regarding your breakfast and I'm glad that the hotel's location suited the needs of your trip.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here on Sunday night for a special birthday treat for me!

Room was gorgeous, albeit compact but the bed was huge and very comfortable. Good sized bathroom and it was spotlessly clean as it was throughout the hotel

Staff very friendly and courteous. We had breakfast at around 10.15 and you normally expect a poor show when you go down just before it finishes but not at all, received a warm welcome with plenty of choice and great to see bacon cooked properly, I stay in so many hotels where its undercooked (little pet hate of mine) Breakfast with served in Mr Coopers, fab surrondings

The location could not be any better and if you are thinking about xmas shopping with a look around the markets look no further than staying at this hotel

Only disappointment was I did mention it was a special birthday and most hotels gesture something but not on this occasion with the Midland and hotels should remember people spend their hard earned money with them, especially in the bar and restaurant and the little gestures are remembered

Apart from that excellent stay and we will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear JNS01,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read such lovely comments regarding your room and will pass your compliments onto all of the staff here. I hope we were able to make your birthday treat extra special!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing