We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at annual conference.
Staff were excellent and very friendly.
Room immaculate
Buffet breakfast of high quality
Conference facilities of high standard and all very professional
All in all a very enjoyable stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Nimrod101,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you found your stay very enjoyable and will pass your compliments onto the rest of the team here.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,622
    1,350
    477
    147
    78
See reviews for
630
1,871
160
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night to celebrate my Husband's birthday and we weren't disappointed. Very grand reception area with very professional and efficient staff. We'd forgotten to bring toothpaste but the concierge were happy to bring some to the room. Lovely clean room albeit smallish. Excellent breakfast with good selection and quality. Very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weegiewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Weegiewoman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you were very impressed by the hotel and that our concierge could help you out when you had forgotten some essentials.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend shopping/theatre trip and birthday celebrations. We were booked as room only basis. We were late to check in approximately 10pm after a day at the Trafford centre. I had rang earlier in the evening to inform them of this. On arrival we requested to add breakfast to our stay and were told that the hotel was full and it was not possible, however we could order room service for breakfast! A card would be in our room to request this. A little surprised at this we then carried on up to our room. The bedroom itself was satisfactory however the bathroom wasn't. We had been allocated a room with disability access, very clinical, very low sink and no bath. I immediately contacted reception to ask for a different room and said we weren't happy and were told we were last to check in and that was the last room! I explained that I made the booking in September but it made no difference.
The hotel itself was perfectly located for shopping and theatre and it's a shame our weekend was spoiled by the poor service.

Room Tip: Don't check in late!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jp_1563,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations and ask if you would be able to contact me directly on 0161 932 4127 or at tsmith@qhotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

thank you for 1 of the best hotel stays ive had anywhere in the world .
friendly helpful cheerful staff from check in to check out ,clean comfy rooms good nights sleep and woke to a 5 star breakfast ,
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ITS MY 1ST CHOICE EVERYTIME I STAY ANYWHERE CLOSE TO MANCHESTER FROM NOW ON

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Darren E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read your comments describing how much you enjoyed your stay, I will make sure the whole of our team are aware of your compliments, I know they always appreciate it when their hard work is recognised.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited for a weekend in November, with my daughter for her 13th birthday. She was stunned with the hotel and it's very convenient for shopping and the theatre. We booked a secret hotel with lastminute, but it was obvious which hotel it was. So we got a good deal, without breakfast. When we arrived I asked if we could book for breakfast, but they were fully booked, suggesting their cafe where we'd be able to get bacon sandwiches etc. this was disappointing. However the room was lovely and pretty immaculate. We used the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna which were empty early on Friday night. The gym looked well equipped, although we didn't go in. They had table tennis as well.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank White-S66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear White-S66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read that your daughter thought the hotel was stunning and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary leisure facilities at the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I expected this Manchester Central hotel to live up to its £214 price tag, unfortunately the serve yourself breakfast was at best awful and a dam rip off. Warm, greasy and tasteless, better to go to a greasy spoon cafe at least you expect to get poor service.

Room Tip: Choose room only breakfast is awful dining experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Rik B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations and ask if you would be able to contact our breakfast manager Jose Mendes on 0161 236 3333 or at jmendes@qhotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was attending a conference at Manchester Central so the hotel was chosen by my company. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable.
Perhaps due to the volume of guests, the check in time took longer than anticipated but I believe the hotel was full the weekend I was there, so it may have been the cause of the delay.
The doorman, concierge and front of house staff are helpful but I was disappointed with other aspects of my stay.
The breakfast was disappointing, both for the food provided and the delay in obtaining a coffee, a delay of 15 minutes, including chasing before the coffee arrived, a point that affected my overall rating.
The hotel is very well located though for access to train, metro, conference centre and of course shopping and the front of house staff including the doorman are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing