We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect treat weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Midland
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
hull
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect treat weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited for a weekend in November, with my daughter for her 13th birthday. She was stunned with the hotel and it's very convenient for shopping and the theatre. We booked a secret hotel with lastminute, but it was obvious which hotel it was. So we got a good deal, without breakfast. When we arrived I asked if we could book for breakfast, but they were fully booked, suggesting their cafe where we'd be able to get bacon sandwiches etc. this was disappointing. However the room was lovely and pretty immaculate. We used the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna which were empty early on Friday night. The gym looked well equipped, although we didn't go in. They had table tennis as well.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank White-S66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear White-S66,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's fantastic to read that your daughter thought the hotel was stunning and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary leisure facilities at the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    1,352
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
634
1,875
161
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I expected this Manchester Central hotel to live up to its £214 price tag, unfortunately the serve yourself breakfast was at best awful and a dam rip off. Warm, greasy and tasteless, better to go to a greasy spoon cafe at least you expect to get poor service.

Room Tip: Choose room only breakfast is awful dining experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Rik B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations and ask if you would be able to contact our breakfast manager Jose Mendes on 0161 236 3333 or at jmendes@qhotels.co.uk to discuss your experience further.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was attending a conference at Manchester Central so the hotel was chosen by my company. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable.
Perhaps due to the volume of guests, the check in time took longer than anticipated but I believe the hotel was full the weekend I was there, so it may have been the cause of the delay.
The doorman, concierge and front of house staff are helpful but I was disappointed with other aspects of my stay.
The breakfast was disappointing, both for the food provided and the delay in obtaining a coffee, a delay of 15 minutes, including chasing before the coffee arrived, a point that affected my overall rating.
The hotel is very well located though for access to train, metro, conference centre and of course shopping and the front of house staff including the doorman are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

What an Oasis The Midland is, you can walk from the hustle and bustle of Manchester Streets and in seconds walk into the calm and tranquility of The Midland bar and restaurants, attentive staff were always on hand and our room was delightful, being a native of Manchester this was my first stay at The Midland "it will not be the last" proud to have this wonderful hotel in our fine city

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Steve O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding your visit and your description of us as an oasis is fantastic to see!

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

An excellent stay at The Midland. I stayed overnight with a friend on a girlie night away and we were not disappointed. Very impressive lobby as you arrive and our room was really lovely, well decorated and clean and the beds were very comfortable. All staff at the hotel were very helpful and welcoming and gave us a fantastic service. The breakfast was also very good with a great choice. Would definetly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jo H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read how enjoyable your stay was and I will pass your compliments onto all the staff here.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

An excellent stay at a lovely hotel with really friendly staff, a great concierge service (especially Bernard!) and a great breakfast. We stayed overnight on Friday ahead of a girlie shopping trip on the day that the Christmas markets started and we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Winnie228,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read that your stay was excellent and I will pass your compliments onto Bernard personally this afternoon.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a work trip. First of all it looks amazing - the lobby and rooms are very impressive. Staff are all polite and efficient. The rooms themselves are pretty immaculate, the bed is amazingly comfy and I got a perfect nights sleep. The pool and sauna are great - I also had the pool to myself in the morning (it was a Monday) which was nice. The breakfast buffet was good, not the best I have had, but still plenty of options. However the breakfast room is decorated like an indoor park, with trees, "picnic table" breakfast tables, etc, so it made up for it. Location is also great, 5 mins walk to the train station and also 5 mins walk to a great sushi bar..!

I don't know if I would stay here again - it was a great hotel but it wasn't very unique. So if you like grand, flashy hotels, this is for you! However if you like smaller, boutique hotels, you'd probably be better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurassicCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear JurassicCat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland. It's great to read your comments describing the hotel as "amazing" and "very impressive" and I'm sure our housekeeping team will be very happy with your description of your room as immaculate.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing