We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Midland Hotel following our wedding earlier in the day and it did not disappoint. We arrived a little early for check in and our room was not ready but the very helpful staff offered to take our bag up to the room while we headed off to our wedding reception. On getting back to the room later on in the evening, we were greeted by the most spectacular room...the beds are huge and so comfy, the living area was massive and the styling just to our taste. The staff were also able to facilitate some room service out of the normal hours which was above and beyond what was required.

We can't thank everyone at The Midland for making our special day extra special.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear ZoeG120,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the hotel, I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding the hotel staff and your room, I will pass your thanks onto the whole team here.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,251 - 3,257 of 5,212 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I booked the hotel for my husbands birthday and the staff were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived. The reception area is very grand and definitely sets the feel for the hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor, very spacious and clean with a comfy king size bed. We did have a few negatives about the stay, on the saturday morning early on we were woken to loud banging etc from the room below which we presumed were the cleaners, unfortunately we had been hoping for a lie in. The bathroom door was also quite difficult to open, it seemed to stick and need a shove to open. I tried to have a relaxing bath to find the water only came out luke warm and instead decided to have a shower, strangely the shower water was warmer.
The location of the hotel is very good, outside of the main town centre but not too far that you can't enjoy a walk to the centre and deansgate for restaurants there.
Overall we had a good break and the hotel room was very comfy and clean, little touches like the table with the mirror inside added that little extra to the room although I have to agree with previous reviews and maybe not call the rooms superior for the price paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntonDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear ZoeG120,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the hotel, I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding the hotel lobby, it's location and especially our staff, who I know will be thrilled that their hard work has been appreciated.

I have passed your comments regarding the noise and maintenance issues onto our Executive Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager who will speak with their teams to ensure that instances such as those you describe are not overlooked in the future.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple for one night to celebrate my partners birthday. Check in was smoothly done and we were upgraded due to the fact we were celebrating a birthday!
Our room on the third floor was spacious, clean and comfortable with an enormous king sized that provided us with a good night sleep, as well as a clean bathroom with a very good shower and bath. Being as clumsy as I am I managed to lock my things in the safe and forget the number to open it..... Security came and sorted it without delay thankfully.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so I can't pass judgment on that, however for our shirt visit to Manchester the midland was perfect. Would return again without fail!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecnm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Ecnm23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland, I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding the bedrooms and the service you received. I hope we managed to make your partner's birthday extra special.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for myself and my partner to celebrate our 5 year anniversary as i had heard very good reviews from friends and family. The hotel is grand, clean and tidy and rooms spacious (although would not call them superior). We arrived promptly at 3 to check in and had to que for quite a while, there was no offer of help for our luggage either. I booked us into a superior room although was quite dissapointed and expected more for the amount we paid. We decided to have a drink in the bar before we went out for our meal, the waiter took us to our table and said he would give us a couple of minutes before taking our order, 15 minutes later he had not returned and by then we had enough of waiting and walked out. Prices for drinks are ridiculous and to have you waiting that long is shocking too. Our stay included breakfast which was convenient, however after waiting in a long que for a free table we was made to share a table with another couple who we didnt even know! I understand that this time in the day is very busy but for the amount we paid for a one night stay we atleast expect our own table. The food was tasteless and cold and people were waiting a long time for clean plates. Overall such a dissapointing stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncrompton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear ncrompton2,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunatley with check-in being guarenteed from 15:00 reception does tend to be quite busy around that time. Although we try to make the check-in process as speedy as possible, we do have to ensure that we are conveying the neccisary information to our guests.

I have aked our Head Concierge to speak to the rest of his team and ensure that they are being pro-active in offering our porterage service. I have aslo spoken with our Food & Beverage Manager regarding the issues with the Lounge and Breakfast service - he is looking into why you were kept waiting for so long on both occasions.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent hotel, rooms, amenities and staff. This was my second visit, following organising a big conference there last year - I was made to feel very welcome, like an old friend and was well looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sel-Aaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sel-Aj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Midland, I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding the hotel and especially our staff, who I know will be thrilled that their hard work has been appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Midland on business trip (Sept) – good location for Manchester Central
Great first impression via door & reception staff and beautiful entrance hall. First room offered rather small and I noticed a large light right outside my window! Immediately asked for a change, staff quickly sorted this out for me, 2nd room larger with funny headboards that moved (one fell off) & the shabby chic deco was not quite right, but lovely large bathroom so happy enough.
However I felt I wasn’t alone, there appeared to be a shadow that moved from the door across the entrance area & went into the wardrobe where the once must have been a door the shadow appeared to be a small cat & it was very active especially on the second night!
I’m booked to go back next week hopefully not to same room!
The breakfast was tops, great scrambled eggs and lots of piping hot coffee – again lovely staff

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Regus,

Thank you for your review of The Midland, I'm pleased that our staff gave a great first impression and that you thought the hotel offered a good location for your trip.

It's also great to read that we have a report of another resident ghost at The Midland, although I think this is the first cat we've heard of!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next week.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Traditional hotel with lovely period rooms with Contemporary bathrooms, Bar area lacks atmosphere but worth a stay.
Good location too explore the sights of the city and the reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARENWD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear KARENWD54,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay, I'm pleased to read such great comments regarding the bedrooms, bathrooms and location.

I will pass your compliments onto the reception staff and I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#19 of 120 in Manchester
848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $122 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing