We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

A lovely grand hotel in the centre of Manchester. Although there are a few things i would have changed.
Firstly. The breakfast staff attitude.....very busy.....stress levels seem high . Witnessed staff arguing in full view of customers. Not professional. And service slow
hot buffet nice. But always items running out.....no beans one morning. No egg the next.

room was ok. But the most obvious thing to note was there was no dressing table in our room. Made hairstyling and applying make up difficult.

Just little things really as on the whole the hotel is nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Lazza51,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast service during your visit, I will ask our Food & Beverage Manager to look into your comments and ensure our staff are aware of the high standards which our guests expect.

I hope to welcome you to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,662
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bidston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved our room and the public spaces are excellent. We stayed over for a ball. What a shame to find that breakfast the next morning was worse than a Travel Lodge.

Come on Midland, sort it out...is it too much to expect real eggs in the morning? Food was not well presented and was of a very poor quality. Your guests expect and deserve better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Frith M,

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read that you loved your room and thought the public spaces were excellent.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast during your stay, but I'm pleased to inform you that the temporary breakfast arrangements have now ended due to the opening of our new restaurant; Mr. Cooper's House & Garden.

I hope to welcome you to The Midland again soon so that you can see the improvements for yourself.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay Sunday 20/10/2013 & Monday 21/10/2013.
We were booked in by Denny she was efficient , helpful and above all thoughtful We mentioned that it was our anniversary and my birthday never thought anything of it and went out for a meal. To our surprise on our arrival back to our room we found a bottle of wine cooling a birthday card and a anniversary card a lovely end to a great nite. So we like to thank Denny for that lovely surprise
We had a fantastic stay and all the staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seats1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Seats1234,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Midland, it's great to read that Denny went the extra mile to make your special stay even better and I will pass your compliments onto her personally this afternoon.

I hope to welcome you back to Manchester soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Super hotel in the centre of Manchester. Quality establishment.
Staff fantastic and very attentive.
Leisure facilities first class, cardio area, separate weights area, pool and squash court.
All areas of the hotel including bedrooms maintained and presented to a high standard.
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I'm pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments onto the rest of the Midland team.

I hope to welcome you back to The Midland soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Midland was a great and convenient place to stay for a function down the road. Grand old hotel, the Gala price was cheaper than other sites and even included breakfast, which would have been an extra £30-odd. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for your review of The Midland, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and thought the hotel offered good falue for money.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for business.Hotel is lovely but some of the rooms we were in had a horrible smell when the air conditioning was put on,a bit like chlorine and fruit mixed together.The bedroom I had was nice and had a large comfy bed.Room service was quick and food was very tasty especially the fruit salad which had fig,passion fruit and vanilla marscapone.Lunch was lovely too.Staff on reception very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseLairdHerriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DeniseLairdHerriot ,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Midland, it's fantastic to read your comments regarding your bedroom, room service and our front of house staff. I will pass your compliments onto the relevant teams.

I have asked our Maintenance Manager to look into the issue which you mentioned with the air conditioning, we will immediately rectify any issues which we discover.

I hope to welcome you back to Manchester soon.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before but not for 3 years. I was not surprised that the Reception and Concierge staff are as good as ever and the Doorman was excellent, but things went a bit downhill from there.
My room was clean but no chance of fresh air as the windows had been sealed shut.
The bathroom never had any soap put in it even though the person cleaning the room moved the empty box each day.
The breakfast was nowhere near as good as previous stays here and the staff seemed rushed and a bit challenged.
The one night that I tried the restaurant, I ended up sending back the food as it was uncooked in the middle.
Having said all this, it is in a very good position in Central Manchester with most places within walking distance and a very good Tram station across the road for going further afield.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Guest Relations Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, I'm pleased that you found our position in the city useful during your visit. I will pass your compliments onto our Front Office and Concierge teams.

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your experience overall, I will pass your comments onto the relevant teams and ensure that improvements are made where possible.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Midland again in the future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Smith
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing