We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue and honeymoon stay at the Midland”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We decided to plan our wedding reception at the Midland earlier this year and the wedding was two weeks ago. From start to finish both my husband and I have been extremely impressed by the professionalism shown by the staff, excellent communication from start to finish and we absolutely could not fault the service. The hotel has an old charm grandeur, there has been some modernisation, however I don't think this distracts from its overall appeal. All the staff were friendly and helpful without being at all stuffy as you sometimes do find in large establishments. The co-ordination of our wedding was undertaken by Nina. Nina did an outstanding job of organising and co-ordinating our big day, she was so supportive and friendly and most importantly she listened to what our plans were and worked so hard in making them happen. The day went without a hitch. All of our guests commented on how fantastic the room looked (we hired the Lancaster Suite). The food was amazing..Nina had arranged for us to meet with the chef prior to us deciding on the menu and this was a great help to us. We along with some of our guests stayed over at the hotel for the weekend and everyone enjoyed it. The rooms at the Midland are really lovely. My sister used room service as did I and the response was very quick and efficient. Breakfast was very busy, but the staff handled it extremely well and the food was first class. The location for the Midland is perfect for shopping and sight seeing. I would definitely use the Midland for a special function again and we were so glad that we had chosen this venue to hold our wedding reception here, they really could not have done a better job. We have commented on a feedback form and gave our experience at the Midland 10/10. Thank you to all the staff that helped make our day so special. Massive thanks to Nina, you were brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbi187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Debbi187069

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland and for choosing us as the venue for such a special occasion. I'm delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your wedding reception and stay with and I offer you my congratulations and best wishes for your future together.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,050)
There are newer reviews for The Midland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,177 - 3,183 of 5,051 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very elegant hotel but we felt that its style and original grandeur had been lost somewhere along the way.
There was quite a long queue at check in which was a bit irritating but maybe we were unlucky with our timing.
We considered dining in The French restaurant as food reviews had been so good but checking out the ambiance from the doorway made us decide to dine out. What could be a beautiful room had been 'modernized' in a very tacky way with cheap looking chairs and tables and a hideous wood grain effect carpet. We had a much better feel about the restaurant we ended up in not far away.
Booked a superior room which was very pleasant - although a bedside table would have been helpful to put a glass of water on.
What surprised us most was the really poor service levels from such a hotel. We came back from our night out (well before midnight) and decided to have a nightcap at the bar. We couldn't find any member of staff anywhere in the vicinity despite looking and couldn't even see anyone in the small staff area to the side of the bar. We just gave up.
The next day we decided to have an Afternoon Tea in the octagon room. The sign invited you to wait to be seated, which we did. After 5 minutes of waiting, no member of staff was anywhere to be seen so again I had to go look for someone. I still couldn't find anybody. By then there was a small queue of people similarly wondering where the staff were hiding.
When eventually we got our table, the service was just slow and poor and a little grumpy.
There are much better hotels in Manchester these days - one is only 50 metres away where we stayed last time.
It's such a shame for this beautiful building to be wasted by poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mike D

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Midland. I apologise for the poor service which you describe on the lounge and will ensure that your comments are shared with the lounge manager in order for this to be addressed with the team.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel & room but disappointed being awoken at 4.30am by traffic/train noise. Apart from that excellent stay & value for price paid. Would have also appreciated blinds/ net curtains as flats opposite could see into room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heljosdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Heljosdevon

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was a late arrival for an evening dinner and to my horror had a stain on my tooth. I asked at reception for a toothbrush and was given a quality toothbrush set. When I asked how much I owed - I was told I owed nothing.
The evening started with a good drinks reception and the quality of the food for over 400 people was excellent. The food was hot, tasty and no one was kept waiting.
Care and attention were at the top of the hotel staffs' game.
The drinks were a bit pricy and it seemed odd not to be able to charge drinks to your room - drinks had to be paid for at the table.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antelope0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Francesca0260

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team here offered such great service for you. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed on Friday 6th September 2013 for our wedding night and had the most wonderful experience ever. We were automatically upgraded to the Master Suite which exceeded all our expectations. On arrival, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were not delayed and all the reception staff were polite, pleasant and genuinely interested in our well-being. We were allocated room 255 on the second floor at the front of the hotel and WOW perfect. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne on ice and a lovely 'wedding day' card from Debbie and Richard from reception. The suite was magnificent and provided everything we could want on our special day. Wished we had booked for the weekend. Would highly recommend staying at the Midland. My husband and I have stayed in many lovely places but would definitely say The Midland beats them all hands down. Breakfast was wonderful and even to our checking out the staff could not have been more helpful asking if we wanted to leave our bags at the hotel while we wandered around the city. Thank you Midland for a memorable and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view of St Peter's Square
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappointedx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear disappointedx2

Thank you for your review of The Midland and for choosing us for your wedding night. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards and congratulations,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here a number of years ago & found the hotel to be pretty good , we recently went for a quick escape and I felt a little disappointed by our stay.
We booked to eat in the restaurant, which was very quiet that evening, in fact very quiet!!
the waiter was a friendly chap, very obliging but unfortunately for him the rest of the evenings service was a step back. Our starters , mains arrived on time but unfortunately we waited for an absolute age to get more wine, the sweets no one showed any interest at all. At this point I walked towards a young waiter who had being doing nothing for the previous ten minutes other than chat up the bar staff at the opposite side of the restaurant, now this could be forgiven if the restaurant was large, but that is not the case here. I advised him that for the last twenty minutes that no one had attended to our table, we had empty glasses/bottle & our plates need removing.
Within a few minutes we had received an apology & were then served, the head waiter then offered the next drinks free of charge( very nice , but a little too late in the day)
We ordered breakfast in the room to fit in a thirty minute slot, but here again this was missed, so we gave an extra 15 minutes to show a bit of flexibility , but still nothing. So we called reception who said they would look into this & get back to us, guess no surprise another 15 minutes & again no phone calls or room service. I rang again to be told that they were sorry but they had been very busy & would deal with it straight away. Eventually breakfast arrived & along with someone to clean the room at the same time, priceless.
School report would say, nice enough place, just more attention to detail if you would like people to return

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnycroft31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear sunnycroft31

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and I can assure you that your feedback will be shared with the relevant teams to improve the service which we provide.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tiny swimming pool, not suitable for more than 6 people.
No Tea or Coffee served with my breakfast, even after making a complaint to the head waitress.
Breakfast tables were for 2 or 8, so if you're in a family of 4 you're expected to share.
If you pre-authorise your debit/credit card and don't use it, it can take a while before this hotel releases the money and it becomes available in your bank account again as I have found out to my cost.
TV remote didn't work in one of the rooms I'd booked. Sky Sports but no BT Sport available in the rooms.
On the plus side, the kids enjoyed the table tennis in the leisure centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear C J

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations but can assure you that your feedback will be shared with the relevant teams.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $115 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing