We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately Hotel conveniently located”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stately Hotel conveniently located”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This beautiful hotel is within walking distance to the Arndale Shopping Mall, Debenhams and the Metrolink. The lobby is grand with a lovely lobby bar an restaurant. The room was very small but had all the amenities you could ask for and it was very quiet. The front desk, bell staff and housekeeping were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the room rate and although it included a big spread the food was medicore. I had dinner in the lobby the bar and the tomato mozzarella salad was wonderful; however the mushroom risotto was overcooked and lacked any taste.
Overall the hotel is quite nice and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear bcox0610, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. It always great to read reviews that highlight the quality and the friendliness of the staff and I thank you for his. Of course we are always looking to improve to our offer and your comments about breakfast and the risotto will certainly be discussed with my team. We are entering a very exciting time in our food and beverage offer as we are about to embark on a complete refurbishment of our Colony Restaurant which will see major investment, re-branding and being under the guidance of the award winning Chef Mr Simon Rogan. So, we will make changes from your comments, and we will make further changes following our refurbishment. Thank you for choosing The Midland hotel and we do hope we can welcome you back again.
With kind regards,
Michael Magrane.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,756
    1,387
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
661
1,942
166
1,183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an award ceremony and thought in general it was excellent but on reflection there were a couple things that would make it amazing

But positives to start
Front desk able to switch a double to a twin with no fuss or bother and were great all stay
Breakfast fabulous and staff attentive helpful and welcoming
Concierge and "man with hat" on front door were great with the yp I brought with me and put up with my stupid questions

Not quite as good -
Gym and health club needs an upgrade
Room a bit dated and inroom entertainment patchy
Bar manager in bar area near reception could do with a sense of humour upgrade and two of my parties drinks went AWOL but these were refunded so sorted out in end

Majority of experience fab but a few tweaks would make it tidy!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihatepreseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ihatepreseason

Thank you for your review of The Midland following your recent stay. Your feedback, both positive and constructive is extremely valuable to us and it will be shared with the team. One point that I can already confirm is that we are in the process of upgrading our TVs and in room entertainment system and this should be completed within the next couple of months.

Thank you once again, and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay for my mum's 80th birthday. Rang the day before and reception could not have been more helpful (Denny). My parents were upgraded, card and wine in the room. Quiet rooms and all seated together for breakfast (10 of us!).

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Quieter rooms face in and are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Josephs_8

Thank you for posting a review of The Midland and for choosing us for your mum's birthday celebrations. I'm delighted that we were able to give you and your family such a wonderful experience for this special occasion.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Midland Hotel in Manchester for 5 days vacation. It is conveniently located with the Metrolink right outside the front door, within walking distance of a number of terrific bars and restaurants as well as shopping. I was surprised to find that the center of Manchester is not that big, an easy morning's stroll from one end to the other.

The room was a nice size for two, clean, comfortable and quiet and reasonably priced compared to London, Paris or NYC. The staff was helpful and the dining and bar options were adequate, with many nearby pubs and restaurants. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was quiet. Not much of a view, but we weren't there to look out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjones1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear cjones1913

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable visit both at the hotel and in Manchester. I hope that we can welcome you back to the city and the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

There was a lot to like about this hotel. The staff were very helpful and responsive. I delivered a training event and found the support and knowledge of the 'events' team excellent. The 'training' room was roomy and light. The hotel is a 'listed building', which makes management of the air conditioning in some of the conference rooms a little more tricky. The aircon is adjusted from another area in the hotel and, in our case, it wasn't possible to manage it from room itself. However, the staff were willing to change the temperature, whenever this was requested.

I stayed overnight and my particular room would have benefited from some refurbishment. The room seemed a little tired and dated. Perhaps I'm missing the point and others would describe the room as traditionally furnished. The bed was comfortable, although I found the pillows less so. It is a challenge for hotels, given the different preferences of its guests. However, get it right and you get great reviews!

The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Very good value.

I particularly liked the valet service. The staff will park and return your car, which really helps when carrying luggage or equipment. There is a cost to this service, but I found it valuable.

All in all, a very good experience where the staff truly make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear nanniebren

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland following your recent stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your experience on the whole. Your comments regarding the staff making the difference are particularly great to read as we strive to offer great service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a shocker of a hotel in Rome i couldn't of asked for more. 2 nights in a great hotel, spotless rooms & amazing staff. Didn't get a great view but couldn't fault the room thankfully. Make sure you stay for breakfast. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillonc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Dillonc1980

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Midland. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the room was nicely decorated, comfortable bed the tv was really small for size of the room is the only criticism, the hotel itself is beautiful, had a great stay and shall be visiting again. great location also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear MissJG23

Thank you for your review of The Midland. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you intend to visit us again. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing