We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for Mr Rolls and Mr Royce - Good enough for me!”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good enough for Mr Rolls and Mr Royce - Good enough for me!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Famous then for the historical business meeting between Mr Rolls and Mrs Royce (1904) and still a well deserved reputation for excellence now almost 109 years later! We stayed for one night whilst attending a concert ("Clannad", they were brilliant too!), just across the road at The Bridgewater Hall - Fantastic stay - Thank you to all the staff who were very helpful and highly professional. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel. The Midland has a central location with plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat in the Hotel itself. We ate at the "Halle Restaurant" in Bridgewater Hall and also in Jamie Oliver's Restaurant, both were excellent. The only minor drawback was the lack of hotel parking and the nearest parking was the Manchester Central NCP car park across the road, which cost us almost £19 for 24 hours with no hotel concession for guests - but I guess that's the price you have to pay for the city center location. We felt that our stay was very good value for money and we enjoyed it so much I think we will be planning a few more regular trips to stay here - There is so much to do in Manchester, it's GREAT!

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent but views aren't so great and are mainly of the streets - But to quote a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Oldilocks

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and that the team here played such a part in that. It's also great to hear of your intention to return and I hope to see you here again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,758
    1,387
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
662
1,942
166
1,184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After attending a dinner dance at this wonderful hotel we decided last minute to stay over the staff were hugely accomodating and at midnight managed to find us a superb room. Having stayed in hotels across Manchester I have to say this is by far the best. We stayed in a beautiful room where the staff did everything to help. At 4 in the morning room service was quick efficient with a good range of food available and friendly staff to deliver it. The bar staff in the residents bar were helpful and provided us with superb table service.
At breakfast there was a big selection with a gluten free option for my partner which was fantastic.
Check out was easy quick and efficient.
Would definitely stay here and again and recommend it to anyone staying in Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaramaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ciaramaloney

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent and unexpected stay at The Midland. I'm delighted that you were able to experience the fantastic service offered by our team as well as the hotel facilities. Your recommendation is much appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here with the familly for a wedding. Travel cot supplied by hotel, big room and all the facilities we could need for a 2 night stay. The swimming pool was empty first thing Monday morning, as we're the other leisure facilities. Helpful door staff to point us in the right direction. Parked in the public car park opposite which was handy if a little expensive at £40 for 2 days.
Would highly recommend for a stay in central Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philcollins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Philcollins50

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland following your recent stay. Your positive comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

And do you know what nothing did!!!! We had a great meeting at this lovely hotel. Now I know my last review of this place was less than pleasing but this time with a huge meeting to deliver the team at The Midland pulled out the stops. 175 delegates for 2 days, 2 parallel sessions, dinner for 180 etc there was the propensity for it all to go wrong. However, all was good. The Ops Team were great, they gave us a bat phone and we could call as and when we needed them. The food was all delivered on time and the dinner on Saturday night was very good considering the numbers catered for.

Oh and they upgraded me and left me gifts in my room - not that I am shallow enough to let this influence me but hey they didn't have to.

Thanks Team - our initial feedback from delegates concurred with us as well. Great venue and next time we are considering Manchester you will definitely be on the list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Siobhan W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to The Midland. I'm delighted that we were able to provide an improved experience than that of your previous visit and your positive comments particularly regarding the team and their service are greatly appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
247 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed as a couple for a weekend, DB&B. You pay big money for this, and for sure the hotel is imposing. All the time I was thinking I could have stayed at Jury's 200 yards away for a third of the price, and was I really getting three times the value at the Midland? That's a subjective choice. Breakfast better organised than many large hotels now that everywhere does a buffet.

We were seriously displeased with the dinner arrangement. First of all the menu choices are very basic: steak, burger, fish and chips, pork belly. See their website; when we were there in March there were also Christmas extra dishes and a special Valentines meal. On the Saturday night there was a function on in a private room and the participants all foregathered in the lobby, so there was a huge hubbub just outside the doors to the restaurant where we were. In addition a live pianist was playing some kind of jazz piano, and also there was a female jazz singer on the piped music in the restaurant. Romantic? No not really.

Checking out there was a lunch charged that we had not had; that kind of thing happens, but the girl then spent ages fiddling through all the bar and meal slips I had signed looking for this one that didn't exist. We had a train to catch, and eventually she said, reluctantly, "I can't fdind it; the only thing I can do is cancel this one." Good idea!

I'm afraid it's Jury's next trip.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade for £15 per room per night (at the weekend). Seemed good value, but then we don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Afterbrunel

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I apologise that your stay overall did not meet your expectations. I can advise that following similar feedback we have increased the menu choice for dinner in The Wyvern restaurant. I will forward your comments with regards to your experience checking out of the hotel to the Front Office Manager. As you say, errors can happen but how these are handled are important and I believe this needs to be addressed following your experience.

I would like have the opportunity to show you the usual service which we pride ourselves on and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Midland is a very elegant city centre hotel. Spent 2 nights here with 8 'girl friends' for a Hen Weekend. Our rooms were very comfortable with quality interior furnishings. Our bride and chief hen had a suite which we spend an evening in having a pyjama party following our beauty treatments in the hotel spa. The staff were very helpful at all times. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emholdstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Emholdstock

Thank you for posting such an excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay for this special occasion and your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Michael Magrane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently we filled a long held ambition to stay at the Midland The quality of the welcome was superb, what came over was that the staff are very proud of the hotel and love showing it off. The build ng itself is well worth seeing and the staff delight in showing off its more interesting quirks. Everyone from reception catering gym and security (Joe went out of his way to help) made our stay very special. If you want a memorable stay, stay here

Steve and Barbara Creghan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Stephen C

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland following your recent stay. It is always wonderful to read that the team here have delighted our guests. As you state, they are proud of the hotel and it's history and like to share this with our guests.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing