We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok+ great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford-in-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ok+ great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Midland is a centrally located magnificent Edwardian hotel: the interior has been ruined by ill judged modernisations going back to the 1960's. BUT the staff are numerous and helpful, the rooms are comfortable although possibly needing redecoration and for a big hotel they make you welcome. AND The French is one of the best restaurants I've been to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jms020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Midland. Your feedback is greatly appreciated particularly your kind comments regarding the team here.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,351
    477
    148
    78
See reviews for
632
1,872
161
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very expensive but really nice building
Stayed one night on business breakfast was ok but I expected better quality bacon and sausage tasted cheap
Rooms very nice and quite large
£25 to park car by valet v convenient
Did not have dinner
Staff v attentive and professional

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davegirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Davegirling

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay but I will raise your comments regarding the breakfast quality with the Head Chef so that they can be addressed.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a colleague for a night on business. Did not avail of breakfast option so did not eat here

Hotel kindly upgraded us to bigger rooms on fifth floor on arrival. My room was superb. Massive room. Like a suite really with two huge double beds, couch, 3 armchairs and good bathroom.

Could not fault it especially as it was v reasonable price wise.

Staff really professional and friendly.

Location of hotel is super. Right in city centre and next to tram. V handy if you are going to old Trafford !

Will definitely return.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bambergfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Bambergfan

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Midland and for your kind comments particularly regarding the team. It's great to hear your intention to return and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very elegant hotel situated in an ideal location, me and my partner only stopped for the one night but were very impressed and will be returning to the midland on our next visit to manchester. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking can be a small problem so we opted for the valet to park our car for £20 we thought it was a little expensive but it works fantastic if your wanting to stop the one night and especially if your planning to leave your bags and go shopping the following day as you can keep it there for 24 hours and the valet will bring your car round and put your bags in for you on arrival. The rooms were spacious and the bed was amazing had a great nights sleep. The bar and entertainment was very elegant, overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend the midland to anybody wanting a special stay in manchester.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Dazzer113

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. I'm delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and your positive feedback and recommendation are greatly appreciated.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed at the Midland several times over the past few years and have always found it to be a first class hotel, with extremely friendly staff. Rooms are clean and well appointed although quite small.

I have two complaints however. Firstly the Number of TV channels is very small (although oddly I do seem to be able to get Arabic news!). But more significantly is thhe quite hopeless wifi which dips in and out between a very very weak signal or no signal at all. In this day and age that really isnt acceptable and it really does make it very hard to do any work in my room, to such an extent that I would seriously have to think twice about coming back here for future business trips. Shame, it is such a lovely hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mike J

Thank you for your review of The Midland following your recent stay. I'm sorry that you experienced difficulties with the Wi-Fi signal as we wish to provide complete and complimentary coverage throughout the hotel. I would be grateful if you could contact the hotel at cwoods@qhotels.co.uk to advise which room you stayed in so that we can check the signal strength/quality and undertake any necessary actions to improve it. I can also advise that we are in the process of reviewing our TV service and will be improving our offering.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I thought reception was a bit friendlier than last time though I really do not see why they have to photocopy my passport or drivers' licence. They did return it when I left but I had to make a special request and they told me usually they kept the copies on a client's "profile." Is this legal in UK? My room 416 was small and strangely shaped with poor access around the bed and to the wardrobe and mini bar area. The bathroom contained a hip bath rather than a full sized one and there was no robe. Is this a five star hotel I asked myself? or even 3 star? I sent for an iron to housekeeping and this was brought readily. The dinner I attended was just about passable but the room was draughty and cold. If you use the Trafford room be sure not to sit at the edge! I ordered a glass of wine with my main course and it arrived with my desert, 30 minutes later. I like the way they seem to have dozens of students on work experience but they really do need someone to oversee the whole operation and to manage these well-meaning young people. I thought breakfast was much better than my last visit. Service was good and charming and eggs were batch cooked so they were unspoilt. Bacon was somewhat dried up. I was surprised for a hotel of this class that there are very few free TV stations and no European ones. They seem to limit it really drastically - not even all the BBC and ITV - this is to encourage you to pay I guess. Overall it really is not living up to expectations. More of a museum piece than a real hotel. I don't think I would return I think there must be better quality elsewhere in Manchester

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Steve005

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Midland and I apologise that this did not meet your expectations. I was disappointed to read your comments and will be addressing the issues which you have raised with the relevant teams in the hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in this delightful hotel for a couple of nights in March for a conference. It is enormous, but it is spacious enough that you never feel crowded. The staff were universally helpful, the room spacious and well-maintained and the breakfasts comprehensive. If I were to have any complaints, it really would be nit-picking, but the pool was too small for a proper swim, the windows in need of an outside clean, and my wallet felt aggrieved at having to fork out £36 for a day and a half's parking at the NCP car park a few minutes' walk away. You feel the hotel might want to do a deal with NCP over the parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MJHLewes

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm pleased that overall you had such an enjoyable stay with us and your positive feedback regarding the team is appreciated. Unfortunately, parking costs are something currently beyond our control but I hope that they would not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing