We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with around 350 work colleagues, the hotel handled the mass check in and out really well. The room was lovely not huge but big enough with a good sized wardrobe, safe and nice bathroom.

The bathroom could do with a lick of paint as the area around the shower was peeling and chipped. Watch out the shower goes everywhere but it's a good powerful one just a screen would be better than a useless curtain.

It could do with a decent hairdryer and sockets at the head of the bed but other than that ideal room.

The bar area is lovely and makes you feel like you're in an old posh hotel...uncomfy chairs but great service typical 5* bar prices but its a lovely area with a nice atmosphere and attentive staff.

Breakfast was loads of bread products and jams, peanut butter etc was great, fruit and cereal but if you're looking for a great cooked breakfast it's a bit disappointing as the mainly cold eggs, fatty bacon and herb pork sausages were there with tomatoes and mushrooms but all was cold and greasy.

All in all a nice hotel with friendly staff, I'd stay again and see what it's like when it doesn't have the pain of a huge group but they did well with us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Amack

Thank you for taking the time to review The Midland following your recent visit. I'm pleased that overall, you enjoyed your stay, however I am concerned by your comments relating to cold breakfast items and will raise this with the breakfast team both in the kitchen and restaurant as this should not occur.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,626
    1,351
    477
    148
    79
See reviews for
632
1,873
161
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

During a recent trip to Manchester my wife and I stayed at The Midland hotel. This historic building is central to all amenities and ideal for any occasion. The staff there are excellent and super friendly. The Wyvern restaurant in the hotel offers superb service and quality. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyhamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tonyhamo

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. Your positive feedback and recommendation are appreciated.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here on a one-nighter company booking. Amazed when I entered the hotel and thought to myself "how the hell is this hotel on my works preferred list?" The Midland is a top class hotel, spotlessly clean, excellent staff and a sense of valuing the customer instils itself immediately. My room was a king size, superbly appointed, nice and warm, all comforts provided. Breakfast was adequate, nothing out of the ordinary (for that, try the Radisson Blu in Birmingham) and I had to wait to be asked if I wanted tea or coffee, but it was as good as most so no complaints (but a veggie sausage option would be good....). Upon checkout the very helpful concierge and team mapped out my route to Salford for me and kept my luggage securely with a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. Thank you for a great stay. I will be asking Redfern to book me in again asap. Stayed in Manchester frequently - but this hotel is the best by far, even outpointing the Palace and the vastly improved MacDonald Townhouse.


.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wanderer588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear The Wanderer588

Thank you for your excellent review of The Midland. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated as is your intention to return to us on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on a Bed and Breakfast and Dinner on first night basis. We arrived very early and were able to lodge our cases with the Concierge and walk into town. Just after lunchtime I returned to be told that the room was now available. Settled in nicely and looked forward to our evening meal in the Wyvern restaurant in the hotel. The room was very large and well presented. Before going to the restaurant we had a drink in the bar area and watched the world go by. The waiter asked if we would like some 'nibbles' which he duly presented with a small 'wet wipe' sachet just in case we got some oil on our hands from the crisps. (what a gesture, not had that before). Went into the Wyvern at 8pm for our 3 course meal which was exceptional and nicely presented by the extremely pleasant and efficient staff. Breakfast on both mornings was up to the normal Midland standard and again the staff were very efficient and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay from top to bottom and will be back. I think things are moving on with refurbishments and the 'French Restaurant' looks to be having a makeover. Very pleased on this visit with the staff, unlike some hotels they seemed pleased to be there and enjoying their jobs. If I was forced to make a comment and was in charge of breakfast, I would make provision for the small bottles of tomato juice to be chilled or in an ice bucket as it isn't too pleasant when it is warm. Other than that all was fine and looking forward to our return trips. P.S. If someone from the management could have a quick word with their counterpart at the GMEX I am sure it is not necessary for the flashing sign on the pavement facing down Mount Street to be on all through the night. Not only does it penetrate any small gap in the curtains of the hotel rooms it isn't too helpful for the environment either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Clive S

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at The Midland. I'm pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience and that our staff were an integral part of that enjoyment.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic time on our stay at the Midland Hotel, Manchester last weekend. Lived and worked in Manchester all my life and finally achieved a long standing wish to stay at The Midland Hotel. If you want an impersonal clinical hotel then don't stay here, there are plenty of hotels like that in Manchester. However, if you want a hotel with soul and character and steeped in history then a stay at The Midland will not disappoint. I have to agree with the other reviewer that the welcome we received was by far the best in any hotel we have stayed in. The concierge team are outstanding. The hotel is beautiful, the food is excellent, we ate in the Wyvern and had an outstanding meal but all that aside it's the staff that make this hotel such a great place to stay. Went back again today for afternoon tea and sure enough, the same friendly welcome awaited us and afternoon tea was delicious . If anybody asked me to recommend a hotel in Manchester then there is only one, The Midland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antjan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Antjan1961

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at The Midland. Your kind comments regarding our team and service are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This historic hotel has a great location and a haughty ambience and has great furnishings in the guest rooms as well. However, there are one or two things that are amiss that may spoil your stay - as they did ours.

Oddly enough, the rooms do not have door bells: Insignificant, you may think, but this might have made all the difference to us. There was a party going on in the room opposite ours, and guests continually arrived (and left) all night - they would knock on the door opposite, essentially waking us up every time. Three times I got up to ask them to 'pipe down,' with no effect. I didn't want to switch on the lights to get dressed at 3am or wander around in my pyjamas, so I left it there and fumed. I mentioned it at reception the next morning and received an apology, but since then, nothing.

Note to Midland: Ban noisy guests from having parties in their rooms, and fit door 'bells' to all rooms so that people don't have to knock (c'mon guys - knocking is so last century!).

In addition, the duvets are incredibly thick - cloyingly hot - so that unless you have the noisy air conditioning on, you will struggle to sleep in the heat. I slept 100% better at the Ibis hotel the night before moving into the Midland, for half the price of the Midland.

One small thing - the pool closes at 6.30pm on a Saturday night, so if you are thinking of coming with your family for a stay-over and to use the pool before going out, be quick about it - at 6.30 it's chucking-out time.

Breakfast was okay (staff were friendly) but get there early if the hotel is full, otherwise you will have to join the queue!

Room Tip: One on a floor where all other rooms have bells, rather than guests having to knock on the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoktoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear DoktoRob

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Midland. I apologise that your visit did not meet your expectations and for the noise you experienced from other guests. I will check with our Reception team to find out if this matter was raised by any other guests as we would have sent the Night Manager to the room to ensure that additional guests were not using the room and creating excessive noise, were we made aware of the situation.

I hope that this experience does not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful elegantly proportioned Victorian hotel right in the centre of Manchester. We had well-appointed interconnecting double and twin rooms which were perfect. The boys' twin room was enormous! Service was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the swimming pool too. Thank you for a lovely stay. Couldn't recommend the hotel more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsholfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmagrane, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mrsholfie

Thank you for the glowing recommendation you have given in your review. I'm pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us and I hope we see you return to The Midland in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Magrane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 20 in Salford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#18 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing