We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class!”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Class!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel, stayed for one night and the room was amazing and so spacious! Grand lobby, lovely food but expensive drinks! Peter Andre also stayed in this hotel, if its good enough for the Andre its good enough for me! Great central location, will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Paula,

Thanks so much for your very kind comments and time taken to review The Midland it is appreciated. To be fair we do get a lot of stars in the hotel but our staff are always aware that everyone who comes to stay, takes dinner, lunch or tea is a ViP and that they should ALWAYS treat them as such.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,851
    1,419
    504
    157
    84
See reviews for
694
1,999
170
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We hold largescale events at the Midland on a frequent basis, the success of which is entirely reliant on the hotel's flexibility. They have acceded to our requests and practices without difficulty and are always attentive to our particular needs.

The rooms are lovely and the food is super. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaF-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lucinda,

Thanks so much for your very kind review. Great to read that we deliver a consistently excellent conference for you and your fellow delegates as events of your size and nature will usually utilise every facet of the hotel and our wonderful team.

Thank you once again and of course we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a 2 night stay for a Xmas shopping break. The hotel is ideally situated for the Xmas markets and city centre shopping.
It was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We upgraded to a superior king room, which we felt was well worth the extra. The only slight negative was breakfast, which was just average. However this didn't detract from our overall experience and we will definitely stay at the Midland on our next visit to Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Juliejos,

Thank you for your very kind review about The Midland and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed Manchester, the Xmas Markets, the shopping and this great hotel. Don't worry I've taken note of your comments about breakfast and will be onto the team to ensure that it is ever excellent.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return very soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I planned to visit the Christmas Market and picked the Midland for it's central location. All staff were friendly and helpful, the superior room was......superior. We enjoyed the old world charm of the Octagon where again the bar service was very good. The let down was breakfast; considering we paid £418 for two nights B&B we were surprised to find the "fry up" was of motorway standard - the fried eggs especially looked very tired. At a hotel of this standard and price I would have expected a chef cooking eggs/omlettes fresh. Next time we will give the Radisson next door a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M186437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear John,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for your comments they are appreciated and will help to allow us to ever improve.

Thank you once again and if ever you are thinking about coming back to Manchester please let me personally so that we can pursued you to stay with us again as our intention always is to delight our guests and so I'm so sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wonderful reception area, very impressive architecture and good service in the spacious lounge area next to reception. Great central location next to the Library, Town Hall square and tram station.

What a shame that one of the top 5 star operators did not take this hotel on when it changed a few years ago...If they had, then the rooms may not look quite so tired, although Majestic in character and architecture, substandard service levels and grandmother's decor leave a slightly bad taste at their price point.

Room Tip: Ask them for a newly refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear I r,

Thanks so much for your review please refer to our other reviews for a balanced perspective of whether The Midland delivers for its guests.

Thank you

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here on visiting Manchester last week!!!! Staff were very pleasant!!! Rooms were clean and tidy! Loved the grandeur of the hotel! Firm favourite in Manchester! Will be returning!!! Excellent location and with a tram stop near by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Toosassey,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words about our great team, this magnificent building, its proximity to all that's happening in Manchester and our excellent transport links.

We look forward to your return, thank you once again.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

As we checked in, the receptionist seemed like she couldn't really be bothered with us. Considering we were paying £150 for a room for one night, we would expect a warmer reception from the staff! The rooms are very small, unless ours was an exception, the only thing I felt would justify the cost of this hotel was the impressive entrance and lobby. Other than that, we both found it disappointing considering we were celebrating a birthday. My other half was completely shocked when he found out how much I had paid for the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisingOnTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear AdvisingonTrips,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I've noticed that all of your reviews seem to assimilate increased satisfaction with cost and so I'm sorry if you felt we were too expensive although if you felt our receptionist could have done better please be assured that they are already aware of your feedback and working on delivering a consistently excellent performance.

With room quality we feel that we prepare as a norm immaculately presented rooms and although all of our rooms are a little different from each other we ussually enjoy really positive feedback as you will see via our other reviews.

Sometimes the rate of a room can be higher if you book quite late so my advice always is to check the qhotels website for the best rates and always book as early as you can.

Thank you once again for your feedback and all the very best for the future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing