We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #13 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this marvellous building over the weekend to make the most of the opening of the famous Manchester Christmas markets, from checking in both myself and my travel companion were amazed by the friendliness of the staff from the concierge who offered to take our bags and the reception staff who checked us in (sorry I'm useless with names). We stayed in a lovely room on the 5th floor, plenty of room and a great en-suite bathroom.
We did not dine in the restaurants due to going to the markets but as we left they looked very busy as did the main bar area with a pianist played to add to the atmosphere.
On returning to the hotel after a rather cold night out we were very surprised to be greeted at the front for a team of 'bouncers' which shocked me slightly, why on earth are there bouncers I asked myself, however after speaking to them they seemed very friendly and reassured us they were there for the safety of the guests and there presence was nothing to worry about, which I must admit but my mind at ease.
Breakfast was rather average but an OK selection on a very small serving area but again the staff were attentive although they seemed flustered by the numbers dining at the time. Check out again was seamless. I would recommend this beautiful piece of Manchester history to anybody travelling into the city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Carol P,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland it is appreciated.

Thanks also for your kind comments about our team and our facilities and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us in Manchester.

We look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,870 - 3,876 of 5,207 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just stayed 1 night for bed and breakfast,the room was big and very well furnished.Breakfast the next morning had a great selection and the service was first class.We will definitely stop here again and recommend you try it to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear SammysMum,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated. Great to read that your room, service and Breakfast was delivered to your satisfaction.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the Midland for a weekend. I am fussy about beds, in particular having enough pillows and usually have to ask for an extra one. Not at the Midland. The bed was huge, and really comfy, and the pillows were deep and squishy, so much so that I had to put one to the side to sleep!
The concierge went out of his way to be helpful, and proved to be an expert photographer when asked by guests to take photos of them in the foyer. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
A few quibbles - the hot food section in the dining room at breakfast is too small so there was a queue, and the staff were slow to replenish the dishes. Also, the bar section is too small when there is a function e.g. a wedding. If you would like a pre-theatre drink and large sections are set aside for guests at functions, there are not enough seats for hotel guests. Overall though, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Lizzie27_12,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and for your very kind comments. Please be assured that we do use guests feedback to improve what we do and how we offer our facilities as we know how valuable it is. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially your room and bed.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for one night for the purpose of shopping and meeting up with friends
Staff , friendly and smart. Bit of a queue to check in which was slightly frustrating as there were a couple of unattended desks.
Room was functional but nothing exceptional for £198.00 Bathroom was very clean and well maintained, room was ok bed was fabulous - very, very comfy, air con was welcome although had to turn if off as it was quite noisy.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice - there was a notice in reception advising that there maybe queue's due to the number of guests - took this onboard and got there early and missed any queuing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Valerie576,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated. If I can offer any advice about getting the best rates for rooms it would be to go to our website. Really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and we'd be delighted to see you back here soon.

Many thanks once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

does a good job and exactly what you would expect from a large centrally located city hotel.

only negatives were the bar area is very bland and drinks very expensive. breakfast was incredibly busy and they clearly don't have enough capacity for when the hotel is full - anyone spot a flaw in the design?

that aside does a great job and rooms are a good size and the location is fab

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear rachel j,

Many thanks for your kind review it is appreciated. Normally as we get busier we open more restaurants as our guests tell us that this works well.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
TheMidland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went for a friend's wedding and looked forward to a nice weekend in Manchester. When I booked the Midland I did look round for other hotels and the Midland's price wasn't that cheap, in fact the Lowry and the Raddisson just up the road were offering similar prices....and the experience left much to be desired, I am afraid.
1. Check in - not very friendly. There was a sign when we arrived saying "if you come for breakfast between 9.30 - 10.00 am there will be a long queue so don't come then" or words to that effect. We paid by debit card and were told that as a result we couldn't charge anything to the room unless we left a credit card. When we tried to ask for newspapers, we were told they could not be delivered to outside our room as we hadn't left a credit card!

2. The room (a superior - one up from the standard, which we paid extra for), really was indistinguishable from other standard rooms and there were no perks. No increased room size from other comparable hotels, no upgraded toiletries....

3. A mini bar fridge was in the room but locked as we "had paid by debit card". We wanted to put things in the mini bar fridge but, no, that was forbidden. After much negotiating, we got a separate fridge.

4. Breakfast - admittedly the food is good and there is lots of it, but the room looked like a large cafeteria in a school/factory and there were queues, even after the 9.30 - 10 am time slot.

All in all, not a hotel where we would return for the price. There is undoubtedly a lot of history in it being a railway hotel etc and there are quirky parts of it, it was "OK", but "OK" is not what you want in this day and age for the money you pay.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear BGC,

I'm so sorry that we managed to disappoint you as that is not The Midland way. To be fair like every hotel sunday morning breakfasts are particularly busy as guests will want to enjoy a lie in and come down a little later; which the polite notice indicated although I'm not sure it stated the potential for it to be busy in the manner that you described.

Its also normal procedure in a hotel for a guest to their leave card details in advance of using our services which as I see was your intention. This system is designed to make it easy for guests to utilise our services with the minimum of delay and it also triggers access to the Mini Bar.

Its also standard for us to deliver a fridge for a guest upon request which I'm pleased you received although if there was a delay then I'm sorry. I'll also have a word with the team about their approach to guests to make sure they are doing so in the manner that both you and I expect. Although we have a great reputation for our friendliness which our other reviews consistently indicate there is no room for complacency as you will appreciate.

Please let me know when next you are planning to return as I'd like to meet with you to show you that we're keen always to improve.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Both my husband and I spent a short break in the midland hotel and we had a wonderful room, the highlight of the stay was our wonderful first night when we ate in the restaurant where we were given truly scrumptious food, great wine and superb staff attention, throughout the night we felt that we were in very professional hands and looked after extremely well in the French restaurant.
Thank you Midland we will be back!

The Machins

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Kerry M,

Thanks so much for your very kind comments about this great hotel in general and your dinner in The French in particular. So pleased that we managed to delight you in all areas and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#19 of 120 in Manchester
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Address: 16 Peter St, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $124 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing