We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great day”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
salford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great day”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

once again i would like to thank the staff at the midland hotel for the great service that we received on our recent visit. We "popped in" for a drink while shopping in Manchester and received a warm welcolm from the mangeress and the staff in the lounge area.

the food & service was excellent

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toonarmysalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    1,378
    491
    152
    78
See reviews for
647
1,918
162
1,166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I am a member of staff within this group of hotels and I look forward to coming here every time. I have now stayed here 3 times and it has never disappointed me. I came here with 7 of my friends to celebrate my birthday and as always it was lovely. Massive room, quick check in/check out and fantastic breakfast. Special mention goes to Debbie Wong who was patient when we all wanted to pay on arrival. All of our rooms were allocated near each other which helped when we getting ready to hit the town!
When we came back in the early hours your security guys made us feel very safe and secure. Cant wait to come back here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your kind words and review particularly for highlighting the staff that really made a difference for you.

Thanks

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

A wonderful hotel with staff ready to help wherever you turn. Excellent valet parking service took the strain out of searching for car parking. A beautiful bedroom with every facility you could want, and the buffet breakfast - what can I say? I have never enjoyed a breakfast so much, nor taken so long to eat, chat and relax. We stayed here as part of our theatre break weekend (just a short walk to Manchesters Opera House) and after the show it was a sheer pleasure to retire to the Midland. It was all I could ever want from a hotel and more. Well done Midland, a standing ovation no less!

Room Tip: Ideal for the Opera house and Palace Theatres.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guccivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Cracking night's stay in this hotel recently, it's near all the things that you need in central Manchester. The only thing that detracted from this, was that the gym was in need of some care, it's right in the bowels of the hotel and very dark and a bit dingy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Currymonster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your review. Not too sure what you mean about the largest and I believe anyway brightest Hotel Gym in the City. Will check with Maint that all of our lights are working as thats not normally how our gym is described.

That aside I really appreciate you taking the time to review us and grading us so highly.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We booked a two night stay at The Midland and had a really good time. There was plenty of choice for breakfast between hot and cold food and the service was first class - on the first day of our stay there was a lovely lady called Beverly who really took care of us and looked after the kids, she is a great ambassador for the hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge compared to some hotels we have stayed in, with all the facilities you would expect. There was free access to the leisure facilities; the pool is a little small but its a plus to have one at all. The hotel is well located for whatever you plan to do in the city, we would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for your kind review and for highlighting Bev for special praise as she does do an excellent job for us. The comments about the rest of your stay are as equally appreciated but it is our staff and their endeavours that really do make the difference at The Midland.

Thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have been visiting The Midland in Manchester for almost 20 years and always find it one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The rooms have been refurbished in the last couple of years since Q Hotels bought it and they have been transformed from 80s classic (which I rather liked) to 21st Century chic. The public areas are very stylish and the French Restaurant unparalelled in both service and quality of dishes. The hotel in general is fantastic and all the staff make you feel special and valued as a guest. Even the cleaning staff go out of their way to say "good morning" etc when they pass you in the corridors.

One downside however is the leisure facilities which are very tired and really need a refurb a.s.a.p.The pool was rather cold and the jacuzzi did not work.The changing rooms seem prone these days to flooding

Room Tip: If you can possibly afford it eat in The French!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for highlighting your enjoyment of The Midland especially that of our team who do go out of their way to welcome guests. I'll look into the gym comments with the caveat that it does deliver a great experience to guests generally and is very well presented.

Thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel is central to all Manchester City attractions and well worth a visit.
The service, rooms and breakfast were exceptional and great value for money.
Because of the number of rooms I booked the Hotel was more than willing to negotiate a special rate based on the number of Guests.
In the Bar area the duty Bar Manager was more than helpful pleasant at the same time very professional she went the extra mile to ensure we were well looked after not sure of her name a small blond girl who was pleasant and very helpful with my guests from Sweden and Denmark who’s English was not that great.
It was a busy night with Champions League Football the bar was full but well run and organised ,the bar snacks were on the expensive side but the quality was good and the portions were a reasonable size , drinks were also very reasonably priced and in line with most other Hotels.
I will be using this hotel the next time I have guests from Europe on thing they did comment on it was nice to have a hotel with character not the usual basic accommodation where everything looks the same.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 187069Danzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thankyou for your review especially where Dawn and her team managed to deliver great service during the champions league game. We tend to be a favourite with lots of different national guests and we are always delighted to see them return to The Midland. As we hope you and your guests will very soon.

Thanks again

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing