We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Dirty room in older part of hotel. Terrible service in the bar area - had to intuitively know when my disgusting sandwich was ready and go pick it up myself. Breakfast was a sloppy buffet as opposed to freshly made. The front desk was efficient and changed my room when I mentioned I had a problem with the one I was in. This is a tired worn out hotel (except the new wing) lacking in warmth and service. Good for a quick over night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButlerReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    1,811
    802
    273
    185
See reviews for
1,011
2,077
343
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Upon arrival of around 1am we were greeted with an abrupt attitude of "What are you doing here? ... Checking in?" as we were waiting for all our small group to arrive and sorting out luggage. Whilst we were being checked in the guy on reception didnt say a single word to us, didnt give us any info on the hotel or inform us of breakfast, check out times or anything. His attitude was terrible and was one of 'couldnt care less'. Upon checkout the next day, the woman on reception pretty much had the same attitude. I will not be returning to this hotel again and would recommend people to look elsewhere!
Other than the staff, the room was clean for a nights sleep. Although we did book 2rooms. 1 for 3adults and 1 for 2adults (no couples inour group). They told us the rooms were different but both rooms had a double bed only - therefore someone had to share a bed. We did not report this as the guy on reception seemed unhelpful and uncaring anyway and it was late and we had to get up early the next day for a long 4hour drive home. Disappointing for the money paid.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

We booked 2 rooms at Bewleys as we were flying the following morning and got a good deal at £50 per person for bed breakfast and evening meal. Ive stayed in plenty of airport hotels and this one was by far the best, check in was friendly and quick, the rooms were very high quality and had everything in that you needed, and the food both breakfast and dinner were perfect, We spoke to a few people that were from nearby hotels and prefered to eat and drink in this one.
The hotels very close to the airport but its better to get on the courtesy bus.
Overall I would definitly stay again, Thanks Bewleys for a lovely start to our holiday!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1980doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Bewleys at Manchester Airport:"Boon for a Business Traveller"
Date: 18 November 2010
I booked this hotel online at last moment and got a great deal.

Being a business traveller i have visited to many a places but Bewleys is most convenient in terms of location. For a business traveller it is blessing in disuise when after day long work once you check in hotel you can find convenience of getting all kinds of transport. from bewleeys manchester city centre- trafford centre is located just 15 minutes away. Shopping at trafford and then once you get back to hotel. You get impeccable service of internet and morning breakfast was amaxing.
Lastly not to forget the price deal what i got for this hotel was amazing.

Next time when i plan to vist with family i would opt for this hotel and the rooms which were spacious and comfottable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manishbajpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Arrived via the airport railway station and actually walked to the hotel. While it was close enough there a couple of busy roads and roundabouts to negotiate so best to call the complimentary transfer bus.
Check in was quick and easy and our room was ready bang on the 2pm check in time. Hotel is well laid out, very busy and clearly geared to single night stays. Our room faced the rear and the railway line but we heard no noise at all. We did not eat in the hotel but found bar prices average.
Room clean modern and spacious with everything you needed. Transfer bus in morning was on time pleasant driver and a really quick transfer to terminal one saw us off to a great start to holiday.
Pretty basic review this, essentially a great value stay in a great location we would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

This was my first visit here and stayed for one night.Very convenient to Terminal 3 and garage the other side of the hotel very handy as I always find there is never enough milk in the little containers! I don't think I will have a meal in the restaurant although it was very nice a tad expensive. The rooms were lovely and warm and was very impressed with the soundproof I couldn't hear the aeroplanes take off or land.Although there was a shuttle service free of charge to all the terminals we chose to walk to the terminal we wanted, it bearly took 5mins. I would not hessitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

The hotel is very well positioned for the terminals and the station into the city centre. I arrived at Terminal 3 and phoned from the courtesy phone and was picked up by the free shuttle bus after about a 5 minute wait. No problem checking in at about 5.30 pm although there were long queues a bit later. The room & bathroom were OK & clean - similar to Jury or Premier Inns. However the room had a slight smell of damp which I pointed out to reception via the room phone. They were very busy at this time but gave me another key card when I went down there so that I could leave the heater in the room on while I was out for the evening (you need the key card to work the electrics). They didn't offer to move me (but I didn't really push it) and I got the impression that they wern't surprised by this observation - the receptionist said something like "the heating probably hasn't been on in there for a few days". This made the room very warm in the night but as it is so near the airport and a main road it wasn't really an option to leave the window open as well but it was OK. I think my wife would have had more to say to them if she'd been with me!
I went out for the evening so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel & didn't eat there at all. I had a drink in the bar which was OK - large and functional with Sky Sports. I walked to the station (6 or 7 minutes) to go into the city centre for a meeting in the evening and the same when I returned at about midnight but could have got taken and picked up by the shuttle if I'd wanted.
In the morning checking out was easy and I got a shuttle bus straightaway to Terminal 1.
The staff at reception & in the bar were generally pleasant & polite.
It suited me for what I wanted which was a bed for an overnight stay at the airport and I'd probably use it again on business because of its location and the very good shuttle service to the airport terminals but maybe not if I was with my family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saint7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing