We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and myself stopped for one night on Friday February 7, prior to our long haul flight back to the USA.
The shuttle bus driver from the coach station and the one back to the terminal were extremely helpful and helped us with our heavy luggage.
Reception staff again very helpful and we had a quick check in.Lovely young friendly girl, obviously enjoys her work!
We stopped in room 216 and found our room to be spacious, lovely clean bed with nice linens, but, the mattress was a little uncomfortable but wasn't a problem for one night!
Nice flat screen TV. Plenary of tea and coffee and hair dryer all placed away in a drawer out of the way.
We had breakfast, buffet style , lots to choose from, good selection of teas and coffees ..and for £9-50 was well worth it. We are British and made the most of the delicious bacon!
The only problem I had was that I was about to have a salad with fruit and witnessed the server drop salad everywhere on the counter and he picked it up with his hands and put it back on the plate to be served!
However, very clean restaurant and happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was shocked however, to read your comments regarding the salad; these have swiftly been passed on to the Food & Beverage Manager and continued training and development will be taking place with all of the team to ensure that this does not happen again. Please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice about these days, when looking for accommodation in and around the Airport complex, and therefore we are truly grateful booking.

We look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back again in the future and being able to provide you with another comfortable and convenient stay.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    1,811
    802
    273
    185
See reviews for
1,011
2,077
343
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangor n.i.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Booked this Hotel many months ago for six of us to stay on 22 January for one night as we were heading off to Cuba on 23rd. About 3 weeks before our trip Thomas Cook decided to bring the flight one day forward which meant we would have to go a day earlier. I rang bewleys about this and a lovely girl I spoke to changed the date with no problem whatsoever.

Anyway the Hotel is the closest to Terminal 1 and this suited us fine. On arrival we rang on the courtesy phone for a pick up at the terminal, The bus was there in no time at all. Check in was quick and staff were very friendly. The rooms are excellent although tea and coffee facility in room was missing ( hence the 4 star ). We used the bar menu that night and the food was excellent as was the bar area with comfortable seats and large TV. We booked the courtesy bus for the next morning and it was there on time and quick transfer to the terminal. All in all an excellent place to stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on 4th floor and near to lifts which save walking miles in corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxflyBangorN_i_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport, I am glad that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and delighted that you went on to share your experience with your fellow travellers.

I am sorry however that we had not noticed your room was missing the tea and coffee provision when the room was serviced; this was indeed an error on our behalf and should have been rectified straight away.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at a future date and if you contact me prior to your arrival I will personally ensure that there is a sufficient tea and coffee supply awaiting you.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We were a bit daunted by some of the bad reviews, but we have no complaints. Easy to find, very close to terminal 1, very efficient check in.

Our room is large, spacious, good decor and clean.

Now looking forward to good nights sleep before our early morning flight.

This hotel will definitely be our first choice in future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for writing your comments on Trip Advisor, we are very aware of how important it is to make a good impression and I am glad that even though daunted, you took the plunge and allowed us to do our job and provide a clean, comfortable and efficient service for you.

I do understand that in this day in age there is a great deal of choice about when booking accommodation in and around the Airport complex, and therefore we are truly grateful for your booking. It is lovely to hear that you would consider us again in the future and if that is the case, we look forward to being able to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is cheap but by no means cheerful. I found the reception staff preoccupied and not attentive. My room was dreadful - awful colour scheme, old fashioned and quite frankly depressing. Bed was uncomfortable. Bathroom was awful - the whole thing needed updating. Parking was very limited and badly lit. If I had been staying here before going on holiday, it would not have got me off to a happy start! The room service was appalling, I ordered the fish burger which arrived within minutes but was cold. It was so dry, I asked for more tartare sauce....15 minutes later that still hadn't arrived so they promised again to send some. Another few minutes later they rang to ask if they could send another hot burger as it must be cold by now .....! Yes it was but I had lost the will to eat by then. I didn't bother trying breakfast! I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. It is only through open and honest feedback that we can improve the products and services that we offer.

I am disappointed to learn that you felt the hotel was not to your liking, we do get a lot of nice comments about the hotel, the rooms and decor but I do understand that it is not to everybody’s taste.

With regards to your comments about your Room Service order, I have personally passed this on to both the Head Chef and the Food & beverage Manager as what you have described is not the standard that we strive to achieve. I know that this cannot change the experience that you received but by bringing to our attention we can use your comments to better the menu and the food offering we provide.

I would like to opportunity to thank you for choosing Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport and should you allow us to try and change the impression you have been left please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be only too happy to make a booking for you.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey c.i
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Check in was easy and friendly.
The hotel very clean and fresh looking,
Food was fab ,steak best ever.
Breakfast was superb?
Checkout nice and simple and a short walk to terminals,
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Only stayed one night on 7th floor so I can't really compare. The room I had was clean and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobydooJerseyC_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for choosing Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport, I am glad that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and delighted that you went on to share your experience with your fellow travellers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel at a future date.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there night before Florida flight.
Hotel is right beside airport but no noise can be heard in soundproofed room.
Hotel is immaculate and beds comfortable
You can walk to terminal but would recomend transfers to and from airport as they are quick and comfortable
Ate in hotel bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced
Would thoroughly recomend

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice about these days, when looking for accommodation in and around the Airport complex, and therefore we are truly grateful booking.

We look forward to hopefully being able to welcome you back again in the future and being able to provide you with another comfortable and convenient stay.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosllanerchrugog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

No problem at all with the hotel. Just the horrible practice of charging paying guests £8-00 per night to use the car park. I know the other hotels do the same but it's still a very bad practice. They probably all got together and decided on another easy way to make some easy money out of their customers.We are not all business guests.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Des L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review for Trip Advisor. We take all comments, both positive and negative, extremely seriously as these are what help us to improve our product and service.

I am glad that in the most part you had an enjoyable stay with us and am sorry that this was tainted by our car park charge. I do understand that this can be seen as an inconvenience however we do ensure that we are the cheapest parking available on the airport complex.

I hope that this will not deter you from staying again in the future, should you be requiring parking for the duration of your holiday you may find one of our Park, Stay and Fly packages suitable for your needs. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to make a booking and I will be only too happy to help.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing