We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for evening meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good for evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby hotel and were not happy with the price of evening meal, so we thought we would try the bewleys.
Bar staff were very jolly and soon we were sat with a cold beer looking at the menu.
Prices are good and we ordered a plough mans platter and a huge pizza to share.
Would recommend even if you are not staying at this hotel - first rate

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding the food and service in the Bar. It is nice to know that we get diners enjoying the facilities from outside of the hotel.

I understand that there is a great deal of choice when looking for accommodation in and around the airport and hope that on a future stay you might choose Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    1,811
    802
    273
    185
See reviews for
1,011
2,077
343
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 21st December for business reasons....booked a double room for 3 adults...my husband, myself and our daughter. Room was clean and of an average size, bedding was clean though and little threadbare as were the towels.
We ate in the bar area although you can choose to book a table in the restaurant and eat for approx £20 a head.
Its not cheap...we bought 2 small glasses of wine and a pint and it was £14...we ordered our food and 3 meals and a bottle of wine £54!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Food is ok nothing to praise about!
Didn't have breakfast at hotel as we had an early start next day and choose to eat later in the day so can't comment on this.
Reception staff could have been better...not the friendliest of welcomes...and you have to pay £8 for overnight parking (that's if you are lucky enough to find a parking space!)

Room Tip: Make sure if you do stay and have children take supplies of snacks and drinks otherwise you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rarakirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are always so grateful for customer comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review as we do understand that time is precious.

In this day in age I am aware that there is a lot of choice around when it comes to hotel rooms so would like you to know that your booking is greatly appreciated. I am therefore a little disappointed to learn that your initial welcome to the hotel was lacking and have passed these comments on to our Front Office Manager to ensure that his team are aware of the importance of this first impression.

We regularly monitor our Bar, Brasserie and parking prices to ensure they are comparative for the area and there is extra parking located towards the rear of the hotel should the main car park be full upon arrival.

I hope that you would consider using Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport again in the future and look forward to hopefully, welcoming you back again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a great night here before we flew on holiday, great shuttle service to the terminal takes the stress out if travelling. We walked to the airport train station and went into Manchester for dinner, very convenient! This also means we didn't eat at the hotel so I can comment on that!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review for Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to provide a stress free stay over at the beginning of your holiday, which I trust was fantastic!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport in the future.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

On the plus side, the high level of soundproofing did a lot to keep out aircraft noise. The room was large enough, and noise from neighbouring rooms was minimal. The availability of luggage trolleys was useful, and we are impressed that the hotel has strong environmental policies.

We would however have preferred normally-shaped pillows that were less square. Having only one layer on the bed makes it hard to ensure the ideal level of bedding to avoid being excessively hot, and there was no heat entering the room that could have been turned off. The bed was also too small for a couple.

In the bathroom, we did not locate a control for the sink drainer, but it could be drained by manually revolving the drainer - not pleasant if the sink is full of dirty water. After some trial and error, we were able to understand the shower controls. My partner has a slight physical disability and found that the side of the bath was excessively high, and more of a challenge to climb over than it should have been. Putting in guard rails is not a lot of use if people have difficulty getting in.

Perhaps the room could have benefited from having a fridge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 638Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review that hotel on Trip Advisor. All comments, both positive and negative, are important to us as they help us to see what we are doing right and what we can improve on.

I do understand that there is a great deal of choice when looking for accommodation close to the airport and therefore we are very grateful for your booking.

I am sorry that the hotel wasn’t to your liking, we do have a variety of different rooms that offer a range of facilities and these can be requested prior to check in by calling through to our dedicated Reservations Team. With regards to the issue with the sink drainer, I have requested that both our Housekeeping and Maintenance Teams look at all these to ensure they are in full working order.

Should you wish to book with us again in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to advise on the most suitable room.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel - room spacious, warm, quiet, nice flat screen TV and everything well documented as to how to switch on the heating, towel rail, set up an alarm call, kettle and free wifi.

The only minus point is the food - absolutely terrible - looked as if it was just thrown on the plate and totally inedible - such a shame.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rayanna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am delighted to hear that your stay with us, on the whole, was an enjoyable one; however, I was nted to learn that your experience in either our Bar or Brasserie was not up to the standard that we strive to achieve. I would like the opportunity to investigate these comments further and ask that you contact me on gr.manchesterairport@bewleyshotels.com in order for me to get a bit more detail to help us improve the offering that we provide.


With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The main attraction of this hotel was the proximity to the airport. However, with many other hotels right by the terminals, you would do well staying elsewhere. Just a few high/lowlights, then:

First, the good:
- You can see it from the airport and commute takes no time (shuttle is provided).
- The bathroom was pretty spectacular (tub, two independent shower heads), which should speak volumes already if that's the #2 highlight.
- Flat screen TV has a USB port. This would prove handy.
- The bed, though the mattress feels basic, are fairly comfortable.

Now, the not-so-good
- The hotel's website claimed it was within walking distance from the terminals. This may be, but I wouldn't recommend undertaking this particular endeavor if you have any meaningful luggage with you as there aren't really connected walkways as such. Take the shuttle.
- On that note, you have to book one overnight or risk there not being space and having to wait. I got lucky, but the simple fact that a booking is asked for leads me to believe others may not.
- It's a business-type "4-star" (or so they think of themselves) hotel, I get it. I don't mind when dinner costs more than at the Maxim - after all, most of the time it's not coming out of the guest's pocket if his firm had any kind of a spending account. However, if I'm there to do business, I expect to be able to do business. Which is remarkably difficult to do when the only place I can use wi-fi with any kind of reliability is in the lobby. The signal in the room was about non-existent. Oh, but the reception "e-mailed the IT manager". And that was the last I heard of it.
- On that subject, most hotels will lend you a travel adapter (I had one with me, but of a non-grounded variety, so it didn't work). This one doesn't. Oh, but "we sell them for £10 in the vending machines". Of course you do.
- The pillows feel like they have been blown up with air instead of filled...well, with anything. Lucky for me, there was an extra blanket of a rather excellent quality which I fashioned a proper pillow out of.
- The "queen" bed was made up of two "twins". No issue for me, but if you're there with a partner, one of you will invariably end up in the hole.
- The staff could do with a bit of refinement.

A general comment towards all Manchester Airport area hotels - if you're here to see a Manchester United match, do yourself a favor and either leave a lot of time between your arrival and the trip to Old Trafford, or do that AND stay in the city. There really isn't a good way to get to OT from the airport as direct trains run very infrequently and going through the city center is redundant. May as well just stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank highlanderfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. All comments both positive and negative are important to us as these give us an insight into what we are doing well and what we perhaps need to improve on.

I am disappointed to learn that there were a few points that you felt weren’t as good as they should be. With regards to the Wi-Fi we are currently looking at ways we can improve the connectivity is certain areas of the building and do all that we can on-site to ensure guests are able to make use of this complimentary facility.

I understand that in this day in age there is a wealth of choice available when it comes to booking a hotel room in and around the airport complex, and would like to thank you for choosing Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed for six nights on the eight floor. We went against reviewers comments and decided to give them a six nights trial. Could be better if they can differentiate between a long stayer that were there for work and vacationers who are on their way in or out. Selling toiletries from a vending machine isnt right. The power shuts down too quickly when you pull the room key out. The room door is a struggle to hold back. Breakfast is ok but restaurant and bar menu could be better. Wifi was too weak to get connected. Receptionist Steph Thomas was the star of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuatMerayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor. All guest comments, both positive and negative, are important to us as these enable to us to improve the standards and service that we offer.

As your comments relate to a number of different areas within the hotel I have passed these on to the relevant Heads of Department in order for them to be looked at in detail.

I am very pleased though, that the level of service that Steph provided wowed you enough for a mention in the review. It is always great to hear when Team Members make a good impression.

I do hope that overall you stay was acceptable and that should you be visiting Manchester Airport again in the future you would consider booking in with us again.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing