We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel except for the beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel except for the beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed on the 25th October for a night prior to flying away on holiday. The hotel as always is ideal, as we have stayed there many times. The only fault when we stayed this time was the glass of beer, which was very poor. I think the lines wanted cleaning. I did a review on their site, but as it was a negative regarding the beer they didn't show it. Typical Irish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am glad that on the most part you enjoyed your stay with us here. I am however disappointed to learn that the quality of the beer was not up to the standard that you expected. We have procedures in place to ensure that the lines are cleaned on a regular basis however, I have passed your concerns on to our Food and Beverage Manager who will look into this in more detail.

I hope that this hasn’t deterred you from staying with us again in the future and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    1,813
    802
    275
    187
See reviews for
1,011
2,080
344
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here with our 2 children on 25th October ready for an early morning flight the next day.

The hotel was easy to find, check in was quick and efficient and the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. She advised us to book the airport shuttle bus for the next morning, or we could walk but with 4 cases and 2 children we didn't fancy a 4am trek! We were given perfect directions to our room which we were pleased with when we got to it. The only criticism is that I booked a cot for our 1 year old but there wasn't one there. I let reception know who sorted it out whilst we were eating our evening meal.

We ate in the Brasserie restaurant which we felt was good but a little over priced. Our waitress was very miserable and didn't look like she enjoyed her job (approx. 30 years old, female, tall, medium build with brown/blonde hair in a pony tail). There was no customer interaction and no acknowledgement of our baby or 5 year old son.

Our children played in the children's area for an hour, this was a very good idea in a hotel which was very busy with families. The toys do need a good clean, however.

There wasn't much airport noise or disruptions during our stay. We didn't eat breakfast as our flight was too early and the restaurant didn't open til 5am.

On arrival back to Manchester airport, we used the free courtesy phone to get the shuttle bus which was already outside waiting by the time we got to the designated stop. A very good service.

We arrived back at the hotel, checked our car out and away we went. We didn't find the car park dark or scary as another review stated, maybe there is another level we were unaware of, but our space, in front of the trees to the right of the hotel was great.

On the whole, a very good stay, great value at £100 for a room for 4 with 8 days parking.

We would fully recommend and definitely stay here again if our flight is very early, but wouldn't have an evening meal in the Brasserie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woobywou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing such a detailed review. These kinds of reviews really help us to look at all areas of our business and assess to see if there are changes that need to be made.

Please accept my apologies for the oversight of the cot that you had requested, I am pleased we were able to rectify this quickly for you. I was concerned to read your comments regarding the Brasserie, we aim to provide a friendly service to all of our diners but on this occasion it does appear that this was lacking. I have passed the details on to our Food and Beverage Manager who will be able to use them as a training tool to highlight how this can impact on the overall impression of the hotel.

I am happy, however, that on the most part your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your family back on another date in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I used this hotel before an early flight, the hotel itself is lovely, food was good, ran out of wine we would of liked & we had a early sitting so that was disappointing. The biggest problem I encountered was when picking up my car just before midnight on return was that my car was at the bottom of the car park, as 2 women with a child were travelling I feel the car should be put at top of car park or in main car park on return for safety. My friend stayed with her son & I collected alone feeling extremely vulnerable! Maybe this is something that should be asked on registration?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. It is only through open and honest feedback that we can improve the standards and service that we provide.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of your preferred wine, we constantly review our stock levels but occasionally demand for a product can take us by surprise.

With regards to your comments on the car park, I have passed these on to our Transport Manager who is always looking at ways to improve the procedure. Should you book with us again and require parking please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will organize the parking element for you.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bewleys the night before we flew to Florida. Upon entry the staff were exceptional to help especially the man who assisted with our car parking out the front of the hotel. He offered lots of good information about checking in our cases the night before so we had a longer stay at the hotel in the morning. He told us about the free courtesy bus to the airport also. This was great because it was available every few minutes. This hotel is however within walking distance also. On our return flight we used the complimentary phones from inside terminal 1 and the bus was outside in a few minutes. We were given our car keys and the cars location bay and my husband got the car within 5 minutes and we were on our way.
All in all the cost was excellent considering it was an overnight stay for 5 of us with 15 days parking. A lot of hotels do not accept 5 in a room and I thought I had to book two rooms somewhere but I am so pleased I emailed Bewleys who said it was ok with them if I was fine to share. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you and your family and enable you to start you holiday in the right way.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Team when booking again and we will be happy to book you the same type of room.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A pleasant hotel with helpful staff. Within a short walking distance from the airport but also used their courtesy taxi service. Both evening meal and breakfast excellent value. Would stay here again if flying from Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely review. It’s good to know that in a short space of time we were able to make such a positive impression.

Thank you for choosing Bewleys Hotel, Manchester Airport – we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

It isn't anything like a bog standard cheap hotel.
The rooms are very clean and roomy, great food and good prices for food and bar.
The bus that takes you to your terminal is great also!
Maybe put extra pillows in the room if more than one person is staying as we only got one spare and there was 3 of us!
Good hotel and great value for money!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jade1holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationBewleys, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

What a lovely positive review, thanks you. I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.

In reference to the pillows, I have passed this comment on to the Head Housekeeper and she will look into this, as I agree, there should be extra pillows for all of the potential people in the room.

Should you wish to book with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gr.manchesterairport@belweyshotels.com and I will be happy to look at this for you.

With Kind Regards

Debbie Broderick
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel has absolutely everything you could want from an airport hotel. The check in was fast and efficient, the room was pleasant and warm, the restaurant was quiet and the food very good. I was particularly impressed by the free shuttle service in the morning, which seemed to be running every few minutes. Having waved my daughter off I then walked back to the hotel to collect my car-it took 2 minutes. I will definitely stay here next time I fly from Manchester.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad that your stay and transfer to the airport went without a hitch, it’s always nice to hear when we have got it right.

We hope you will choose Bewleys Hotel, Manchester Airport again in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Property: Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing