We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a stop over - ridiculous parking system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed one night recently as a prelude to a very early flight to Germany. We were put into the older section of the hotel, which is "OK". Left too early for breakfast.

We had booked a room plus up to 8 days parking and didn't need to leave the car keys.

The room was comfortable enough, the bar very busy and noisy, but overall the stay was "as one would expect". The shuttle bus to the airport itself was fine as was the pick up when we returned.

However... in order to collect a ticket to leave the car park, you need to swap a token from your rear view mirror for a ticket to operate the barrier. To get this, you have to queue with people who are actually checking into the hotel. A 3 second transaction, took me over 20 minutes. It's just ridiculous.

I will not be staying here again if I need to use such facilities at Manchester Airport.

Room Tip: Park your car somewhere else...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicaUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. All comments, both positive and negative are extremely valuable to us as they enable to look at the service we provide and improve on it where necessary.

I am pleased that on the most part your stay was enjoyable however I am sorry to learn that it was let down a little on your return to collect your car. As I am sure you are aware we run a very busy Reception Desk that provides a number of functions to all guests. I am sorry you felt that your wait was inconvenient but we do need to treat all guests’ requests with the same level of service.

I hope at some point we will be able to welcome you back again and hopefully rectify the impression that you have been left with.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,122)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,215 - 3,221 of 5,125 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed one night and parked the car for ten days, in conjunction with our holiday. Excellent location and service. Room was clean, tidy and spacious, although lack of A/C might be a problem in warmer weather. I will not hesitate in using this hotel and parking facilities again. The whole process was, as previously, very easy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that on the most part you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel does what it says on the tin. It's in an excellent position right on the airport. We pre booked this hotel well in advance of our holiday and when we got there check in was faultless.
Our room was as in previous times large and clean with a good bathroom. We did not hear any outside noise so we slept well. The bar area has a good selection of hot and cold sandwiches which we find sufficient to eat before an early start. The best thing about this hotel is the shuttle service, nice clean shuttles with courteous drivers and we have always managed to get straight onto our pre booked shuttle, no waiting. When you have a 04:00 check in it's very reassuring that it's only a few minutes shuttle ride to get to check in. Bewley's is excellent as an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that we were able to offer a great level of standards and service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were staying at Bewleys primarily for its location, close to Manchester Airport and it is very close, within the overall grounds of the airport. Check in was easy as from the Airport Train Station a courtesy bus picked us up, and indeed dropped us off to our terminal after our stay. The desk staff were pleasant, helpful and appeared happy to help. The rooms were excellent, comfy beds, quiet, and with all of the facilities you expect from an airport hotel. We had stayed at The Radisson at Manchester airport before and we vowed not to stay there again, Bewleys didn’t disappoint. Also had a great buffet breakfast whilst we were there and sat in the bar, which was huge so no problems getting a seat. All in all would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review via Trip Advisor, I am aware that there is a lot of competition for every guest’s business therefore I am grateful for your booking and extremely happy that we were able to provide you with a convenient and comfortable stay prior to your onward travel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at another point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Bewleys prior to an early morning departure from Manchester Airport. Our hotel room was large (big enough for a small table, a two sweater couch as well as an armchair) and faced the nearby railway line (which was below ground level). The hotel was at least double glazed, so neither the plane nor the train noise bothered us - and our home is very quiet, so we do notice noise. The hotel was easy to find with our gps directions and within an easy walk of the rental car drop off at the airport. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. my biggest gripe was that the tables in the dining room were so small, really only one person tables for two people. The meals and service in the dining room were average for a hotel chain, but very convenient.
The shuttle bus to the terminal in the morning was flawless. We booked a time for the shuttle, but we're running a bit early, so turned up early and hopped on the next shuttle. There were at least two shuttles doing continuous loops, and we were not asked to wait for our time.
We had got our room at Bewleys at a good price, and were I flying out of Manchester again I would stay there again. I'd wondered about staying at the Hilton, but it was a lot more expensive, just on the other side of the railway line and I doubt it was worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review via Trip Advisor, I am aware that there is a lot of competition for every guest’s business therefore I am grateful for your booking and extremely happy that we were able to provide you with a convenient and comfortable stay prior to your onward travel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at another point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before our holiday and the night we got back. Good clean hotel. Food in the bar was ok but overpriced as was the drink. The only bad thing was there was always a queue at the check in desk. Took ages to get checked in and organise the car parking. Overall i would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that on the most part you enjoyed your stay with us.

As I am sure you are aware, we operate a very busy Reception Desk, therefore I would like to thank you for your patience when checking in to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room was good although the TV was not working. We were staying there prior to an early morning flight. We made the mistake of eating in their restaurant. The food was appalling, straight out of the microwave and served with no finesse. The drinks were expensive and lifeless They seem to have an attitude of putting the cheapest products in on a plate or in a glass and charging as much as they can. The next morning prior to leaving one the male receptionist was so rude and offensive, I would not use or recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing Bewleys Hotel, Manchester Airport and for taking the time to review the hotel via Trip Advisor. All feedback is appreciated as it helps to develop the standards and service that we can provide to our guests.

Comments like these help us to identify any issues that we may have and enable further training for the individuals involved. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was not on a par to that which we strive to achieve on a daily basis.

Your comments regarding the food offering in the Bar and Brassiere Restaurant have been passed on to both the Food and Beverage Manager and the Head Chef who strive to use the feedback to better the menus and the food offering that we provide.

Hopefully we could rectify some of the impressions you have about the hotel should you ever return to in the future.

With Kind Regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,050 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing