We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Arrived at Bewley’s around 11pm after getting a speedy transfer from the Airport to the Hotel. The rooms were comfortable with the normal amenities such as tea and coffee and working television. The free wifi offered by the hotel is a great thing to have although the signal wasn’t great in my room ( Room 32) it was still accessible and was a lot quicker in the lobby and lounges.

The breakfast was good and showed value for money. They offered a buffet for £9.50 which included all your hot food, cereals and drinks as well as fresh fruit and even smoked salmon.

I would recommend staying at this hotel as it is a comfortable stay and staying here can normally be booked at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timecapsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,472 - 3,478 of 5,197 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We drove down from Scotland the day before going on our holiday from Manchester. This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and again we could not fault it. I had done a bit research before booking it and it was coming out one of the cheapest at the airport including our parking. Rooms were spotlessly clean and had really comfy beds. We had a meal in the bar and it was very reasonable and good quality.

On our return from holiday i phoned for the courtsesy bus and it arrived within 5 mins which was great.

I would happily recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before an early flight from Manchester Airport. It seems the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment and it looks like it is due! Our room was very basic and pretty small for a family room. The fittings were cheap and worn and beds were very squeaky, every time you moved you were woken up by the noise! Very convenient for airport and the parking worked well. I have to say the staff were very friendly, especially the bus drivers, they were very nice. Would consider this hotel again only after refurbishment as there are many alternatives at the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenpEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For visitors to the Manchester area this is a good hotel for a niche purpose; waiting overnight for a flight. For anyone else, there are MUCH better alternatives elsewhere.

The pick up and drop off at the airport went flawlessly, the room was clean albeit a bit spartan. The only place to eat in the area is the hotel's restaurant, where prices are high. Not a show stopper for a single night. I also ate the expensive breakfast, but in retrospect I should have just eaten at the airport, as the prices were more reasonable.

One thing I did find odd was that they refused to provide me a wakeup call, referring me to the alarm clock in the room. When I queried the front desk about this they told me it "not their policy" to provide wakeup calls.

Bottom line: okay for an overnight stay, but I'd avoid it for anything more.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank KODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that in general the hotel met with your expectations. We are indeed an Airport Hotel and provide a valuable service for guests who wish to stay pre or post flight. Unfortunately, the hotel is unable to provide wake up calls and the provision of an alarm clock has been well received. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future when you can be assured of our best attention at all times.
Kind regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the layout of the room and it's standard - the reception staff were very welcoming

we took advantage of the parking deal and stayed on both our route to and fro Greece

we ate in the main dining room the eve of our flight out and were as equally impressed by the bar meal on the eve we came back

the choices for breakfast were more than ample and to suit all choices / diets

we will DEFINITELY return

Room Tip: great value / comfortable - and you feel appreciated too . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed one night. Room OK although small window made it pretty dark although it served purpose. Bar comfortable. Transfer to and from airport without a hitch, however, return for car was disappointing. Got keys went to car. Front n/s Tyre has a nail in it. I change Tyre and inform reception, however, they were not interested. Given a complaint sheet to fill out but was told it was my fault. Receptionist went through to the side office to highlight my complaint and I could overhear the conversation between him and the overweight, bald rude man who basically said " Tell him to prove it was our fault, it could have happened anywhere". OK it could have happened anywhere, however, when left 12 days previously the Tyre was fine. Since then the car was moved off sight. I imagine at this time it was fine. It was then returned to the hotel and again it must have been fine, either that it was driven with a flat Tyre. So the flat must have occurred on the journey back to the hotel or within the hotel grounds when the car was the responsibility of the hotel group. Furthermore the cars was filthy and gave the impression it had been used for off road racing. I had to chuckle when the reception staff told me it was off sight at a speedway track. I have asked for hotel management to contact me - still waiting and I don't hold out much hope. In summary this is a cattle market hotel for a 1 night stay. Take the money and go. Rude staff member a disgrace. The side office is not that private and guests can hear what you are saying. Enjoy your holiday but be wary of what is happening to your car

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I am saddened to read your review on Triapadvisor as I am aware that you have received a call from a senior manager to discuss your complaint at length. I am very disappointed that you choose to refer to a member of my staff in a personal derogatory manner as again you were assured on the telephone that that would be dealt with personally as we fully agree that it is unacceptable.
Our car parking agent ‘Speedypark’ do not park cars at a speedway track. Paperwork is given to the guest clearly stating the terms and conditions under which a vehicle is left in the hotel’s care. Unfortunately, a nail in a tyre could happen anywhere and the hotel cannot be held responsible.
We get very few complaints regarding the 3000+ vehicles put into our care and Speedypark Ltd have an excellent level of insurance and in my experience deal with the few issues that arise in a professional and satisfactory manner.
Kind regards
Allison Diggle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A really good hotel that is close to the terminals. We had a family room as we were travelling with our 4 year old daughter. We had 2 king size beds in the room and their was still plenty of space for luggage and still room to walk around. We were given a room on the first floor. The room was clean, including the bathroom, and the bedding was also clean and no holes in the sheets. We had spare pillows and towels in addition to the ones already out. The restaurant was reasonably priced both for dinner and breakfast, in addition they do childrens menus; breakfast is a buffet and there no shortage of food. The quality of the food was excellent and very well presented. The hotel also runs a mini bus shuttle service to the terminals, which runs every 15 minutes, but you need to book onto this at reception the evening before. Overall, a really good hotel that we would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $104 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing