We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Ranked #49 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel itself was fine; obviously geared towards one-night stays. It was easy enough to get to from the railway station, although as a pedestrian, there was some sligthly scary dashing across main roads! The reception staff were friendly and efficient and the room was clean, well-equipped and quiet. I accidentally left my t-shirt in the room, and when I emailed the hotel about this, they immediately offered to post it to me - it arrived a couple of days later - really excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreedyLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,720 - 3,726 of 5,354 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is not a tourist hotel, one you stay at for several days, but an airport hotel when you need to crash for one night before you go on to your real destination. For that, it works very well. The hotel was clean everywhere and in good condition. The room was well done, spacious enough with a great bed and linens, and a comfortable bathroom. You can get the room with or without breakfast, but breakfast adds 10 British pounds per person to the tab. We chose to get breakfast at the airport the next morning for less than half the price. We did eat dinner in the restaurant. The food was good and served hot, but service was minimally acceptable; it's functional, not a place for ambience. For the convenience, and value it is well worth a try. Just don't expect more than a business hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt33332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent one night here on a business trip in April. I was very satisfied with the hotel: it was clean, the room was bigger than I expected and practically furnished, and the staff was kind too. The restaurant / bar was a good one and I had a decent breakfast in the morning. This is obviously an airport hotel located far from the city center, but for me it was very comfortable to get quickly to a good place and rest after arriving to the airport from a long trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zsolt226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed one night on the way on our holidays. Easy to find, good value for one night stay and on site parking for up to 8 days. Nice clean room, comfy bed. Started our holiday with a relax and drinks in the bar then a meal. On arrival we were recommended to reserve a table in the restaurant and bought a meal deal, on reflection it would have been cheaper and we would have preferred just to eat in the bar as there was a wide variety of bar meals and snacks on offer. Efficient transport to the terminal and pick up on our return. All in all a good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice once before a flight and after arriving back late. The first stay put a sour taste in our mouths and left us regretting having to go back. The staff was not friendly or helpful. The bathroom had mold and you could hear everything from the hallway. The worst thing about this hotel was the unhelpful front desk. It seemed the cleaning ladies were more helpful than the receptionists. Also, make sure you bring your own shampoo and conditioner. If you call the front desk they will tell you you can buy it in the vending machine in reception but this isn't true. All they have in the vending machine is more body wash. This is the first hotel I've ever stayed at where they didn't have an option to buy some shampoo. There was some body wash provided but it's in a dispenser in the shower and you have no idea what kind it is or the ingredients. It's partly my fault for not packing enough shampoo on our holiday. Lesson Learned.

The second time we stayed here the room was cleaner and we had a more pleasant greeting from the front desk receptionist. The second stay redeemed this hotel from a straight terrible on all my ratings except location. The free transport to the airport was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your first visit did not meet with your expectations and I will discuss your comments with my senior management team and address where necessary. It does, however please me to read that your return stay met with your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when you can be assured of our best attention.
Kind regards
Allison Diggle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Bewleys Hotel on the 13th may . we did not like this place at all , yes it was very clean etc , but the Staff were so indifferent! We booked a twin room a few months prior , when we were assigned our room it was a double . Also we were a party of 4 and asked if we could have rooms next door to one another,(also asked when we booked) they said it was not possible but we were on the same floor .When we got to the room and saw it was double i went to reception to ask if they could please give us another room , a twin room this time, as we had requested. Eventually they did , but what we found quite odd it was right next door to the other people in our party!! and they has said it was not possible!!
Also , my Husband requested if the car could please be brought into the Disabled area just in front of the Hotel on our return because he cannot walk a great distance. they said yes
On our return the car had not been moved to the Disabled Area, when he asked they said " oh if you wait for a hotel coach it will take you to your car " considering the Coaches are busy to and frowing from the Airport we would have been in for a long wait
So . would i use the Bewley again ?? Certainly not !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolero-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonDiggle, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. I can only imagine that the room next to your friends had been pre-allocated to another guest and one of the supervisors was able to move this around when you returned to the desk. Your vehicle is returned to the hotel up to 24 hours prior to your return and we have a limited disabled area which is vital to be kept clear for our disabled guests arriving at the hotel. We have three courtesy buses and our drivers are available to assist our disabled guests to their vehicles. I am truly sorry that you feel you would not wish to stay with us here at Bewley’s Hotel Manchester Airport as I would like the opportunity to welcome you back once again when I am sure you would find that the standards and service that we offer meets your requirements.
Kind regards
Allison Diggle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We always stay at bewleys, reasonable charges clean rooms, the food is good
the restaurant is good & you can also eat in the bar, with good choice of food.
beds ar comfortable & also have an iron & ironing board & a trouser press in the rooms.
tea & coffee are provided with milk available.

Room Tip: Higer up are not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#59 of 120 in Manchester
3,152 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport

Address: Outwood Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 4HL, England (Formerly Bewleys Hotel Manchester Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#35 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#36 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $91 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport (formerly Bewleys Hotel) is located just minutes from terminals one and three of Manchester Airport. A complimentary shuttle service to both the airport and train stations is also provided for added convenience. Quality and value in warm friendly surroundings is what this stylish hotel is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Manchester
Airport Bewleys Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing