We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
240
290
125
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
290
125
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews debdale park city centre hyde road free breakfast sofa bed including breakfast yogurt budget hotel etihad stadium bathroom door car park stayed here for one night family room cooked breakfast late check reception staff tea coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 725 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

I stayed here for a couple of nights, whilst working nearby in Manchester. There is ample free parking available and also the Holiday Inn Express ‘free’ breakfast deal.

Easily found, and reasonably quiet, this hotel meet many of my demands.

The room was comfortable, could have been cleaner, but better than many I have stayed in. A simple wall heater and a bed-side fan, meant that I could get the temperature of the room correct, without any ‘drying-out’ air-conditioning.

There is a McDonalds nearby, but I ate in. The food was disappointing, but I suspect it’s prepared by the bar staff in a hurry. The following night the reception staff offered me a range of take away menus that could be delivered. This was a great suggestion and they let me eat the meal in their restaurant (using their plates and cutlery).

The hotel is undergoing building renovations at the moment and is shrouded in scaffolding. What with that and a noisy school party staying, my stay was a little disappointing.

However it is a really pleasant hotel with wonderful staff.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarethB1278, GSA at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear PhotoGraeme,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Its great to hear that you found the hotel easily while you were away for a couple of nights for your business trip And we were able to meet your needs also.

We can only apologise that you felt the food was disappointing for your stay, but are happy to hear the staff were able to offer an alternative option for your second night stay by offering some Takeaway menu's.

The building work on our roof is nearing completion now, so hopefully if you choose to stay with us again this will result in a more quieter stay for you.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Gemma. S
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Special birthday trip for mams birthday. Needed 3nights,2rooms.manchester was, booked up or stupid prices. Used holiday inn express leigh couple weeks, ago hosp apt. Here was available alot more, expensive than normal but needed accommodation. Scaffolding on arrival not screaming welcome. Staff efficient. Rooms clean our room had a issue sink drain smelled awful on entry mams, was, fine. No tooth mugs in either room no hairdryer in ours. Dark due to scaffolding. Sorted drainage issue ASAP. Breakfast lovely as, was, dining area, and lounge. Menu not great in house and expensive. Shame as, no good eateries around. McDonald's and grotty fast food shops by bus stop. Staff made it a, really nice experience. In a run down area, a, little gem. Taxi free phone rubbish. Needed to be in Manchester for food and concert at arena Fri evening. Booked taxi in hotel pouring down 3,45pm told ten min. 4,20pm,arr print works 5pm. Struggled to eat long wait and arena, for 6.20pm rushed and could have gone on us, or uber if operator had said tbh no drivers, In area. Thankyou to all staff chatty polite and attentive. (why we use the chain)

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank N8238IXkimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Booked one night pre flight, 20 mins to airport and a lot cheaper than the airport hotels, not much in the area but we only needed a comfy overnighter before our flight.
Great breakfast, comfy beds and pleasant staff, would book again no problem.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alder300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

The hubby & I have just returned from Manchester today & stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

We booked online & got a price of £76 for 2 nights including breakfast on both mornings. Having got the coach to Manchester, we jumped the service bus 201 from the city centre to the hotel, which only took 15 minutes, there are loads of buses that run every few minutes past this hotel.

The hotel is set off Hyde road, behind PureGym. On arrival, we noticed there was workmen on the roof replacing the tiles, we were told by reception they would only be working office hours so that was fair enough.

Our room was on the top floor & was really nice. We had a double bed, sofa bed, tea/coffee facilities plus a hairdryer, iron & ironing board.

The bed was really comfortable but the pillows were hard. It was a very quiet hotel during the night and we got a good night's sleep both nights.

Breakfast was buffet style. Cereals, toast, crossiants, fresh fruit & yogurt. The hot food consisted of scrambled egg, beans, bacon & sausage plus teas, coffee etc. All fresh but the hot food was very basic & sadly not tasty.

This morning breakfast was chaotic, they ran out of alot of items & took 25 minutes just to replenish the bacon. We did feed this back to reception who did apologise.

Won't put us off returning though, nice friendly hotel with well equipped rooms & only 15 minutes by public transport into the city centre. Well worth the price

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

We stayed here while watching a band at the O2. It's a couple of miles away along one road. A taxi in was £6 and a frequent bus back £2 each. We also used air miles and only paid £20 - I think the full price was about £90, but it was a match day and anywhere decent in Manchester was nearly double that.

The room was clean - the odd stain on the carpet and bit of missing paint, but nothing to worry about. No bath, but the shower was fine once you got the temperature right. Quiet enough apart from the odd banging door. Tea, coffee, good enough bed. Breakfast included was ok, but not as much selection as a Premier Inn. No mushrooms, no hash browns, no tomatoes, though we did have cereal, beans on toast and quorn sausages cooked for us.

Thing is, nothing was quite as good as a Premier Inn, and usually they are cheaper, so if I had the choice, they would pretty much always win. I doubt I would have been happy paying £90+ for this room, but as it was, it was a decent stopover.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarethB1278, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Dear Shaunsouthern,

Thank you for leaving us a 4 star review.

We hope that you enjoyed the concert you came to see while in Manchester and found the venue easy enough to get to from the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that the room met your needs and was clean. As we are a Holiday Inn Express, none of our rooms have baths in them. We do serve a continental breakfast inclusive of 4 hot items, Beans, Sausage, Bacon and scrambled eggs and quorn sausages available on request. This breakfast is all inclusive in the rate for every guest.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Gemma. S
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews