We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, horrific food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
2 reviews
“Beautiful rooms, horrific food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very odd mix - lovely rooms, very clean posh and comfortable, but paired up with really cheapskate food: the croissant I tried to eat for breakfast tasted like it had been microwaved about five times and was stale and horrible. Most of the rest of it, including the readymix scrambled egg looked disgusting. They obviously wanted to spend the absolute minimum they could get away with. Nearly everything on offer seemed to be only a step away from going to Macdonalds. Also having offered free wifi they make it very difficult to log in - you have to go specially back to the checkin desk to get the code.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Iceship

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at breakfast and I am sorry that this was the main negative aspect of your visit. I can assure you that our croissants are never prepared in a microwave, however your feedback is very welcome and will be used to help improve the services and products that we offer.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    254
    109
    38
    22
See reviews for
181
150
40
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night before a training course at Manchester college and after a horrid journey it was welcome relief that the hotel did not match the surrounding area. Check in was very efficient following a friendly welcome. My room was on the ground floor and was very clean and well presented with a nice comfy bed and a sofa bed, ideal as a family room. The bathroom was small but again clean and tidy. I had dinner in the bar area, nice chicken jelfrazi, possibly microwaved but still tasty enough. Some Pilau rice instead of plain would have been better but not much to complain about. Breakfast was buffet style, and although basic (no bacon?) Was still reasonable enough.
I have stayed in a few Holiday Inn's and am happy to say this was up as one of the best. Thank You to all the staff there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooner66iw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Gooner66iw

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit to our hotel. Your feedback is very welcome and I hope your next visit to our hotel is just as enjoyable as your last one!

Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewdown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the18/10 13,it's our third time and as always a. great welcome from staff.rooms and breakfast first class,ideal location to visit family and friends in the area,we will be booking soon for our next visit in January 14.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear BobSue3

Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased to hear that our staff here continue to do an excellent job in making you feel welcome, and I will make sure your comments are passed along to them all.

Your continued custom is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a perfect place to spend a night at holiday express after a late night arrival at manchester airport. Breakfast was really nice and the place was quiet and rooms really nice. This isnt too far away from Airport andnot too far from the moter way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear dunkal

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. I am absolutely delighted by your comments. We have recently had some refurbishment work take place in our rooms and so I am very pleased that this has made your stay such an excellent one.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in cold and wet Manchester, however we had a lovely welcome when we arrived, they asked us if we had a good day and what we were thinking of doing in Manchester, pointing out breakfast and restaurant times. On the saturday we spoke to Ray who was busy filing up the breakfast stuff and clearing tables, he was really nice told us how to get the bus into Piccadily, also telling us to get the X50 to the Trafford Centre and about the free tesco bus. He also got us a map of manchester so we could see where we were going. He was just so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. When we checked out on the sunday we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I think this hotel shows that they care about their customers, thank you we had a lovely weekend. The hotel is 4 miles from the Centre of Manchester but buses go past the end of the road every 5 minutes, it was in a quiet road but in a good location for getting into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Ethel55

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's great to read that a member of our team went the extra mile to make your stay such an enjoyable one. I will make sure your comments are passed along to him at the next meeting.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night visiting Manchester, good location with parking and a McDonald's and pharmacy nearby. Rooms are typical of the chain. Breakfast was ok, very limited hot options but again this is typical of HI Express. Great value for money!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fmstereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Fmstereo

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel, and for your very kind comments. It's great to receive such positive feedback from a guest who has enjoyed their stay with us, and I will make sure your review is shared with the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed her for one night whilst attending a wedding in Manchester city centre. Wasn't prepared to pay the £220 they were asking for a night at the hotel where the wedding was at and opted for the £59 for three of us instead. Taxi into the city centre was £12.50 each way and you'll need one because you wouldn't want to walk around at night in that area. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and a credit to the company. The sofa bed wasn't made up for our little one when we arrived so when we rang reception they arranged to do it whilst we were out and they did. Breakfast at HIE is a fairly simple affair but I must say that this one was the best I've had and this is the fourth time this year I've used one. Very good, fresh and constantly topped up. Well done. The only slight issue was with the bed. Me and the wife spent a close night together due to the fact that we rolled together in the middle of the bed due to bed being knackered. Still, the free drink at the aforementioned wedding ensured a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotsit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Senior Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear wotsit89

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Many guests such as yourself choose to stay with us to take advantage of our competitive rates when compared to city centre hotels, and I am glad that you found this to be a major positive. We are situated on a very good bus route into the city centre, and some services run into the small hours at weekends. One of the team would be more than happy to provide you with information on this during your next visit so you can save a bit of money on taxis also.

Your comments on the team are very kind and much appreciated. I will make sure they are passed along at our next meeting.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Senior Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,814 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing