We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed overnight for a Bon Jovi concert at Eithad Stadium. Arrived at around12.30pm our room was ready despite being told it was a 2pm check in. Anthony on reception was really helpful and friendly. Room was clean and tidy nothing was to much trouble. Arrived back at hotel around 1am, had a drink at bar, ordered a take away. Breakfast was good cannot fault any of the staff they were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel's in a good location with easy public transport links into Manchester city centre with a day ticket costing £4 which was valid upto 4am on Sunday. We used this on buse into city centre, then to and from stadium and then back to hotel (around12.30am)a lot better than paying £10 for taxi which we were quoted to take us from hotel into Manchester (one way only).Brilliant stay would definetly do a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Karen B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Once again, I am delighted to learn that the staff here demonstrated a level of service above and beyond that which is expected, especially Anthony!

We all look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    254
    109
    38
    22
See reviews for
181
150
40
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed on Saturday night for the Bon Jovi concert. Check in was very quick and we were given our room early which was a great bonus. Anthony on reception was very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We arrived back at hotel after 1 am, had a drink in the bar and ordered a takeaway. bar staff very friendly as were all the staff we spoke to. Breakfast next morning was good. Overall a great week end made extra special because of the concert. We used the buses to get in and out of Manchester and to the stadium it cost us £4.00 each for a day ticket which was great value. We even got the late night bus back from Manchester so travel costs were very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneC2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear LynneC2007

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us over the weekend. I am very pleased to read your comments about the team here and I am thrilled that we were able to make your stay with us a very enjoyable one. We have a full team meeting scheduled for later this week and I will make sure your comments are passed on to all of the staff here, especially Anthony!

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was a good price and included breakfast and parking in the price.

Our overall experience of this hotel was very good. The room was excellent, the location (given that its out of city centre was Excellent, easy walking to the Etihad Stadium (Just ask Reception for directions, very clear and simple!)), very polite and helpful staff. The only real let down of the hotel is the size (and not the room size, that was great).

When we arrived at the hotel we did find the car park to be very full and I think took the last parking space. After this I think we would have struggled to find parking.

In the morning when we went for breakfast, the room in which it is allocated was not sufficient for the amount of people in the hotel, so we unfortunately didn't get our breakfast in the hotel as there was no room for us to sit (Luckily their is a McDonalds just opposite the hotel, and a Subway about 5 mins walk).

The checkout process was also a little slow as there was only one member of staff dealing with checkouts, which is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Jonathan G

I am delighted to read your review this morning and I am very glad that overall your stay with us was a very enjoyable one. I know there have been multiple concerts and festivals across Manchester at the weekend which made us extremely busy and much more so than usual. I am sorry to hear you weren't able to enjoy breakfast with us. That said, despite the added pressure on them, I am delighted that the team here were still able to give you a warm and pleasant welcome and I will forward your comments on to them at our team meeting this week.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connahs Quay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last night as we went to a concert at the Etihad stadium. We checked straight in with no trouble, and the male receptionist (not sure of his name) was extremely helpful in telling us how to get to the stadium. It is quite a walk back but after hours bopping away at a rock concert it was quite pleasant. Taxi or tram may be an idea if weather not so good. There is a McDonald's right nxt door which is open late so we managed to get food when we got back and hotel bar was still open tho we didn't have a drink. Room was basic but clean, what you need really if your not spending huge amount of time in it!!! Usual facilities, hair dryer, kettle etc. breakfast was included in price as was car parking. All in all a very enjoyable experience, will definitely be using again for future concerts I go to and would recommend to my friends. Ignore the negative reviews on here if your just after somewhere as a base and to sleep in. Keep up the good work :-) xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jayne H

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for your full marks rating! I am glad to read that our reception team did a great job in helping to make your stay an excellent one. I will certainly make all the team here aware of your comments. I hope that we will welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

And not much more to add to previous reviews.

Hotel is always welcoming, bar area is quite nice for watching football.

Rooms are OK but a little tired now.

Terrible location if you want to walk out in the evening to find a place to eat but if you just want to drive into the city then i guess its fine. The hotel does however do food as well now with a limited but well priced selection.

I inevitably arrive late and so just have a beer and order a pizza from Dominos in Denton who deliver to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear animalthatswims

Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad that you continue to choose our hotel when you are staying over in Manchester. I note your comments with regards to our rooms and I am delighted to inform you that we are currently undergoing a period of refurbishment. You may have noticed the changes in our Great Room already, our rooms are next in line to be focused on over the coming summer months. I hope that these changes will impress you enough so that we may continue to enjoy your regular custom.

Many of our items on our menu are now available 24 hours also, including our 12 inch pizzas. I hope that we may be able to tempt you with one of these the next time you are considering ordering in a pizza!

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful property, FULL VALUE FOR MONEY.
Since I had a car accessing it was easy, don’t know about public transport access to this place.
Rooms were spacious, I booked a family room with 2 double beds, toilet was large .
Decent breakfast , ample car parking at the hotel.
Worth the price u pay .

Room Tip: For a family of four , request a family room. It has 2 double beds with attached bath.Avoid rooms ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear docviki

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you had an excellent time and felt we offered good value for money. I hope that we may welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was staying here for a night with my daughter and her friend. I e-mailed a few days before to ask for two rooms together. I received a response within the hour and the rooms were indeed together! Reception was quick with friendly and helpful staff (the staff were a positive feature of the stay). We were in our rooms within five minutes. There is plenty of free parking outside and, if you don't fancy the hotel menu, there is a pub and a MacDonald's next door. Despite being off a main road, the hotel is quiet and relaxed. There are excellent public transport links into the city centre. The hotel is on the A57 which goes straight into the city going right past the Apollo Theatre. At £42 for B&B, it's a great alternative to the high costs in the city centre. The hotel is only a 15 minute drive into the centre. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff ensured all the items were replenished as required. Overall, a very pleasing stay and I'd recommend this hotel. It's easy to find, as well, being 5 minutes off the M60.

Room Tip: The corridors are long, which wasn't a problem at all for us, but I'd recommend anyone with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJPRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear DJPRW

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that the team here were able to go above and beyond in dealing with your request so that your stay with us was a fantastic one.

We have very recently introduced a snack menu, with light bites and dishes available 24 hours a day. I hope that we may tempt you to try some of our items the next time you stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,813 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing