We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal rooms, very poor food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #51 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Kent-
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Normal rooms, very poor food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What can you say about the usual quality of a Holiday inn? Not a lot!! Staff fine and efficient, rooms clean and tidy, beds comfortable. I did have very noisy neighbours come in at 4am which woke me up, I put a quick call into reception and within 3 mins I heard the night porter knock on the room next door and the noise stopped.
We did however make the mistake of eating on our arrival from the basic restaurent menu. Big mistake, probably the worst Cheeseburger Ive ever had, even worse than Ed's Diner!!! Note to self, never ever, however desperate and hungry you are, eat in a Holiday inn buffet/restaurant.
Overall stay ok, usual value to be expected.

Room Tip: Always on the top floor in the NW corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am really surprised to see the comments that you have made about the beefburger that you purchased from the dinner menu. If you had raised the issue that you where not satisfied at the time we would happilly have made a refund or offered you another item from the menu.

The dinner menu is popular at Manchester and we always offer a variety of daily specials that compliment the main menu.

I am glad to hear that everything else was OK with your stay.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    254
    109
    38
    22
See reviews for
181
150
40
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here with my daughter for one night and was pleasantly suprised. We were a late arrival but as promised they had allocated rooms next door to each other. I was really impressed with this.

Bed rooms were clean and well presented. Bed comfortable with hard and soft pillows! Good lighting and security and nice LCD tv. A good nights sleep.

Bathroom nice and clean (really weird why the door can close off the loo as well as the whole bathroom) but not keen on the squirty soap by the basin and shower but OK for 1 night.

Breakfast is basic but good enough. Staff very friendly, helpful and efficient, nice to see.

Overall for the price a good nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments, we always try to allocate family and friends rooms near to each other if possible.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family of two adults and our two teenagers stayed here for two nights during the 2012 October half term to visit the sights of Manchester. I booked the Holiday Inn chain because of the good name and after reading the reviews for this hotel I was confident we would have a good stay. I was so wrong!! The walls of this hotel are so thin, we could hear the man next door talking on his mobile phone on the first night. He wasn`t shouting, just talking. I put this down to the room having a connecting door to the adjacent room which wasn`t ideal. The next morning we all woke looking forward to breakfast. A total dissapointment. The only hot options were beans, sausages and scrambled egg which tasted of pepper. I asked one of the staff if there were any more options for the hot breakfast but he just said that was the standard breakfast.
The next night we were kept awake by a neighbours TV which was eventually turned off at 3am only to be woken by next doors hair dryer at 6am!
The staff were very pleasent though but this didn`t make up for the awful stay we experienced. Next time we`ll pay the extra and stay at a hotel with thicker walls where we`ll get a better nights sleep and a better breakfast to look forward to in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I only wish that you had mentioned the issues with noise whist you where at the hotel so that we could have moved you to a quieter room.

The breakfast is a standard across the express brand, but please remember that this breakfast is complimentary unlike other budget hotels and therefore offers very good value for money.

Many Thanks for your comments.

Carl Butterworth

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and two children during half term for two nights. The hotel was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were friendly, helpful and accessible.
Next door to the hotel is a family friendly pub with adjoining soft play. This is a real bonus for anyone with young kids!
The site itself also has a fitness club and a Maccy's. The site was fine but we chose not to venture out of the park other than by car as it was a bit less appealing. The hotel itself has good parking provision and many business travellers too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_Eliza_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about the hotel. WE hope to see you back again soon - maybe in the next school holidays.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my brothers stag weekend, it was easy to find, close to places of interest, clean and very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them!! Overall a great hotel who's staff are a credit to it!! A word of advice, I wouldn't use the pub next door.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi and Thankyou for your great comments about the hotel and my team here. We hope to welcome you all back soon on the next stag weekend. We do not promote the pub next door which is not linked to the hotel in any way, and next time please eat and drink with us instead.

KInd Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had family double room for girls trip to manchester Apollo concert. Hotel easy to find, friendly welcome by reception, plenty of safe, free car parking. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Easy taxi ride to Manchester apollo with taxi free phone in hotel 6.80 each way. No problems with noise, but is a popular hotel , not surprising as great value. Breakfast was busy sunday morning as everyone wants to get away, but plenty of choice, hot, tasty and good staff. All in all excellent value for money and will definately use again.

Room Tip: We were at back of hotel, had no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments. I agree that we are an ideal hotel to stay at if you are attending an event at the Manchester Apollo.

We hope to see you back soon

Carl Butterworth

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

this time bit disappointment, at breakfast croissant wasn't fresh i asked to one the staff member they changed immediately but other tray wasn't nice either, over all holiday inn is preferable. rooms are comfortable, no noise, they do offer some smoking rooms but not sure how much they charge for that, parking is free, breakfast included, McDonald is just 2 minutes walk and its on Hyde road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thankyou very much to spend the time to give us some feedback.

We do constantly try to provide the maximum quality complimentary breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express which don't forget is complimentary to everyone who stays with us.

Just to correct any confusion you mention that we have Smoking rooms at the hotel? We are a totally no smoking hotel.

Kind Regards and hope to see you again soon.

Carl Butterworth

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,813 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing