We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upto the normal express high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #54 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A quick overnight stop on way from London to Burnley.

Good to see wifi costs at expresses are finally falling.

Still don't understand why the TVs don't offer full freeview and teletext so couldn't check weather on route.

Instead just poor quality limited to 12 channels ?

Despite this minor gripe would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments - I will feed back to the rest of the team. Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 661 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had originally Booked a city centre hotel to visity friends and the christmas markets but whilst searching for another trip came across a deal for this hotel on Hotel Pronto at a fraction of what the city centre hotels where charging.Excellent transport links to the city centre and only 13.50 in a taxi when we returned later in the evening.Hotel is clean and well presented, room equipped to the usual standard offered by budget hotel chains ,clean and comfortable .Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.What really stood out with this hotel was the staff especially the lady duty manager and H the night manager. when we booked in Hotel Pronto had booked us a twin room but the hotel staff sorted it out and we could not of been more happy. The only complaint we had was the coffe provided in the room was awful but the Hotel bar and the macdonalds over the road sold better so no major issues. Hotel was full but remarkably quiet We visit our friends who live local to the hotel quite often so will be booking again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lifts for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstonei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

It is wonderful to get such good feedback about my team here at the hotel. We pride ourselves in offering excellant customer service. Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Best Wishes

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night (thur 17th nov) whilst visiting elderly relative.Very warm welcoming staff. Nice clean room not overlooking traffic.Very good night sleep. My only niggle was no bacon for brekkie!!Excellent value def stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

we recently stayed at this hotel there were 14 of us,we was going for a night out in manchester.
the rooms were very basic but clean the staff were friendly and very welcoming.
The only down fall thing was that it was £10 for a taxi into manchester town but that wasnt anything too do with the hotel apart from its location,breakfast was nice but was hard getting a table to sit on it was really busy with only paying £52.00 for the room you cant moan at that really.
overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

Best Wishes

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed for Saturday night only for a night out in Manchester. Decided to stay just outside the city as the difference in hotel prices was huge when I was booking. Paid £44.85 and thought this was amazing value for money, especially for a Saturday night. I always think of Holiday Inns as a bit better than a Travelodge or Premier Inn and I wasn't disappointed. Approx 3 miles from the city centre and on a main bus route this hotel is easy to find and has a free carpark. The surrounding area isn't anything to shout about but there is a McDonalds and pub right next door. Staff were friendly and the whole hotel was clean and tidy. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the carpark and was a decent size. Plenty space to hang clothes and a very comfy bed. You can choose different pillows either soft or firm, which is a nice touch at a budget hotel. There were the usual desk, chair, tea brewing facilities in the room with the addition of free toiletries. Soap dispenser by the sink and hair and body wash in the shower. The shower was wet room style, in our room and although very spacious and a good temperature the water did tend to leak over the bathroom floor. Staff were knowledgeable about the bus and taxi fares and kindly booked us a taxi into town. It cost £9.80 to get there and £13 to get back after midnight. We could have easily caught a bus but were basically too lazy! We both got a good nights sleep and the room temperature was good. Included in the hotel cost was a buffet breakfast, as we both had a slight hangover and hadn't eaten much the dayt before this was awesome. A small selection of hot food, sausage, beans, scrambled egg and toast. There is also bread rolls, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, pastries and cereal. All self service and staff were very attentive keeping the area fully stocked and tidy. Have nothing to fault about this hotel and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: if you're worried about your car then ask for a room overlooking the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thankyou very much for the wonderful comments you have made about the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel is about a 10 pound taxi ride into manchester city centre,the bus is £3.70 return it takes about twenty five minutes,the buses are very regular. The rooms are very basic,but they are very clean. The breakfast is a nice you can get sausage, beans and scrambled egg in with the continental breakfast menu. The staff are friendly and heplful. I think the hotel is ideal for families,groups and single people. Evening meals are served but the food is very basic,there is a pub next to the hotel that serves food. I think the prices are reasonable for the rooms and if you want a cheap break away this hotel is ideal,Manchester is a nice city with plenty to do.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrspowell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and the team here at Manchester East. We are expanding the food menu at the hotel before christmas to give customers more choice when dining with us. We do market ourselves as a premium budget hotel but we would like to think that the bedrooms here are less basic than many of our competitors with flat screen TV's and Power showers.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had a days trip to Manchester with my three kids and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express East.Some staff in this hotel chain in others I've been were not particularly friendly,so,I was shocked when at check in,not only were we warmly welcomed,the staff on duty,Moez Romdhani, went out of his way to give us maps showing us how to get around town and places we could visit!!!

Our room was welcoming,so so clean,warm and comfortable!!My children loved it absolutely!!! nothing like clean sheets and a warm bath after a days trip!!!

Having slept late,we came down a bit late for breakfast,but this same staff on duty(an angel I believe walking the face of earth) still made sure my children and I had a sound healthy breakfast!!!And extended our check out time till 2pm!!!!!

Was so blown away by the extras the staff offered! One of them actually helped bring up our dinner!!! and they just kept asking if we were ok and if we needed anything!!!

We were just pampered and would have loved to stay longer!!! Bless you all! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Osj3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Its so good to know that we are doing a great job here at Manchester East when I receive such positive feedback. I really thank you so much for your comments and I will pass on to all of the team, particularly Moez.

Thank you

Carl Butterworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
3.2 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#69 of 120 in Manchester
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.9 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#63 of 120 in Manchester
466 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $51 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing